We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Business Traveler and Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Business Traveler and Awesome Location”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Hotel Monaco offers history, location, service, amenities, and more. Although I was there on business, I would be inclined to go back as a leisure guest. From the time I arrived until the moment of departure, the staff was courteous and gracious and went out of their way to accommodate my needs. The restaurant there is fantastic, and the fact that they offer "complimentary happy hour" with wine, etc. at 5pm was most appreciated! The location is awesome and close to so many fantastic landmarks, museums and the center of the city. I was able to walk most places or take a short cab ride. All in all, I would say a great hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busytraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    457
    166
    78
    45
See reviews for
321
581
93
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We like Kimptons as a rule, but the Monaco in DC is our favorite, and we usually go for the Cherry festival and Easter. It's a beautiful old building, right by the National Portrait Gallery, the Spy museum and the Verizon Center, and just a few blocks from the Mall. Lots of great restaurants all around--about a 15 minute walk to the White House. Our kids love the Hirschorn sculpture garden which is about a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvbbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

From the doormen to the bellhops and most especially the front desk and restaurant personnel, the best hotel experience since New York in the 70's and 80's. This is my first Kimpton stay but will br the first of many; I understand their entire line is similarly engaging.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is an incredible gem, one that has garnered the family moniker of "best hotel EVER!"

Flawless service, flawless rooms, flawless dining experience. The staff was professional, courteous, and so personal in their approach to customer service, it felt like we were being introduced to family. We have traveled extensively, but never felt so welcomed by hotel staff and service.

This is a must-experience-to-believe hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadji224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Monaco in DC exceeded all of my expectations. Better service than I have ever received... even at 5 diamond hotels & resorts. Staff went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. GREAT Location, Amazing Restaurant, and Wonderful Room. Overall, wonderful!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFriedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Monaco. The location is great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The wine reception was a nice way to meet other guests.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marymilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
341 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We got one of the classical (older) rooms in this historical hotel located very centrally to all the museums and monument. You pay a little more but they are worth it - they are a little larger , have alittle more character and come with some additional benefits. The room was clean, comfortable, well appointed and most importantly since it is in trhe middle of the City - very quiet. No pool for those who need one - we did not. The hotel has a great bar which we frequented and a resaurant which we did not. There are way too many other places to eat within a few blooks. The building itself has loads of history which adds to the ambience considering where you are. No problems to mention - a definite recommendation.

Room Tip: Corner room on first floor - convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
2,105 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
2,836 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
2,168 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing