We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I treated myself to the Monaco during a conference trip to Washington and it made my whole trip! It was perfectly located beside the Smithsonian Art Institute and from an architectural stand point it is a knock out. The scale of the hallways, rooms, ceilings is monumental. The way it has been decorated turns it from a neo-classical period piece to a hip spot. My room was incredibly quiet, and I loved the courtyard view. The coffee and tea in the morning, the afternoon cookies and the wine in the evening were all lovely touches. I took advantage of the "lender" bicycle to tour around and it was a super time. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room, it is lovely out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disneyfan41169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Good morning Disneyfan41169,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; I was so happy to read that you “treated yourself” by staying with us, makes us feel very special. Did you know it was actually the original home of the US Postal Service originally built in the early 1800’s? I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed all the different daily amenities in the “living room” so lovely.

Our bike program is new this year and has really taken off; given our location it makes it so easy to see the sights of DC.

We can’t wait for you to return either the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    443
    158
    75
    44
See reviews for
312
572
92
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

The Monaco is in a converted post office and the structure is beautiful --wide hallways, high ceileings, stone steps. It has a great deal of old character but with modern well appointed rooms. In the morning there are 5 different newspapers and free coffee in the lounge, followed by free wine at 5pm. These services give the hotel a bed and breakfast feel although its very large. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is just a block from the metro and close to so many great restaurants as well as the MCI center and the Spy museum. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ti727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Good morning ti727,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; you are correct that the hotel is a converted post office, but did you know it was actually the original home of the US Postal Service originally built in the early 1800’s. I am so glad to hear that you found the services and staff so accommodating. I love your comparison to a B&B, just a lot bigger and the location can’t be beat.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Monaco is a small hotel in an old building, located close to everything important in Washington. High ceilings, nicely decorated rooms and a touch of personality separates this hotel from the rest. I happened to stay there during the Hurricane Sandy, which naturally made my stay even more memorable. The staff is really nice and helpful and I have no complaints whatsoever. If I have a chance, I will definitely go back. If you want to stay in a place which is not so standard, consider this hotel. Not the cheapest, but not overtly expensive either.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon LPekkala,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; I agree it was memorable as I myself stayed in the hotel during the storm.

You mentioned an old building, not sure if you had the chance to ask, but this is actually the original home of the US Postal Service circa 1840’s. The layout and design is original to the way things were built 175 years ago, pretty cool stuff. I am glad to hear that the staff took care of you, it was tough I realize with all the closings, but I hope our evening Wine Hour helped to ease the pain.

We can’t wait to have you back again, hopefully next time the weather will be more cooperative for sightseeing in our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We loved the decor of this hotel and all of the amenities. It was very well located for all of the museums and Washington sites. The National Portrait Gallery is across the street and we highly recommend this gallery. The coffee in the morning was nice; your choice of three newspapers was definitely unusual. And, the wine in the late afternoon was an added treat.

There are good restaurants close to the hotel , as well as any shopping that you want to do.

The leopard robes were very unusual.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon FrSu,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; we are so happy you had a nice time while in DC.

You mentioned location and correctly so as we are located in the middle of everything DC has to offer. I’m glad you had the opportunity to join us during our evening Wine Hour; it’s a great way to end a nice day of sightseeing. The newspapers are available as we know most people on business or leisure still like the feel of a paper vs. online while enjoying that first cup of coffee in the living room each morning.

We look forward to having back the next time you are visiting our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We went for our anniversary and were upgraded to a suite. Very nice rooms with high unique cielings. Temperature control between the rooms was off with one being warm and the other much cooler, but no big deal.
Checkin and service were great, free wine hour was also great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Gunnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good afternoon 2Gunnys,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at the Monaco and Happy Anniversary!
We were so happy to have upgraded you to one of our suites; a special night deserves a special room. I’m sorry that you had some temperature issues; hopefully you had the chance to let us know about it. Glad to hear that check was a breeze and that you enjoyed our complimentary evening Wine Hour, it is a fun time. Wishing you many many more Happy Years together,

We can’t wait to have you back again the next time you are looking for a “staycation” in our
Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here for a few nights over Christmas 2011. The hotel is gorgeous and has lots of character. The staff was very welcoming of our dog, providing bowls for food and water and a very nice dog bed. The room had everything you want and had that great Klimpton Hotel style. I always like their animal print robes. The location is fantastic for exploring Washington D.C.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnsey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Good morning Linnsey26,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at the Monaco; has it really been almost a year? I guess it must be time to come visit us again. I am glad that your dog, who we really consider family, had a great time too, it’s important to make them feel right at home as well.

We agree about the location, it really makes sightseeing that much better since everything is either in walking distance or an easy taxi / metro ride away.

Those animal print robes are fun; I have been known to wear them around the hotel just for fun.

We can’t wait to have you back again hopefully sooner than later, the next time you are in town visiting our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Monaco Hotel was a friendly and very welcoming hotel to stop in, Idealy situated for touring Washington. The highlight everyday at 17:00 is the free beer and wine in the lobby. Breakfast was very good, we were give vouchers for everyday which you could use as part payment towards your meal

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChunkySelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Good afternoon ChunkySelby,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Monaco; it sounds like you had a good 4 night stay with us.

I see you took advantage of our evening Wine Hour each night in the living room; it’s a Kimpton way of making sure you have a nice end to your day of sightseeing or work. I hope you had the opportunity to have tried Poste in the evening since you had good meals in the morning.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting our Nation’s Capital!

Safe travels,

JL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
The Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing