We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful in Every Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful in Every Way!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel Monaco is perfectly situated in downtown DC. Easy access to everything you want to do or see. The hotel has been beautifully restored from an old postal sorting facility and no detail was overlooked. That attitude carries on today with the excellent staff that immediately welcome you to your home away from home. Can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, interior looking into the courtyard are a bit quieter, but you are stayi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, I don't think there is anything they don't recycle. Many of the food items they serve are locally grown/raised.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    457
    166
    78
    45
See reviews for
321
581
93
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Monaco is in a great location next to the Verizon Center and the Spy Museum. The hotel has interesting decor that references the history of DC in an irreverent way. The building is old and imposing so the whimsy of the decor makes a mix of fun. The bar was hopping and the lobby was full.

If you are given a room on the 1st floor beware. My room was on the first floor and it smelled musty. It had limited lighting (since it is a basement). Otherwise, great hotel and I would stay again.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are dark and musty. The 1st floor is the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hopping bar, history, and whimsy, how can you go wrong whitney s - come back again soon please!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I stayed over while attending an event at Verizon Center to celebrate our anniversary. Imagine our delight when our room was upgraded at no charge and champagne on ice was delivered to help us celebrate.The staff, room, amenities, and restaurant were wonderful! We felt so special in the middle of a busy city. The location is ideal for Chinatown, the metro, sightseeing and much more. Since we went for Mongolian barbeque for dinner we only had breakfast at the Monaco. Our meal was excellent! My husband is devoted to Starbucks and he loved the coffee. The chef really does select herbs and other fresh items from the courtyard garden.
All around a great experience. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on floor 3 - there was no city noise at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDF5957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Susan F - you made Chef Dennis' day! He really does cook out of the garden (and in the Garden when it's courtyard season!) - we hope we don't have to wait long for your return.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Hotel Monaco is in a great location! Walking distance to museums, China Town, the Verizon Center, and metro. Kimpton always treats you well, especially if you're an InTouch member. We had champagne and snacks waiting in our room as a special treat for my husband's birthday and, although the suites were full so there was no upgrade available, they put us in a room with one of their two person DEEP whirlpool tubs. All comped. Couldn't have been nicer. Thanks Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Love you right back Elisa Y! Come back soon!
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

For location, courtesy, and ambience it is hard to beat this hotel. Clearly retro fitted to an old public building, the exterior says "status." But by no means is this a stuffy hotel. The staff is superbly accommodating, the restaurant surprisingly affordable, and banquet facility upstairs first rate. Our room was quiet, despite the night life outside, and room service very fast. Plus, it is only a few short blocks to Pennsylvania Avenue, the Mall, and the major Smithsonian buildings. The portrait gallery is right across the street, as is the Metro. Great experience all around, an A+

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We enjoyed it too - and your review - thanks Robert S for giving us a swirl! Hopefully we'll see you back again soon!
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Unlike most of the D.C. chain hotels, this Kimpton hotel is in a beautifully restored and adapted historic structure, originally constructed in the 1840’s to be the U.S. post office headquarters. While the rooms are different shapes and sizes than typical hotel rooms, they are nicely decorated and appointed and, as always with the Kimptons, the bathrooms are wonderful. The room was very quiet. Be aware that the main entrance is not handicapped accessible (there is a full flight of stairs from street level to the lobby), but the staff, which is friendly and helpful, can direct or show you to an alternative entrance down the street and around the corner. There are delicious freshly baked cookies at check in and complimentary wine and beer at a happy hour in the lobby area that draws a lively and convivial gathering. The Kimpton Monaco is conveniently located directly across the street from the International Spy Museum and only a few blocks from the Mall as well as several other museums and attractions. This Kimpton location has a 50% discount for valet parking of hybrid cars (check the Kimpton website under Promotions; be sure to tell them at check in AND when you pay at check out that you qualify for this discount). Overall, a great choice and great location!

Room Tip: The first floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Awww CTwanderlust - we think we resemble this remark! "Unlike most of the D.C. chain hotels" - many thanks for the high praise indeed! Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for two days in July. The check in time was 3:00 and our room was not ready until 4:30 so that was our only problem. But it wasn't a big deal we hung out and ate at their restaurant poste. The room was very clean and very nice. Location is good, metro station is right across the street and the spy museum is right down the road. Staff was very apologetic about our delayed check in so they gave us a $50 credit towards the room or the restaurant, which was great. They also have complimentary happy hour from 5-6 but we didn't attend. But overall this hotel was very good and I would recommend this to a friend and I would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krista s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Well krista s - sounds like you found the perfect place to while away a little time before getting into your room - I'm glad you enjoyed Poste - the Courtyard is spectacular this time of year.
Come back again soon please!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
2,105 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
2,836 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
2,168 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing