We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #47 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

DC is a hard place to negotiate for business travel in my opinion for a female Midwesterner. I am fairly conservative however and overly concerned about safety. This hotel has a great location, helpful staff and loved the boutique historical aspect. Nice restaurant inside.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors (above 2). I don't know if they have a spa or pool but cannot remove the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Jennifer F we're so glad you were comfortable and secure, and most of all enjoyed yourself. Come back any time, we'd love to have you stay again soon.
Best
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    453
    159
    76
    44
See reviews for
319
575
92
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Location superb. Room size and functionality superb for 7 night stay. Room has good lighting, chair seating, nice size desk, good AC/heat system, black out drapes, and clean linens. Only place for improvement might be in updating mattresses before long. Major praise for a staff that showed integrity in promptly and fairly resolving a couple of problems. Their integrity and caring made all the difference. Suspect this boutique hotel is better place for vacationers than business travelers. Hosted wine reception every evening. Jackson 20 hotel restaurant convenient. One morning, when a power outage hampered their ability to produce individually ordered meals, they graciously provided a lovely free buffet breakfast for hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likegoodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Likegoodplaces thank you for the kind words about the staff, which I agree makes all the difference, I promise to pass them along personally.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

What an amazing, fun and funky hotel! Awesome location - we were right in the middle of the city and had a range of restaurants, monuments and museums right on our doorstep. We had bikes with us but everything was so close we just walked. White house is only a few blocks away.

Hotel has an amazing history to it - the building was DC's original post office, but despite the building being old the amenities are amazing, the rooms are well maintained, and they've done an great job at keeping the hotel modern while not losing the history of the building. They've really struck the right balance between old and new.

Interior hotel decor is something else. It's like you've stepped into another world, and we spent time walking through the corridors of the hotel as an attraction in itself. I don't even know how to describe it - see pictures attached. It's completely unique, very artsy, fun and funky, yet classy at the same time. Never seen anything like it.

For an old building the room was HUGE! High ceilings made the rooms feel even larger, tall windows gave the room a lot of light, the bathroom had the biggest spa I have ever experienced.

The amenities are awesome, and once again unique. Yoga mats included in every room, laundry detergent (thankyou!!!!), the living area to our suite was fully decked out with a surround sound system, free wifi.

Very cool hotel - staff were great - can't wait to experience other Kimpton Hotels!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
What an amazing fun and funky review Meg J! We appreciate the kind words and I'm so glad you enjoyed all our location has to offer - next time, no need to bring bikes along, we've got you covered there too!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently visited this hotel for a wedding, and wow, what a cool venue! Did have a chance to see the rooms, but the amenities were great for an older building. The outdoor bar/back patio also made for the perfect spot for the after-party.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahElizabethSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
So glad you found us SarahElizabethSch - we couldn't agree more, Poste Courtyard is THE spot!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Try to get a room away from the function rooms. It can be noisy, so not great as a business hotel. The set up of the building means there's little division between residents and revellers. There are frequently large rowdy groups roaming the corridors.

Facilities ok, although not the best Monaco I've experienced. A few of the finishing touches are missing. The location makes up for things otherwise and the building is impressive.

Room Tip: 4th floor seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello lgnast, sounds like you caught us on an odd weekend - we try to be as quiet as a church-mouse for our many business travelers. We know how important good rest is!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Awesome location, very easy to stroll around to sightsee, dine out or enjoy a glass of wine. The restaurant downstairs is tasty and the staff was lovely. The patio seating is outstanding.

The building is very historic (I believe it was once an old post office) so the rooms are configured to fit the space. You'll feel the balance between old and new. The room was comfortable, up-to-date and clean. The bed was cozy.

Staff was friendly, though there isn't a proper cab stop. There is a happy hour and morning coffee by the fire, so lots of little touches to put guests at ease.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5ForVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Awww - great location, balance of old and new, and coffee by the fireplace, we're glad you had a great time 5ForVacation! Come back soon!
Thanks,
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clawson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Hotel Monaco is perfectly situated - across the street from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian Art Museum and the subway line. Beautiful historic building and the front desk staff is great (we were shocked that our room was not only ready, but we were able to access it almost 5 hours before normal check-in - thank you so much for that!!), but there are some things that could definitely make it better. The rooms did not have a coffee maker, which was surprising - it's the first time I've traveled in a LONG time where there was no coffee maker - even Motel 6 has a coffee maker (so I've heard, I haven't stayed there in decades...). The bathroom was clean and well stocked and I liked that you had the option to not get the room cleaned (a Green initiative) if so desired. The Courtyard had been previously described to me as a scene from the Shawshank Redemption and I get it! But, still a lovely and busy place to hang out after work or after hours. The plants could use some love though.
My biggest beef was the quality, or lack thereof, of the food that was served - mostly as room service, but in the dining room as well. We had breakfast one morning in the room - a toasted bagel (no butter on the side as requested), a pot of coffee and a small plate of fruit (with over aged melon pieces) for close to $35???? Wow- for that money, at breakfast, I expect to be "wowed" in a good way, but it was more like "wow - really? This is supposed to be 3 or 4 star AAA diamond resort??? In every way but the culinary way, which was surprising. The next morning, we had breakfast in the restaurant and it was just ok, but our expectations had been much higher than "ok", since this was such a fine hotel in so many other respects. And forget room service - came back later on a Saturday night, with no dinner, so we decided to order a sandwich from room service. The bread was over grilled, and the avocado on the sandwich was black and slimy - it should never have been served. The Chef needs to train their staff much better than this. If you can't offer top notch late night food, don't offer it. I'd rather have gone without than paid $17 for a sandwich that should have been put in the garbage disposal, not on a guest plate...
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel - the rooms are a good size with great amenities, the location is fantastic and the staff is great. Just make sure you go out for your meals....

Green Features: Hotel Monaco is keenly aware of environmentally friendly practices and does emphasize this throughout the hotel.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing