We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Macungie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Monaco for 2 nights over the 4th of July holiday. We traveled to the hotel via the DC Metro, which has a very convenient stop on the opposite corner of the street. We arrived around 11:30 am, and had requested an early check-in when we reserved the room, and our room was ready for us when we got there! Our room was a queen bed on the 2nd floor (lobby level), which was very well decorated & clean. The room was a little tight, but not a big concern for us since we weren't spending much time there. Our room had large windows that overlooked the courtyard bar/lounge, but we were very impressed that we did not hear any noise at night from people sitting outside. We loved the wine hour, which we made sure to attend both nights. The location can't be beat, just steps away to many restaurants, bars, shopping and museums. This was our 2nd time staying at the Monaco, and would definitely make it our first choice next time in DC!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aar132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for your loyalty Aar132, so gratified to hear that it was your second visit - we hope #2 of many more - like Monaco family! Take care until next time,
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    458
    166
    79
    46
See reviews for
321
583
93
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We found this by chance when looking for somewhere to spend a night near the International Spy Museum.

Think we got a reasonable rate - hint....join the rewards schemes and work the offers - and everything about our stay was just fine.

We missed the free drink hour - no big deal.

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. The building has been well renovated and the hallways etc are just magnificent. Good size room, clean and well renovated.

Only real downside was trying to unpack/pack the car in the rain two lanes away from the side-walk - no drive/lobby....

Recommended by us!!

Room Tip: reviews suggest avoid downstairs/basement?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpIntlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Sorry about that pesky DC summer rain ExpIntlTraveller, but so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your hint is a fantastic one - and we also offer many packages and promos on our website as well at monaco-dc.com, be sure to check them out, great deals to be had this summer.
Best
Ed - Monaco DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I think his name was malcolm (very nice african american young man) was super friendly and helpful at the front desk upon check in.

the food from room service was great and the atmosphere was fun and funky. loved it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Super friendly, fun and funky. We guess we resemble those remarks Michelle m, thank you for recognizing the team! Hope to see you again soon!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our stay at the Monaco capped a splendid 4th in DC. We enjoyed many of the festivities including the reading of the Declaration of Independence at the Archives, the Nationals game, and of course the fireworks on the National Mall. The location of the hotel and it's proximity to the Metro made doing all of this extremely convenient. The hotel staff were more than courteous and helpful; they made us feel right at home. A spacious, well-appointed room was just the ticket after a long day. If you are coming to DC, consider staying at the Monaco.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We can't ask for more than that Jeff W! We love being your "home away from home" while you tour the "o-so-convenient" sights and venues around us! Thanks for the great review - come back again soon!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcadia, california, usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently discovered a Kimpton hotel in San Francisco and so decided to stay at the Monaco this past weekend. From the front desk staff to all of the housekeeping and other personnel, all were helpful, courteous and friendly. Our room, a corner room, was well appointed and very clean. We enjoyed the comfort of the room and found that it afforded us an extremely quiet night's sleep. The Poste restaurant (downstairs off the lobby) is a wonderful place to relax and have a hearty breakfast (or not) depending upon your mood. The food and service were top drawer and we went there both days we stayed. We especially enjoyed the fact that we were staying in a historic building that had been retrofitted to become a hotel. Great care was taken to preserve the outside so that it looks like a massive federal building. The real secrets of the building become apparent as soon as you enter. A great place to stay. In fact, we've booked another Kimpton in NYC at the end of this month. They have a way with buildings and staffs that assures something beyond the ordinary.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, even if it just a view of the street below.
See more room tips
Green Features: The offer a rebate for not utilizing housekeeping and the restaurant uses vegetables they grow on the premises.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
What a jewel of a review, I appreciate the kind words, and the Kimpton loyalty! It truly is a special place here at Monaco DC and I'm glad that you enjoyed it so much Joseph A. But what really pleases me is your recognition of the team, and the Kimpton style of hospitality - I'm honored that we lived up to it so well in your eyes. We hope to see you again soon, until then, enjoy your stay in NYC.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Being a resident of D.C. I am surrounded by hotels, very few of them I ever set foot in for obvious reasons. The one sole exception being the Hotel Monaco in D.C. Sitting in the heart of Chinatown it is metro accessible, there is a quality restaurant, and its is a nice building. I stayed here once recently for a wedding (the room was booked for me). The fundamental selling point though is Poste the outdoor garden bar and atrium, in a city where any sort of outdoor dining is a premium Poste is is able to offer good food and drinks without much fuss. The downside to the hotel is that it is in Chinatown, a very artificial area (probably the most chain oriented in the city) and that there are literally 10000 toursists that pass by it on a daily basis. For visitors though this isnt as big of a problem, it is a walk-able distance to the National Mall, the Metro is across the street, and there are several good museums outside of the Mall near by (the National Portrait Gallery and Spy Museum). My advice, stay at the hotel, enjoy the courtyard and the convenience of the location...eat outside of Chinatown and Metro Center for a better feel of the city.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms can be noisy but nice, avoid one facing the Verizon Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review Jeffrey B, great tips from an experienced DC resident! Hope to see you on the patio again soon!
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Whether for business or for pleasure the Monaco is a great place to stay while in DC. The central location is amazing. The staff were all very helpful and the rooms appropriately appointed. The room was a very nice size, but the bathroom was a fraction too small, but this may depend on the specific layout of your room. I would return to this hotel for my future trips to DC!

Room Tip: The basement rooms are okay. Higher floor rooms are better, BUT only if there are no weddings going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1004, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We do have a great location but thanks for recognizing the difference maker for us - our staff. That's where all the magic happens Joe L!
We're delighted to hear you'll be back on a future visit.
Cheers
Ed - Monaco DC GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing