We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis which felt like being at home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #5 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis which felt like being at home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Spent three very enjoyable nights here in the Lighthouse Room. Very peaceful location away from the crowds but walking distance to metro as bars etc.

Small swimming ball out back was a welcome relief from the heat and great way to chill out in afternoon along with home made lemonade.

If you want somewhere to feel instantly at home and relax this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
186
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Swann House was just what I needed, to recharge and relax. I found it well situated and enjoyed the beautiful neighborhood. Breakfast was more than enough and the afternoon treats a real joy. My taste buds were well pleased with everything. I did not find it overpriced, as I considered what I had to pay for a really poor hotel in Manhattan at the same time. I would recommend Swann House, but would suggest that they make an effort to serve breakfast a bit earlier for the early traveler, as I had to make do without breakfast on the day of departure, which was rather disappointing. Over all, it is a beautiful little B&B and I enjoyed my stay there. I found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluvanRooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent 3 nights in The Lighthouse room. The room was small, but comfortable. The hubby wasn't too thrilled with the tiny (computer monitor sized) TV, but there was enough room for the small amount of time we actually spent in the room. The bathroom was a nice size, however, getting hot water in the shower and sink proved to be a bit of a challenge. (the shower does have instructions, which I didn't notice at first) :)
The staff was helpful and Natalie was great each morning running the breakfast for the guests as well as taking care of other duties. The food was good and served for a long enough period of time, that we didn't have to rush down in the mornings.
The pool was small, but clean and was perfect for cooling off after a long day of walking the city. The location was great for us, since we were visiting our son who lives in the neighborhood, but it is also a safe neighborhood, close to the metro and many interesting restaurants.
On thing about the Lighthouse Room... it is VERY bright in the mornings, luckily we always bring eyemasks, the room is in the turret, so it has 4 big windows that light up the room!
Overall, we had great service and a very relaxing stay at Swann House.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Room gets very bright in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wags02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Truly enjoyed our stay at The Swann House...breakfasts were fabulous and our host made us feel very welcome. Easy access to a variety of restaurants, shopping, and the Metro. A week to remember in peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimicry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Swann House Inn. When we arrived we told them multiple times we had an early flight the next morning. In the morning, there was a continental breakfast set up and we were told that hot items were not served until 10am. They knew we were leaving early so why couldn't they prepare breakfast earlier? It was an expensive stay and not to mention the morning staff member was not really friendly. Love the DuPont Circle area but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swannhouse, Owner at Swann House, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Lydia,
I am so sorry you did not have a good experience at Swann House, and I am especially concerned that you felt a member of my staff was not hospitable. I will certainly use your review as a training exercise. I apologize that there was a mistake in communicating our breakfast time to you. Our Continental breakfast is out by 7:30 a.m. and our hot entree is available by 7:45. We serve UNTIL 10 a.m. Clearly, we did not effectively communicate and for that I am very sorry. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Swann House.

Sincerely,
Mary Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantzville, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I recently visited Washington D.C. for the first time. We chose to stay in the Swann House B & B, and were delighted with its great location. The B & B itself was expensive, but I don't have comparisons to others in D.C. Our room (Jennifer Green) was comfortable, but felt the bed and bedding could use some upgrading. It had a big patio, spoiled somewhat by the plants in most of the decorative pots being dead. The bathroom had an unusual configuration, but a lovely big shower with lots of good hot water. We were there for two nights and one afternoon cooled off in their small but clean outdoor pool. The staff were attentive, and Natalie in particular was on the ball, presiding over excellent breakfasts with lots of choice. The other rooms in this interesting old building were very inviting and really comfortable for reading or chatting. It was not the best B & B we have ever stayed in, particularly at the cost, but we would stay again, if ever back in Washington, D.C. We found lots of choices of good restaurants within a few blocks, and felt really comfortable wandering around the neighbourhood on foot.

Room Tip: The Jennifer Green room was really quiet at night and has lots of space for lounging. It also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was our second stay at Swann House and we had a terrific time. Breakfast was yummy and our room was terrific. We stayed in Parisienne first visit and loved it. This trip we stayed in Il Duomo. Great ceilings and my husband and I loved the bathtub. Already booked for next year and will try the Regent Room. Grounds are lovely and something is always blooming. Several nice places to sit and relax. Neighborhood is great for walking about.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,122 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Property: Swann House
Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing