We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retreat of Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swann House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swann House
Ranked #5 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Retreat of Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I booked our room over the 4th of July weekend and so appreciated Anna guiding us from the airport to the Swann House. We didn't realize that many streets were closed around the Mall for the 4th of July celebration and our GPS just didn't know what to do! Once at the Swann House we felt so welcome. The staff was outstanding and helpful; our room was clean and just perfect for the two of us. We spent 2 fun-filled but exhausting days seeing the sights of DC and it was such a calming thought to know we would be retiring for the evening at such a beautiful, historic place. The metro was close by for easy transportation and quite honestly, if we had not been going onto Gettysburg, we would have ditched the car and relied on public transportation - it was that accessible and easy. Would absolutely stay here again and before I forget...the breakfast was awesome! Thanks for the great stay! Steve and Vicki from Wisconsin

Room Tip: We only needed a bed and bath so we chose the Nantucket. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliverdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
186
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our family recently visited Washington in the heat wave! We knew as soon as we reached the Swann House that we were in a haven of coolness & friendliness that would take the heat out & replace it with delight.
We found all the staff & guests helpful & chatty. Our rooms were very comfortable & spacious. The breakfasts,. with a french touch, were very good & set us up for the day. The location was super, in a lovely district close to town & transportation with restaurants & a bookshop/restaurant nearby.
When we departed it was like leaving friends we had known for a long time. We will stay there again the next time we are in Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaupproberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Highly recommended. An extraordinarily gracious and welcoming staff. The location was excellent and we enjoyed a wealth of restaurants in the area. It was an easy walk to the Metro and to other sites in the Dupont Circle area. We will recommend this to all of our friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I spent a few nights at Swann House when the AC in my condo was on the fritz last week, and it was wonderful. The house is gorgeous and the owner and her staff are so warm and welcoming. The rooms are lovely... they are so beautifully decorated and everything is spotless. The location is perfect, very close to the Dupont Circle Metro, but still very quiet. Did I mention the fabulous breakfasts and afternoon snacks? The best part is the secret garden in the back yard with a pool...a perfect place to cool off during the hottest week of the summer. I could have stayed for a month! Don't go anywhere else!

Marianne Tamulevich, Ph.D.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5-night stay at the Swann House! The B&B has everything we hoped for & more: nice, clean rooms; friendly & helpful staff; good & varied food; interesting & friendly other guests; a perfect location for our travels in & around DC (about 5 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station, on a quiet street). Being from the Pacific Northwest, the Summer weather in Washington was brutal - luckily, the Swann House has an answer for that, too: a small, but refreshing swimming pool, very hard to find at a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-S-S-L_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Have just had 3 nights at Swann House and had a super time. The room (Jennifer Green) was spacious and extremely comfortable with a lovely deck...sadly the present heat wave meant it was impossible to use. However the pool was very welcome and little touches like the pool towels really appreciated. Mary is a great character and it really is like staying with friends. Nothing is too much trouble but the whole team do a great job. Isobel also deserves a mention for delicious breakfasts. The position of Swann House is also great...very peaceful but easy walking to nice bars and restaurants. Having travelled across the States for 7 weeks we have sampled a lot of inns and hotels...stay here you will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PatanAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swannhouse, Owner at Swann House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We absolutely loved having you visit us at Swann House. You kept us all entertained and you two delighted everyone at breakfast with tales of your wonderful travels and, of course, that British humour that we Americans adore. We were quite sad to see you go and hope you have recovered from your holiday. We would love to see you all again!

Best regards,
Mary and the Swann House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

For the past several years, whenever I go to DC for work I have been fortunate enough to stay at the Swann House. The staff are always friendly and helpful. They always make me feel at home. Breakfast is always good. I have nothing but good things to say about my experiences there. It's a welcoming and relaxing place to stay. And in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,325 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swann House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swann House

Property: Swann House
Address: 1808 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swann House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1883 mansion in the historic Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Swann House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swann House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing