We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Downtown Washington Hostel
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The rooms are TINY, there was hardly space for me to climb to the top bunk because the beds were so close together. The security is poor, there is only a code for the door and the room doors do not have locks on them and the doors are often left hanging wide open so anyone could come in at any time. The beds were very uncomfortable. There was only one bathroom on a floor of 4 or 5 rooms (of more than 4 people each) and the bathrooms were not clean and missing tiles on the walls. The location is the one redeeming factor, you can walk everywhere from the hostel, but it's not worth it. The shoes off policy is annoying and unnecessary, especially in the kitchen area where sharp knives and boiling water is being used. Although the quiet hours are 10pm-10am, the cleaner would burst into the rooms at 9 or earlier to vacuum while guests are sleeping and then leave the door hanging wide open. Overall it was not a good experience and I would never go back to this hostel!

Room Tip: Stay in a room with more beds - they have more space to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REH123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked this at the very last minute after having cancelled at a different hostel and couldn't have been happier from the moment we walked in. The whole place was very clean and organised and the rooms were really well maintained. The location is great - 15 minutes maximum from the Union Square/National Mall area. If this gives you any idea, we only stayed in DC for a day and the proximity of the hostel made it really easy to get everything done as it was so close. The best part about this place however was the staff! AJ and the rest of the staff were always ready to help, give advice on things to do, or just hang out. Definitely the most friendly and communal hostel I've been to in the USA. For sure would recommend this awesome place!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotteborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this hostel last minute, and from the minute we checked in absolutely loved it! Staff are easy going, super friendly and helpful! We had heaps of fun over the two nights we were there, and can certainly say that it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. So hard to leave, I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellavandermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

ADVANTAGE: Late Check in since My train was VERY late. Outstanding Staff and LOCATION!!! Young Partying Crowd. Just not my scene so I moved to a Quieter Hostel. One bathroom was out of order so I had to upstairs to wait in line.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star4Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was my second hostel experience and I really fell in love with this place. It's an easy walk to Union Station/Metro, a 15min walk to the Capitol, and I really loved the charming neighborhood. All of DC is very accessible from here but you don't feel so suffocated from city dwelling. I found the facilities very clean even when there was a full house. The staff was very nice and helpful and they're currently remodeling both the house and the staff (for the better). Meeting people was very easy in the kitchen and common areas and I felt very at home and comfortable. The price is very good for the location. This place is filled mainly with people under the age of 35 and the quarters can be snug, but I personally wasn't bothered by this. I made many good traveling friends here from all over the world and I would recommend this place!

My only qualm would be the lack of bathrooms. There are only 4 1/2 bathrooms in the house. This is tolerable if you take your shower at night rather than in the morning. If you take up a schedule that's not like everyone else's, you'd be fine.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock, ear plugs, and eye mask and you'll never know you're sleeping in a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had a great time here,was so funny and made some good memory's, mark Levi and Charles are great staff they were super friendly and just generally great guys, would definitely stay in this place again and would recommend this hostel to anyone!
Tom.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights to visit Washington and it was all I needed. Great location , close (by foot) to Union Station and from there you can go everywhere around the city. I liked the atmosphere and the staff , especially the guy who made the pancakes every morning !!
The beds were cosy , clean and they a great atmosphere every day. I would definitely stay there again if I will have the chance to visit D.C.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cezar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#120 of 142 in Washington DC
1,887 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
517 reviews
HI Washington DC Hostel
#1 of 46 in Washington DC
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duo Housing
#6 of 46 in Washington DC
252 reviews
Adams Morgan
HighRoad Hostel DC
HighRoad Hostel DC
#2 of 46 in Washington DC
84 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Washington Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Washington Hostel

Address: 506 H St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4338
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: £17 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Washington Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting City House Hostel Washington DC is still a 'Washington DC must' for travelers in the know. With a downtown location conveniently situated in a hip mixed use district, City House Hostel Washington DC is surrounded by a plethora of shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. Washington DC buzzes from early morning until late night. Travelers are connected via 2 nearby metro stations, 3 bus routes, and a bike share program just a block away! At City House Hostel Washington DC we aim to provide you with comfortable, affordable, and fun accommodations where you can feel at ease and meet fellow budget travelers in a lively and relaxed environment. We provide a unique backpacker experience which offers great facilities including internet, chill out areas, lockers, tourist information, internet access, movie nights, luggage storage, telephone facilities and much more. The rooms in our hostel are large, bright and spacious with modern decoration and interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Washington Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing