We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Washington Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Downtown Washington Hostel
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alright.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Really few bathroom, too little lockers... You're staying in Washington and you don't have locker? While hostel at my staying didn't seem that busy lockers were full. Cleaning lady who wakes you up... And it was my first time in a hostel where you shouldn't wear shoes, a bit strange, but okay. Guy who checked me in was really cool. You can watch a lot of movies in a common room, there's nice kitchen, a lot of flyers. Oh, on more thing - wifi works only in the common room, annoying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    53
    21
    12
    13
See reviews for
6
18
66
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

we were staying one night int this hostel, the room was clean, the bathroom also.
the staff were so friendly specially Ysa, she help us to find a good coffee shop for breakfast and shared about many things to us.
the only problem for us was we couldn't access the wifi from our room. because it was only in the common area.
thank you Ysa for the story about South America.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maringan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My stay started out with me being very offended by the way the woman by the counter talked to me. she talked to me like I was a kid! I'm 26 years old and usually share a kitchens, bath and toilets with many others - believe me; I know how to behave!
It was not just about their many many rules, but the way she went through them. For the rest of my stay, she talked to me and everybody else in an incredibly artificial nice way.

My friend was checked in nicely by another from the staff. And by time, I figured that the rest of the staff were very nice and helpful and 'saved' my stay there.

The hostel has a lot of rules, and the many rules made us doubt whether we were even aloud to bring in a beer or cider to the hostel, just for us to enjoy before 10 pm (silent hours beginning)...
Asking us not to steal, is extremely inappropriate in my opinion.

I was glad to see the security codes on the door working, but it would have been nice with a room key.

One could see a cleaning lady every morning. But why begin cleaning before the silent hours are over? (10 pm-10am)
And it would have been nice seeing her doing more than just sweeping the floor lightly - washing would definitely have been nice, and a change of cloths in the bathrooms every day would have been nice as well.
Telling us on a paper not to use their washing machine, when the machine is in a common bathroom is alright, but why not say where guests can wash on the paper or that we can ask them...?
Simple, but nice changes like that would save the hostel from these kind of reviews.
I enjoyed my stay, the area was nice, close to union station. But a certain lady staff member (the owner perhaps..?) should get away for a while for the benefit of the guests - perhaps to the best hostel ever; morty rich hostel in Houston - and learn how to treat guests nicely! Because the hostel has potential, the staff is nice, the kitchen is alright and so on :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henriette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Positives

- Short walk to Union Station
- Staff very friendly and helpful, nice hang out area
- Bus stop on doorstep for certain attractions
- Some attractions very walkable (US capitol, smithsonians)
- Big grocery store 2 minutes away

Negatives

- Security, no locks on room doors, only need keycode to access all rooms(not changed during my 5 day stay)
- Too few bathrooms
- Dorms and bathrooms were not the cleanest
- Rooms very tightly packed, space tight even for everyone's suitcases/backpacks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I wasn't a fan of the lady who checked me in at the front desk. She had a tendency to speak down to whoever she was helping. The cleaning lady's child was also yelling and screaming in the common room which made it hard to hear the laundry list of rules I had to go over during check-in. The facilities and the location are good however, and everything was clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I very rarely write negative reviews but I was really disappointed by the lack of professionalism and unfriendliness of the hostel's manager.

I have had the bad luck to have my passport along with some souvenirs that I bought during my trip thrown away by their staffs, assuming that it was a rubbish bag without checking the content inside.
The manager was not only very unwillingly to help on trying to find it back but he also explained that it is a mistake which can just happen and he couldn't do anything about it.

I don't blame them for throwing away my belongings, but I am really stunned by the indifference of the owner of the hostel and the very bad service he provides to his customers while rejecting any responsibilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisDuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holderness, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you want to be treat like a child, then this hostel is for you.
Upon arrival we were bombarded with rules, such as no shoes (unnecessary in my opinion) and additional rules such as no stealing - inappropriate and unnerving.
Security lacking, only a code to access the front door, anyone could just follow you in and your room does not have a personal lock.
Most of staff very helpful and considerate. Housekeepers charge into your room early hours to empty the trash, that is only housekeeping you receive and also unhelpful when informing them of showers being cold. Not the cleanest of facilities either.
For the amount of rooms and guests in them, the quantity of bathroom facilities is lacking. Some do not have toilets and others are out of of bounds for a large portion of the day so that the hostel can do laundry.
Wi-Fi was advertised, only certain areas within the building that this was accessible - not ideal.
Would not return out of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Washington Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Washington Hostel

Property: Downtown Washington Hostel
Address: 506 H Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Washington Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting Washington DC House is still a 'Washington DC must' for travelers in the know. With a downtown location conveniently situated in a hip mixed use district, Washington DC House is surrounded by a plethora of shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. Washington DC buzzes from early morning until late night. Travelers are connected via 2 nearby metro stations, 3 bus routes, and a bike share program just a block away! At Washington DC House we aim to provide you with comfortable, affordable, and fun accommodations where you can feel at ease and meet fellow budget travelers in a lively and relaxed environment. We provide a unique backpacker experience which offers great facilities including internet, chill out areas, lockers, tourist information, internet access, movie nights, luggage storage, telephone facilities and much more. The rooms in our hostel are large, bright and spacious with modern decoration and interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Washington Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing