We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty sushi”
Review of Baan Thai

Baan Thai
Ranked #277 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Baan Thai is a new concept in Thai Food. Offering regional Thai cuisine that focuses on the Essan region, the menu doesn't offer Pad Thai or Pad See Eww. Instead we branched out and offer dishes that are traditional, authentic and un-Americanized.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty sushi”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Jalapeño sushi was so good. Chicken wings were really good too. Try the specialty rolls. Decent prices.

Helpful?
Thank Boris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had to wait for a table but we were shown to a bar where we could sit and have a drink and look at a menu. The meal was excellent and the service great. The chefs were in the restaurant area so you could see them preparing your food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garryblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh sushi”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived with around 6:40. They waited until 7:02 to come take our order, when we learned that happy hour ended at 7. I must have given her a look, because once they brought our drinks out the server said she would put it under happy hour pricing. I'd say that balances out to being about average.

The food was delicious. We both got maki rolls. They come in sets of 6 or 8, which it didn't specify on the menu. They had the standard choices, plus a variety of more original creations like Ninja or Spider rolls. They had a cute little pitcher for the soy sauce already on the table. Be warned, it pours fast, and not in the trajectory you'd expect. Good luck aiming it at the little tray without getting it all over the table.

Overall, cute place. I'll definitely be going back!

Helpful?
Thank Farmanimalparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Of all the restaurants in the DC area this has to be my favorite.
Good Food, Great Service!

Food is freshly made and presented very well! There are two gentleman that always seem to be waiting tables, they are great! Friendly, sincere and always smiling!

I will continue to dine here and always look forward to seeing the same staff. That says a lot about the restaurant when the turnover is low!

Keep up the good works guys and gals!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooter1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Sushi with Great Service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great Sushi at a fair price. Always fast and fresh! This is our 'go to' Sushi restaurant and our regular waitress Fai is excellent and so sweet. AND, the fact that they are open late is perfect for a late dinner with our crazy schedules. ขอขอบคุณคุณ

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Thai also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing