We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure at the Ritz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure at the Ritz!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

From the moment we walked in, we were treated like old friends. We arrived early and they were beyond accommodating to ensure we were comfortable until it was ready. We were walked to our room where our luggage was already waiting. The room was huge and spectacular, just as we expected at the Ritz!

Room Tip: The corner suite was enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senatormorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    80
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
157
112
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A lovely place to stay if you need or want to be in Georgetown. The location is perfect such that it is nicely quiet but right in the midst of the action. The rooms and hotel have alot of character. The staff is superb.

I have stayed here now twice and find the only slight issues are the restaurant-room service and the price.

That said, I will come back again to the Ritz over the competitor down the street which I have also stayed at because of the better location ( depending on your plans ) , more personal staff attention, and character of the place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We did not stay at the hotel - this is a brunch review. My sister made reservations for us for Easter Sunday brunch at the Ritz Carlton in Georgetown. I'll admit - I was taken aback by the price. I would have been fine having a picnic on the mall. But we were with our entire family - all 14 of us and we have never spent Easter in DC. So we went...and it was wonderful.

The hostess greeted the kids with empty easter baskets for a egg hunt that took place about half way through our meal. Then she walked us to our table in a beautiful big room with brick walls - very beautiful. The dessert table was spectacular with a chocolate bunny and easter baskets with candy etc... The raw bar was a hit with everyone. Everything tasted amazing. We also enjoyed the bottomless mimosas.

the easter egg hunt was in the garden with the easter bunny. It was very well done and worth every penny (which was a lot of pennies - lol!) I would definitely recommend brunch - and next time we want to stay here. it's a beautiful hotel and a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is one of the best places to stay while in Georgetown, DC area.

The rooms are excellent and very comfortable. As with most Ritz Carton, the rooms are well appointed, and beddings are high quality. The hotel is just off a side street away from the main Georgetown strip, where all the restaurant and shops are found. For those into jogging, you can do a 10k run all the way to the Washington Monument or along the river, if you wish. You can take a leisure walk to the alphabet streets K, L, M, N streets or all the way to WashingtonDC if you wish. Food choices and breakfast spread is excellent.

Hotel has excellent Mac computers for printing of your boarding pass tickets One of the complaint about such a pleasant stay was the internet access, which is not complementary, plus paid service allows only one device at a time. So, if you have multiple devices, such as iPhone, iPad or laptop... you will be charged separately for access. :-(

Room Tip: Instead of working in your room, bring your work to the lobby in front of the large fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This has become our hotel of choice on regular trips to DC. Compared to nearby luxury options, such as the Four Seasons and the Willard, The Ritz G- Town offers a take on luxury that is subtle and based on excellent service rather than glitzy, over-sized and over-stuffed public spaces. People go the the Four Seasons to be seen, people go to The Ritz G-Town to be left in peace and get work done. This makes it popular with celebs & political big-wigs but if they are there, you'll never know it. The lobby lounge is an appealing place for drinks & small plates. The restaurant is small and serves simple but well-prepared meals. Room service offers limited options but they will work with you to provide an off-menu choice if they have it. Not the place to go for a spa experience - it's small and not open every day. The gym is also unimpressive. But the canal path is a 2-minute walk and a rent a bike rack is just across the street if you are looking for outdoor adventure. The museums are about 1 1/2 miles away (a 5 minute cab ride.) If your idea of high style involves acres of glitz, this is not your place. But for those who appreciate a more low-key brand of elegance, this is the closest thing DC has to a cool hotel destination.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out on the church yard across the street have the prettiest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenmarie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctyankee20
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Who would think a hotel in an old incinerator would work? But somehow the Ritz-Carlton Georgetown does work. Kind of off the beaten path location yet close to main attractions in Georgetown. Nice rooms and good service (concierge spent like two hours looking for hockey tickets for us). Not super cheap but good for the area. Park across the street and save the $40 valet fee. ( :

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stay at the Ritz in Georgetown often throughout the year yet only live a little over an hour away. There are better hotels in DC but the Ritz's consistancy of service and the location of this particular property makes it more apealling if you are looking for a night out on the town without the long, and let's face it, possibly illegal drive home. EQually important is you can walk to many of the greatest night spots and resturants in Georgetown. I took away one star as the rooms are a little small for my liking and the views are limited.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnesmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing