We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice Rooms. Excellent Staff. Unusual Physical Configuration.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location. Nice Rooms. Excellent Staff. Unusual Physical Configuration.”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The Ritz Carlton is an outstanding choice in Georgetown. The staff is wonderful and if you are in Washington to visit Georgetown, the location can't be beat. My only qualm with the hotel is its physical configuration. If you are staying in rooms in the west wing of the hotel, there is no direct elevator access from the lobby. Because the building is a converted industrial facility, there can be a fair amount of travel within the building to get to your room from the lobby. Other than that inconvenience, the physical plant is spotless and the rooms are in excellent condition. If you like to run, there is a great run along the river to the monuments and the staff will greet you with a bottle of water and a towel. The restaurant and bar are great, but this is Washington DC and you will probably be staying with some dignitaries and their body guards.

Room Tip: As I mention in the write-up, rooms in the west wing are not as convenient in terms of access, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    80
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
157
112
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

As long as you don't plan to drive to it, the location in the middle of Georgetown--1 block from shops and restaurants, 1 block from the river, and almost on the C&O canal--is ideal. The welcome from staff is almost overwhelming, but they clearly focus on this. The premium rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. While ours had a Bose home theater set and a standard honor bar, there was no coffee maker, and wifi was available only with an annoying fee.

The building was originally an incinerator, and a couple of elements survive, such as the control room for a crane. Degrees is the name for the restaurant, where breakfast was well-made (even the hollandaise) and prompt, but pricey.

If attentiveness makes you feel very pampered, then this is probably your luxury spot.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Travel across to DC frequently and staying at the RC Georgetown has become a home away from home. Staff are terrific, helpful and friendly. Food is great and nothing is ever too much trouble. Rooms are quiet, luxurious and staff very responsive.

Location is great as you are about 1 minute away from the heart of Georgetown. Some of the views could be better but that would be nit-picking.

An example for other hotels to follow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAlexander_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I had a wonderful stay at the Ritz in Georgetown. From the minute I arrived the staff attended to all of my needs. I was pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade from the one bedroom executive suite to a full one bedroom suite with a kitchen, dining room and office. The suite was very spacious and the bathrooms was very nicely appointed. This hotel is in a great location, a block from the Potomac and located in the heart of Georgetown. You can walk to all kinds of shops and restaurants. The hotel was originally an incinerator and the brick architecture that they kept in the hotel gives it lots of character in a renovated, modern space. The room service was on time and delicious and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again when I am in D.C. The only thing that could be improved is the workout room. While it is adequate and has precor elipticals as well as treadmills and stationary bikes and a set of dumbbells but there wasn't much other equipment.

The spa is not open on Tuesdays and Wednesdays so you will need to plan accordingly. We went to the spa at the Four Seasons a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Oh, extremly nice place, well located, beautifully designed, luxorious but in this nice subtle way, perfect staff, real home away from home – I would actually like to live there, if you would have me

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

From the moment we walked in, we were treated like old friends. We arrived early and they were beyond accommodating to ensure we were comfortable until it was ready. We were walked to our room where our luggage was already waiting. The room was huge and spectacular, just as we expected at the Ritz!

Room Tip: The corner suite was enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senatormorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A lovely place to stay if you need or want to be in Georgetown. The location is perfect such that it is nicely quiet but right in the midst of the action. The rooms and hotel have alot of character. The staff is superb.

I have stayed here now twice and find the only slight issues are the restaurant-room service and the price.

That said, I will come back again to the Ritz over the competitor down the street which I have also stayed at because of the better location ( depending on your plans ) , more personal staff attention, and character of the place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing