We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

This was a fabulous place to stay at holiday time! Decorations were terrific and the roaring fire next to the giant Christmas tree was just the perfect thing.

Upgraded for $100 per night to a suite which was very nice. Bed was very comfortable.

The best part however was the service. From the concierge to the valet, bellman , cocktail waiters in the lobby... Made the experience unreal.

One tiny thing... Every morning I would order a large pot of coffee to the room. It barely poured three cups... And the cups were small and shallow! Slightly annoying but just an odd thing for a hotel that tends to every detail!

One other note... This hotel defiantly seems to attract locals to enjoy cocktails and snacks in the amazing lobby. But regardless of that, they always took care of their hotel guests and kept an eye open at all times.

Loved every minute and will defiantly be returning!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coccindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    81
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
163
117
24
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed here with my mum in the Spring for a girly city break and we weren't disappointed. The hotel staff are attentive and professional and can't do enough for you. It's definitely a business hotel, as you can expect in the capital of the US, so i think we got extra attention being the only people there who clearly weren't putting the trip on expenses.
We had a bit of confusion when booking in, as we had booked a room with 2 double beds and had been booked into a room with 1 king bed. I have a feeling they thought we were a same-sex couple on paper, as my married name is double-barrel with my maiden name and we were both Mrs. This was resolved quickly though and they were very apologetic. The doormen are very friendly and professional and even helped my mum put some extra shopping in her suitcase in the lobby before we left for the airport.
The room was clean, spacious and quiet, with the most amazing pillow top mattresses! I'd had a stiff neck for a week before going away and it had gone by the end of our stay. The service does go above and beyond, but sometimes you do just want to be left alone - especially if you want an afternoon nap!
Georgetown is a great location for shopping and just wandering around. It's a really pretty area with a lot of history, but is a cab ride away from the main tourist area. We would get a cab to the museums in the morning, then come back and get cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcakes (as seen on tv), which is a couple of blocks away from the hotel. The best museums we visited were the Crime museum, Museum of American history and the Native American museum (which does amazing vegetarian food!). Our only let down in DC was that the reflecting pool is being renovated, so is empty and surrounded by wire fencing. This was a bit of a disappointment as it ruined the view from the Abe Lincoln memorial. It is an exceptionally clean city though and you can walk just about anywhere once you're in the main drag.
We ate near the hotel in the evenings and there's plenty of places to get food. Our favourite was a place called "Clyde's", which is a pub/restaurant which has that "St. Elmo's Fire" feel about it, as do a few of the restaurants in Georgetown. Nice food at a decent price, with a great atmosphere.
All in all it was a great trip at a lovely hotel and my mum can't wait to go back again with my dad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amycakes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This hotel located in a former brick factory, is a excellent place for a weekend in the Georgetown/D.C . area. Close enough to visit the the sites and still have access to the stores and restruants in Georgetown. Good Spa and the food in the hotel restruant and lobby is also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedonchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We felt welcomed and cared for from the moment we entered the Ritz-Carlton until the moment we left. At check in we were greeted with bottles of water and hot towels - what a nice touch after traveling! Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge!

I would definitely stay at the Ritz in Georgetown next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmbkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Fantastic location off a main street through Georgetown. Restored industrial building, very cool lobby. Nice rooms. I had a corner suite which was HUGE. I'd stay here again....excellent service as is expected from the Ritz

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It is a boutique hotel. 80-something rooms, but to get to ours was down stars underground back up and finally in. Single restaurant/bar. Decent drinks food, but although the bartender was awesome, table service was not slow and not attentive, and the wine was warm -- which to their credit they took care of. Very nice lounging area with servers -- expanded lobby type thing. In-room breakfast was average. Typical awesome ritz service. But...just kinda boring hotel.if it was anything but a Ritz it probably would get another star --- but for a Ritz, it wasn't all that.

Room Tip: 106 was our room. Didn't seem like the best, but it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The site of an old incinerator provides a warm homelike welcome to its guests. The staff were superb and the rooms quiet and restful. The refreshments available on Friday night were a special treat. A place I will return to.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLass2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
343 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing