We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here for a night on a recent trip as I like to be in and around the Georgetown area when I visit Washington. This is because Georgetown is very safe compared to the rest of Washington and there's a lot to do, see and buy. It's really almost a separate community from the rest of the nation's capital.

This is a relatively new Ritz Carlton. The hotel is on the site of a former industrial building, which gives it a very unique look and feel. It really wasn't my style though. It felt more boutique-like verses luxury, upscale hotel.

When I checked in, my room wasn't ready despite it being 3 o'clock in the afternoon. After about 15 minutes, I was upgraded to a suite that included a full dining room for six people and even a study. Needless to say, the room was exceptional, though I thought it was a bit odd to only have one bedroom with a six-person dining room.

I encountered no issues with my stay. The hotel is a block or two off the main street in Georgetown, which makes it a little bit more quiet. It's the kind of place where you could easily escape for a weekend.

The staff was very friendly, but I found them to be slightly unprofessional. I don't feel it is appropriate for hotel staff to address you by your first name nor should they be inquiring about your intentions on your visit. This should be a purely business and transactional relationship. I really don't want to explain myself to a front desk clerk. One staff-related issue that did arise: There wasn't a bellman on duty when I checked in, which I found unusual considering the luxury nature of the Ritz Carlton brand.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel. It didn't exceed my expectations but it didn't disappoint either. I would consider staying here again, though I would probably try out other luxury hotels in Washington first.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetraincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    81
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
160
116
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went to a wedding of one of my best friends in early Nov.

The wedding was across the street and then reception was at the Ritz. This was a great setup because we could park at the hotel and to just walk across the street to the wedding, and then back for the reception.

The reception was not only great because of the location, but also because the staff was wonderful. They would meet any need that we had, and even would make special requests.

Definitely would look at the Ritz as a wedding reception venue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

First time in Washington and my husband surprised me with thus beautiful boutique hotel, the room was amazingly big and comfy, the staff were all very polite and smiley. Funny enough we stayed in the hotel more this time more than we ever had!
The location was brilliant, just up the road was the famous M Street with all the nice shops, restaurants and bars, a little way off from most of the historical places but that was not a problem. Just do the hop on and hop off bus tour you'll get to see most of it. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here over night on a Saturday. Lets start with the good things: the doormen and valet team is very good. Courteous, efficient, and engaging. The bell staff was also quite good. The building is very cool and the lobby scene is energetic and elegant. The Georgetown location is great for dining, shopping, walking, and being in the middle of a DC experience.

Now the gaps: registration team is spotty. Not crisp or on top of their information. The response in the morning hours (7:30 am Sunday) dismal. I called five different numbers to get our cars brought to the front of the hotel so that I could get to the airport. Five numbers, no answer. Not one.....operator, client services, valet, front desk, operator....nothing. Bad news anywhere but especially at a RC. The "fitness center is way too small and under stocked with work out machines. For this hotel, in this location it is a real weakness. The management should amp up their fitness facility and fix the responsiveness of the support team.
I have stayed at many RCs and I have to place this one at the low end of the community.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchellville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for a getaway weekend and were delighted with the whole experience. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the location is fabulous, the hotel is beautiful. We had a suite and it was just great, spacious, clean and very comfortable. We used the spa for massage and the staff was excellent, we did the Couples massage and were very pleased with the experienced masseuses. We would highly recommend the property!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edsteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Upon checking into the Ritz-Carlton Georgetown last week, I was distressed as I realized I had left my laptop in my clients boardroom over 2 1/2 hours away. The concierge, Joey Metts, noticed my distress and immediately brought me a glass of champagne and determined a game plan. He and Raul Febela organized a car service to retrieve my laptop the next morning and couldn't have been more professional or displayed a higher level of customer service. I generally stay at the Four Seasons as I think they have the best customer service in the world. However, I have to say the customer service at this Ritz far surpassed any customer service I've ever received. Every staff I encountered during this trip was simply phenomenal. The hotel had the feel of boutique, luxury hotel...very personal and warm. My room was just lovely and I really enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful lobby in front of a roaring fireplace. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPSerenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a top notch business venue with central location, discreet but excellent service - and on a business trip nothing more I could have asked for. The amenities are all you ever need on a work trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,252 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing