We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice neighborhood Ritz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice neighborhood Ritz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

If being in the Georgetown area of D.C. is convenient for you, I highly recommend the Ritz.The location is perfect for a jog or stroll by the waterfront.In the spring, you can see all the crew teams rowing by as you walk along the river.My husband and I were nicely upgraded to a big suite.Room service, and all service were Ritz top notch.We had a late afternoon snack in the lobby, and I can highly recommend sharing the pigs in a blanket appetizer.We also had lunch in their small restaurant....nice salad and lamb burgerThe hotel is tucked away on a side street, and is in walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants,as well as the University.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear RicLady,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown. We are pleased to have had you as our guest and I am delighted to know we were able to leaving a lasting impression on you and that you were truly able to enjoy the Historic Georgetown neighborhood. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Respectfully,

Jeff Brower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    79
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
134
108
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My friends meet frequently for drinks in the lobby. The wine is overpriced; we swear we won't come back.

However, we are suckers for the staff. They are good at their jobs. Just last week we met Sean Flynn, one of the new staff. So we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear DCMominChief,

Thank you for your feedback related to our wine pricing; excellent service and warm welcoming staff are just some of the qualities we strive to provide to our guests at The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown; I'm delighted you agree and that Sean Flynn was able to provide this level of service for you! Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. Respectfully,

Jeff Brower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just spent 4 nights at this location with wife and 2 kids (7 years old and 1 year old)

Location - perfect Georgetown location, great restaurants & shopping all within walking distance. We were in town to see all the tourists sights - the National mall and all the monuments are about a $20.00 uber ride away. Uber app worked really well as there was always a car within 10 minutes of the hotel. The car would often make it to the front of the hotel faster than we could get to the lobby from our room

Service - service was fantastic - everybody was extremely friendly. They were very welcoming to the kids (stuffed animals & coloring books on arrival, etc).

Food - all of the food we had at the hotel was good but the menu seemed limited for a Ritz Carlton

Room - we were in a 1 bedroom suite on the lower level. The room was very large with 1.5 baths - that was great for our family. We had plenty of room to relax and the kids could play. At night we could put the baby to bed but still watch tv/talk in the other room without disturbing the baby. That said the room was a bit worn for $700+ per night. Colors seemed outdated, furniture a bit scuffed up, carpet looked a little dingy.

I don't think this is anything the hotel doesn't know - in one of the hotel brochures on the desk was a note that all rooms were being updated in 2014.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kempas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place. Great location in Georgetown within walking distance to all the best streets in the area. Fifteen minute walk to the Georgetown campus.

Very cool common areas, sleek open layout and very inviting. In an old building that's been renovated. Lobby area is very cool with ample seating. Service is very good to outstanding in all areas of the hotel.

The rooms are not very good and this is where the hotel does not measure up. Very uneven shower floor, the mattress on my side of the bed was very poor...so poor that it was so uneven I thought I was going to roll off the side.

Had a suite that was fairly worn. Our first suite clearly smelled of cigarette smoke and as we entered the door it was not locked. We simply pushed the door open. We moved from that suite to another smaller one and no one even offered to adjust the price. We did however receive a complimentary breakfast for the family.

Very mixed stay. Not up to Ritz standards set by others. And I think I'm qualified to make that call having visited probably fifteen locations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear BTrun78,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not completely meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. Feedback is extremely important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at (202) 912-4122. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely, Jeff Brower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Ritz is a great small hotel tucked on a side street just a few steps from busy M street in Georgetown. The architecture is really cool. Lobby and restaurant are located in what was an old trash incinerator and have exposed brick and great windows and ironwork. Rooms are located in newer buildings with only 7 or 8 on each floor. The service is fantastic, from the doormen to the housekeeping staff. After a somewhat delayed check-in, the manager bent over backwards and could not have been more helpful throughout the rest of our stay. One warning is that wifi service is spotty in some of the rooms, particularly on lower floors or ends of hallways. One bedroom suites are enormous with extra large living rooms.

Room Tip: One warning is that wifi service is spotty in some of the rooms, particularly on lower floors or en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DW123418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear DW 123418

I am delighted your stay at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. was an enjoyable one. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with outstanding service and memorable experiences. When we are successful and our guests take notice, as you have, it inspires and encourages us. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Respectfully, Jeff Brower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poultney, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The best part of the Ritz in Georgetown (and I love staying at Ritz-Carlton hotels in general), is the location and the doorman, George. The reception staff are also extremely friendly, and even gave me a free upgrade due to the recent storm and cancellations. Dreamy fireplace in the lobby and the "french-toast smores" complimentary treats are the best! Luckily, it was not crowded while I was visiting. However, the suite was one of the most disappointing rooms I have stayed in, and I have stayed in a few at the Four Seasons and Grand Marriotts. The decor and furniture was old and spartan, there was not a working clock in the bedroom or anywhere else in the suite, the internet was slow, and the desk lamp was impossible to turn on. Beautiful bathroom, though. But I have to rate poor value because I ordered a hot cup of milk before I went to bed and the bill was $24.00. Really?
Won't be back as a guest, but maybe I will stop in the lobby for a cup of tea and knit by the fire -- and say "hello" to George! He gets my vote for best hotel doorman!

Room Tip: Don't book a suite; not worth it. Book spa services in advance. The weight room was adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Mary Jane M,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not completely meet your expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. Feedback is extremely important to us, and so if you could afford the time, I may be reached directly at (202) 912-4122. I look forward to hearing from you, Sincerely, Jeff Brower, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Let me say I love the Ritz Carlton hotels. I have never had a bad experience and this hotel lived up to the high standards we have come to expect from them.
The Ritz Carlton Georgetown building itself is very interesting. It's an old City industrial incinerator facility turned hotel. It's really quite unique. The hotel a bit hard to find, even with a GPS. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. My car was valet parked, luggage brought to the front desk and check in was effortless. All very efficient. My room on the lower level and was fine.
My only complaint was 'Degrees Bistro'. It's a bit small but it was the menu that I wasn't thrilled about. Our server explained that the menu was designed to offer 'Tapas style' meals. That's fine of course, but I had invited guests for dinner. What we ordered was well prepared and delicious. Service was exemplary. I just wish there was a more traditional restaurant at the hotel. Otherwise, service, location etc was all first class. I would recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 25 February 2014
As the General Manager of The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. I am extremely interested in the comments posted on-line regarding our hotel as we are constantly striving to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. I appreciate you taking the time to provide constructive feedback related to our restaurant menu and would like to thank you for your feedback related to the many other positive experiences you had while you were staying with us. Respectfully, Jeff Brower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing