We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Luxury Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a conference in DC so we took the entire family down and managed to get a suite at the hotel. Kids were amazed and the staff treated them like family. The only problem was that the kids expected all future hotels to be like the Ritz.

Room Tip: If you have kids get a suite with the pull out bed in the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here following the Marine Corps Marathon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and the location was convenient to the Metro. There is a Whole Foods within walking distance…great place to pick up a bottle of wine, cup of soup, etc. to enjoy back in the comfort of a beautiful room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMarie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As a 40-something year old man that has stayed in more R.C. hotels that I can count at the moment, this one seemed more like a Park Hyatt than a R.C. Not that that is a bad thing, of course. The atmosphere was more trendy than most R.C.'s, including their Battery Park location in NYC. One thing that is distinctively the same in this Ritz as in all their properties, is service. Warm, friendly people are the backbone of this hotel chain and once again, the R.C. Georgetown has poached the best of the best from all the luxury hotels in this city.

The building used to be a factory, and I assume a landmark, since the obvious changes one would make to retro-fit the building are not in place. It's quirky, but in a charming way. One note, if you're handicapped, this hotel and it's layout will force you to walk long distances to reach the closest rooms to the lobby. For instance, having a room on the first floor is great, but the simplest way from the lobby to that floor requires the use of stairs. Albeit just a few, but in the design connecting the two buildings, wouldn't a ramp be just as effective and offer guests with mobility challenges than four or five steps? Seemed obvious to me, and I'm handicap-able.

Speaking of the lobby, you will see it referred to as "the living room" in room literature. It's quite dark and usually crowded with people in jeans and shorts, again an indication that this is the "new" Ritz. There is no official restaurant, just a bar that doubles as a restaurant for all three meals. Honestly, this is the part of the hotel that I disliked the most. Who goes to a R.C. to enjoy a meal with overhead flat screen TV's? The breakfast buffet is set up along the bar, again really too high for anyone shorter, handicapped, etc. You can have your meal in the lobby, sorry, living room, but would you do this in your own home? Fortunately there are MANY good restaurants around the hotel, which quite frankly are a fraction of the cost you should pay to eat a meal in a bar or a living room.

Rooms are comfortable, bathroom was standard R.C., one closet in my room which was not very large; there are a few drawers inside the TV stand, but the first one is filled with nuts, candy and assorted snacks. I suppose if you don't mind the thought of snacks being 3" above the previous guests underwear drawer, snack away, but I vowed never to open that drawer for the rest of my stay.....

Also note that there are very few rooms in this hotel, and only about six with two queen beds. If you have requested this arrangements, as I did, you're most likely going to be disappointed at check in.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay but see no need to return. In future, I think I will stick to the creature comforts of the "other" Ritz, you know, the one with paintings, luxury furnishings, fine dining, men not wearing skinny pants and flip flops and that slightly floral scent when you walk into the hotel. Honestly, I never thought I would actually miss that smell, but I did.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff are what made the stay; very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful, great location, and conference facilities were very good. The conference food was excellent. I loved the president-themed cookies in the lobby every evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Quiet area of George Town (in a remade factory building of some sort with the signature smoke stack remaining) but minutes away from restaurants, shops and the Potomac River Park. The rooms are pretty much Ritz standard with good beds and quiet temperature controls. Simple but pleasing decor through out. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Not much of a restaurant but provides good breakfast and drinks to the lobby. Wide selection of eateries near by though. Far from the metro station and not much view from most rooms unless one stays in suites on higher floors. A very good place for business or pleasure travelers. We stay four nights and are very happy with it.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to find out what type of rooms are available and request the type preferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adtravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Georgetown Ritz is more aesthetically pleasing than the 22nd street Ritz as it makes good use of the brick exteriors common to the neighborhood. Ritz Carltons don’t change much in room lay out from facility to facility, and both hotels have the standard Ritz room layout. However, the HVAC system in the Georgetown property is quieter. The 22nd street Ritz has superior and more extensive business conference facilities. However, for a small meeting, the Georgetown Ritz feels more private and offers the unique conference room situated at the base of the old smoke stack for the factory that once occupied the site. Service levels seem higher at the 22nd street hotel, for example when checking in at 9 pm on a Monday, the Georgetown Ritz appeared to have no bell staff available at all. We moved our own bags from the street to reception and then to the rooms.

Room Tip: The basement floor rooms have high windows that give you a feeling of being subterranean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family of four stayed in a suite for the weekend. The hotel is in a good location but there are several other luxury properties, and three star and above properties that far exceed this particular Ritz. The quality and condition of the property is poor, if not inexcusable for this particular brand. While the staff can do nothing to fix this specific complaint, they can control the level of service they provide to guests. Every request made, no matter how small had to be followed up several times before any type of results. Therefore, you are placed in the unenviable position of appearing as a pest, a position I don't care for. I eventually gave up and stopped utilizing their services. I have an elite card status for the Ritz and they do not know what benefits I am to receive and they will check on it. I request a Sunday paper, it does not come, they will check on it. Over a weekend, numerous reasonable requests such as billing questions, etc., did not garner any response, depsite several polite follow ups. The staff simply did not deliver or follow up on these needs. Room service was the sole exception as their service was fine. Nevertheless, this unfortunate circumstance, coupled with the poor condition of the property, left a poor impression to say the least. Washington DC is always fun for the family and we did not let this affect our trip but others should be aware. Subsequent to the trip, I did lodge these complaints to management at their request through a survey they solicited. I also did have a pleasant conversation with management regarding my concerns. As a result, they made an offer regarding a future stay that they indicated they would confirm in writing. Weeks later, this "confirmation" did arrive and did not accurately convey their offer. Failure to follow up and deliver on quality service apparently comes from the top in this property. I was told the property was being renovated but unless these management and staff concerns are addressed, an excellent stay is to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Jcpow,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown. When I receive feedback such as yours I take it very seriously because it allows me to evaluate our service and facilities in order to ensure that the standards and reputation of The Ritz-Carlton is maintained.

I would like to offer my most sincere apologies to you regarding the experiences you faced during your stay and our subsequent mis-communication with you. I can certainly understand your disappointment from your description of your family’s weekend. Feedback is extremely important to us, and so, if you could afford the time, I would look forward to speaking with you personally and resolving this to your satisfaction. I may be reached directly at (202) 912-4122; I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely, Jeff Brower, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
396 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#17 of 142 in Washington DC
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £366 - £1,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing