We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga Brunch is a Must Do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yoga Brunch is a Must Do!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My friend and I recently visited the hotel on Saturday morning to experience the Yoga Brunch which consists of an hour-long yoga class followed by a bottomless brunch (BM's or mimosas) with your choice of three small plate dishes.

New to yoga, I was a little afraid that the class would be over my head, but it was an incredibly enjoyable experience. The instructor checked on me without being too obvious and my more experienced companion reported that she got a great work out.

The brunch after was fantastic. We started out with bottomless mimosas for me and bloody mary's for my friend. Both were fantastic, but the bloody mary was a standout and one of the best I've had in the city! The food was great, when you go you MUST get the scallops, lemon ricotta pancakes and the breakfast flat-bread.

As usual, the Ritz service can't be topped. The staff members did a great job directing us to the yoga area and treating us at brunch. The server was attentive and refilled our glasses when they started to get low.

I'm so glad the team has decided to extend the Yoga Brunch through the fall and add Sunday's to the offering. For a local or out-of-town visitor this is a true treat and a great way to spend your weekend morning. We left full and satisfied..mind, body, spirit and stomach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    80
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
157
112
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As others have commented, it's in an interesting location with a bit of a different lobby atmosphere than most Ritz's I've stayed in. Yet, at the end of the trip, I was quite pleased to have stayed there! I often stay at the Mandarin in Washington, DC but this trip wound up in Georgetown.

Took a taxi from the airport and once dropped off I was promptly checked in to the hotel. My room was terrific. It was comfortable, fairly spacious with a huge bathroom and all the amenities. I did have a little problem not letting my door slam when I went in and out....hate to disturb anyone....but I had trouble getting it to latch! Everything else worked perfectly and the room was of the standards one would expect at the Ritz!

Had a working meeting one night with a buffet dinner served. The food was all at the proper temperature, served well, and, of course, delicious. Even for a buffet the food couldn't have been any better. I was very pleased with it all.

Check out was easy. I identified an error on my bill and the gentleman at the desk said he'd take care of it. Unfortunately, the error came through on my credit card, but after calling the hotel, I'm told it's now been fixed. A bit disappointed that would happen at the Ritz, but....we're all human.

I loved the stay and would be happy to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were a little hesitant when we first arrived at this property, but by the time we left we were big fans. The property does not give a great first impression in that it has an odd layout for a five star. To get to the rooms you have to go down one flight from the lobby, transfer elevators, and then go up. The lobby decor is not bad, it's just not elegant or refined - more business and bar like - the restaurant is the same way. The rooms, if not elegant, are comfortable, well appointed, and highly functional. I think we'd have been happier if we didn't sometimes hear the comings and goings in the hallway, but it was well within reason (yes, I'm fussy about noise). Here's the good news. For whatever challenges this property faces in reaching a five star status, it more than makes up for in service. This is a superbly trained staff that would do any property proud. Across the line - bellmen, front desk, maintenance, waiters, housekeeping - every single encounter we had with staff was impressive - professional, knowledgeable, appropriately friendly, and a real desire to make us happy.

By the way, the location is great. A short walk to the best of Georgetown. Summing up: a 4 star property with a "five plus" staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamR892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second visit to the Ritz in Georgetown and our experience was even better than the first. The hotel is quaint yet stylish and the location could not be better. Check-in was smooth without the hustle and bustle of many other 5 star hotels. The hotel itself was impecabble and I love the history behind it. We stayed in a luxury suite and it was wonderful. The room stayed cool and it was extremely quiet. We had a few drinks in the bar and they were the best drinks we had in the area. The location is perfect for walking around and shopping and it is only a short ride to many of the major attractions. We were sad to leave and are already planning our return visit! Once again, the Ritz Carlton exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: choose a room in the west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Looking for a super quick getaway in the city? The Ritz is the place for you! We had less than 24 hours to getaway, so we chose the room package deal that included valet, movie tickets and four course dinner at Degrees (bonus was the four course dinner was an option, you could use the money credit for room service as well, so we also ordered breakfast before we headed out). We enjoyed the unexpected room upgrade, chocolate covered strawberries, and crackling fire on the big screen as we celebrated our anniversary. The personable and cheerful staff were also a delight. We had a lovely corner room with a view of the Potomac and the Rosslyn skyline. The room was perfectly tucked away from the city noise, but just close enough to do some quick afternoon shopping on M street. The experience was positively contagious and we hope to return in the future. The Ritz is a perfect place to getaway for a short and sweet celebration.

Room Tip: West wing looks out to the Potomac and Rosslyn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Many acclaimed hotels offer excellent facilities, amenities, and service. However, not many offer excellent hospitality. The type of hospitality that the staff is truly genuine and passionate, which creates seamless friendships and lasting and unexpected memories for their guests. When I left the Ritz Carlton Georgetown I felt truly inspired by the hospitality and much more!

At the time of my reservation I had requested their 1 suite with 2 double beds and more importantly to request a newly renovated room. The renovation I learned had only began shortly before my stay. On the day prior to my I arrival I received a call and e-mail from Dan stating that they would not be able to accommodate the 2 double beds request but they would upgrade me to a larger newly renovated king suite.

On the day of arrival, I received an e-mail from Dan at 12pm stating that my room was ready for check-in. I later arrived at the hotel for the most fabulous check-in with Shervonne! She was energetic, fun, and genuine!

Our suite on the east wing was beautiful and quiet with windows on 3 sides overlooking their urban garden and cross streets. This boutique hotel is a converted incinerator, which makes for a unique layout and common areas, featuring a lot of red brick. The location is perfect, especially when traveling with a dog. They have a garden area where you can sit with your dog, and it's a 1-block walk to the river park. Degrees, their bar/restaurant was a nice place where the bartenders would chat with us and also serve great drinks, and even ramen burgers. Housekeeping was accommodating, and even left water for my dog at turn down. And also, have to say, room service was terrific.

When my dog's crate was left in our car, Shervonne had the crate retrieved and built for us when we returned! On the 1st night when we were enjoying a s'more and looking through books in the lobby, Shervonne unexpectedly brought us complimentary champagne drinks, which was perfect as we were about to take ourselves on a tour of the hotel. Shortly thereafter, Shervonne, again unexpectedly "wanted" to show us their private chimney stack meeting room. The following morning we grabbed coffees in the lobby and were on our way out to walk my dog along the river, when a gentleman offered us waters to take with us. The bag of waters even contained a disposable dish for my dog, much appreciated on a near 90 degree day. On our last night we were in a rush to get to Union Station for a bus tour, and the bellman offered us the use of their house Mercedes S-Class, complete with waters, magazines, and a driver who was extremely informative and hilarious!!

At check-out I went to grab a few fireballs (the candy, which keeps with the incinerator theme) from the front desk, and instead, they sent me home with a whole bag of them! As a hotel enthusiast, I felt truly inspired by both the hospitality and the setting of this Ritz Carlton, and will without a doubt return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed at the other 2 Ritz locations in the area and this is my new fav. Stayed w husband and our 2 teenagers. Fantastic corner suite that was huge and had 2 bathrooms. Really nice furnishings. Tucked away on quiet street, but still in the middle of everything in Georgetown. check-in was a breeze and the staff was friendly. Big fan.

Room Tip: Try to snag a corner suite--great sunlight and floor to ceiling windows on 2 full walls.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
272 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing