We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular! 5 Star experience across the board”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spectacular! 5 Star experience across the board”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Spent two weekends back-to-back for a summer camp drop-off @ G'twn and couldn't be more satisfied and impressed. Check-in was smooth and highly civilized...sitting down a desk with the offer a cool beverage to breeze through paperwork. Rooms are well-designed and handsomely decorated, spacious and comfortable with luxurious bathrooms. The hotel's layout and historic architecture are charming and move you beyond the usual box-like hotel experiences to one that is more engaging. Restaurant/bar/lobby food service is an experience to be truly enjoyed on your visit. A jewel on the first floor, expertly managed by Chris and team, reminds you what world class hospitality is all about. Hotel location is ideal, tucked in between the main corridor in town and the waterfront. It's our new favorite when visiting DC/G'twn with no debate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    80
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
155
111
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying here during the weekend we moved our daughter into Georgetown Univ. We chose it strictly due to its proximity to the campus--a 5-10 minute walk. Upon arrival, unlike many other reviewers, I was impressed with the overall understated look of the exterior. The building is architecturally fantastic, as it formerly was an incinerary. The hotel is the Ritz first attempt at a boutique property, only 85 rooms. I was delighted to not see stuffy wood paneling, gold fixtures, etc, you usually see at many other Ritz properties, including the downtown DC property. Inside, this one is sleek & contemporary but at the same time welcoming. The woman who checked us in was extremely friendly & efficient. We thought it was interesting that we had to walk down stairs to get to our room located on the lower level, but no worries, it had a large operable window which let in plenty of light. The room & bathroom had all the amenities and the bed was incredibly comfortable. However, the reason our stay was so terrific was due to the magnificent staff. Sean our bar server, Chris the bar manager and Peter & Daniel at the front desk all made our stay even better. (Chris gave us a tour of the private dining room located at the bottom of the incinerary smoke stack, which was pretty incredible!) We did experience one mishap- early both mornings we were surprised with an extremely loud screeching noise the came intermittently for about 20 minutes. I called the first morning & reported it to Peter who quickly got the engineering staff to look into it. When we left for the day a short time later, Peter handed us 4 drink coupons for the inconvenience. The following morning we heard the sound again. Upon check out 20 minutes later, Daniel insisted on comping us one of our nights for the trouble. We thought that was extremely over generous, but exactly the kind of customer service you come to expect from the Ritz name. The hotel is in a great location -- a block off M St., a block off the river & a mile or so walk to the subway station. I'm looking forward to staying here many more times during my daughter's next 4 years!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank theresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carleton in Georgetown on a recent family trip. This was easily one of the best hotel experiences we have had. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located in the heart of Georgetown close to both the harbour front, shopping and dining. The room was specious and beautifully appointed. By far the most remarkable part of our stay was the staff. They were attentive, helpful, friendly and each and every one of them went out of their way to anticipate our needs. We have stayed at many Ritz Carleton hotels and this experience is at the top of our list. Fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJWooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We came to the Ritz - Georgetown - for my sister's wedding, held here, and spent one night. The wedding was planned to be outside in the garden area, but this had to change due to rain; you would never have known it as everything looked amazing and went off without a hitch. The facility was wonderful and the ceremony and reception was great. The room we stayed in was very large and comfortable and everything was flawless.

My youngson was the only child at the wedding and the Ritz staff went so far above-and-beyond to accomdiate him that I was, and still am, in awe. When we arrived in our room, they had a really nice crib waiting for him with a blanket with a ton of colorful animals on it, a stuff animal and big rubber ducky waiting for him and gave him another stuffed animal during the course of our stay. During the reception, they brought him out a special kids meal (not requested beforehand) and also let him have a full adult meal, dessert, and other foods! He was treated fantastically and this helped me and my wife out so much.

All of the service we received could not have been beat. We had a wonderful experience, largely due to the amazing staff and the wonderful service we received. Fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceGuy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My friend and I recently visited the hotel on Saturday morning to experience the Yoga Brunch which consists of an hour-long yoga class followed by a bottomless brunch (BM's or mimosas) with your choice of three small plate dishes.

New to yoga, I was a little afraid that the class would be over my head, but it was an incredibly enjoyable experience. The instructor checked on me without being too obvious and my more experienced companion reported that she got a great work out.

The brunch after was fantastic. We started out with bottomless mimosas for me and bloody mary's for my friend. Both were fantastic, but the bloody mary was a standout and one of the best I've had in the city! The food was great, when you go you MUST get the scallops, lemon ricotta pancakes and the breakfast flat-bread.

As usual, the Ritz service can't be topped. The staff members did a great job directing us to the yoga area and treating us at brunch. The server was attentive and refilled our glasses when they started to get low.

I'm so glad the team has decided to extend the Yoga Brunch through the fall and add Sunday's to the offering. For a local or out-of-town visitor this is a true treat and a great way to spend your weekend morning. We left full and satisfied..mind, body, spirit and stomach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As others have commented, it's in an interesting location with a bit of a different lobby atmosphere than most Ritz's I've stayed in. Yet, at the end of the trip, I was quite pleased to have stayed there! I often stay at the Mandarin in Washington, DC but this trip wound up in Georgetown.

Took a taxi from the airport and once dropped off I was promptly checked in to the hotel. My room was terrific. It was comfortable, fairly spacious with a huge bathroom and all the amenities. I did have a little problem not letting my door slam when I went in and out....hate to disturb anyone....but I had trouble getting it to latch! Everything else worked perfectly and the room was of the standards one would expect at the Ritz!

Had a working meeting one night with a buffet dinner served. The food was all at the proper temperature, served well, and, of course, delicious. Even for a buffet the food couldn't have been any better. I was very pleased with it all.

Check out was easy. I identified an error on my bill and the gentleman at the desk said he'd take care of it. Unfortunately, the error came through on my credit card, but after calling the hotel, I'm told it's now been fixed. A bit disappointed that would happen at the Ritz, but....we're all human.

I loved the stay and would be happy to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were a little hesitant when we first arrived at this property, but by the time we left we were big fans. The property does not give a great first impression in that it has an odd layout for a five star. To get to the rooms you have to go down one flight from the lobby, transfer elevators, and then go up. The lobby decor is not bad, it's just not elegant or refined - more business and bar like - the restaurant is the same way. The rooms, if not elegant, are comfortable, well appointed, and highly functional. I think we'd have been happier if we didn't sometimes hear the comings and goings in the hallway, but it was well within reason (yes, I'm fussy about noise). Here's the good news. For whatever challenges this property faces in reaching a five star status, it more than makes up for in service. This is a superbly trained staff that would do any property proud. Across the line - bellmen, front desk, maintenance, waiters, housekeeping - every single encounter we had with staff was impressive - professional, knowledgeable, appropriately friendly, and a real desire to make us happy.

By the way, the location is great. A short walk to the best of Georgetown. Summing up: a 4 star property with a "five plus" staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamR892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Address: 3100 South St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4418 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along quiet South Street resides one of the most recognizable luxury hotels in Georgetown, The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. Housed in a converted industrial building rooted in history, one of the few boutique hotels in the world to feature a soaring brick smokestack may be truly unique, but it is the experience that awaits within that makes it even more captivating. Explore the nation’s capital from its true heart and soul — Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Georgetown
Ritz Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing