We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class act”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #38 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was supposed to stay here two nights. Due to weather, the hotel was overbooked and they sent me to the Westin around the corner. After some negotiation between the hotels which further delayed checkin, I stayed at the Westin one night then moved back to the Melrose. While I was upset about this arrangement, the hotel made up by upgrading me to a huge suite. There we a cheese plate and hand-written note from the manager waiting for me when I got to my room. I greatly appreciated the personal touch.
This is one of the nicest and most comfortable hotel rooms I've stayed in in DC. I do not know about their standard rooms, but my colleagues tell me they are very nice. Generally I do not give 5-star reviews when there is a major problem such as getting bumped (and would give 4.5 stars for this if I could) but I think the hotel has tried really hard to make me happy, and appreciate this. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

David_andrews, we are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with your travels. Melrose Georgetown Hotel strives to provide pristine service to make sure you have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are glad that we could accommodate and very much appreciate your positive review. We hope to impress you again the next time you make your way out to D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
There are newer reviews for Melrose Georgetown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was scheduled to stay at the Four Seasons for a work conference, however, due to an overflow of clients, I needed to find another hotel in Georgetown and ended up at the Melrose. Stanley at the front desk was wonderful! The room was an executive suite. It was spacious and charming. Very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I love coffee in my room and Stanley told me I could ask for a coffeemaker, which I did so was able to have coffee in my room. The only downfall was the wireless internet did not work very well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanliving11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you, oceanliving11, for your review of the recently reinvented, art-deco inspired Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad you chose to stay with us for your visit to Washignton, D.C. and were able to enjoy our spacious guest bedrooms and services. We will look into seeing why our wireless internet was not up to speed. We hope to see you on your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second time at the Melrose and again loved it...Rooms are clean modern and spacious. Booked 48hr Big Bus tours,so hop on hop off great way to see DC.Staff at Melrose were friendly and helpful/Tonya at the front desk was great. My only complaint , there are no coffee machines in the rooms, you have to get dressed and go down stairs to the foyer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you, Lesley M, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel provides glamorously chic decor and spacious guest bedrooms. We are very happy to hear that you were able to easily explore the wonderful city of D.C. and we hope you will come back to enjoy our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I chose the Melrose as a low cost alternative for wedding guests who didn't want to stay at the nearby Four Seasons. While the rooms were OK, the front desk was a disaster. I had made arrangements for a number of my guests to have their room charged to my credit card and discussed this numerous times with the manager. Yet, the Front Desk just didn't get it! On three occasions the guests showed up and were told they had to pay for their rooms at check-in! Subsequent calls to me produced laughable interactions with the desk who just didn't understand; I had to give my credit card info again and again (and their phone system made it almost impossible to hear them).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoeDoc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

JoeDoc2012, nobody should experience such disorganized service when they choose to have guests stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. {Especially during your wedding.} We will look into seeing where the breakdown in communications took place sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed numerous times at the Melrose. Excellent service,atmosphere and location at a reasonable price! Recently the whole hotel has been modernized, yet their prices have remained the same. Centrally located on Pennsylvania avenue with metro down the block; walking distance to Georgetown and all the D.C. sites. Homey lounge and restaurant. Only place I would stay in D.C.!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dee918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dee918, Thank you for your enthusiastic review of the glamorously chic Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel boasts art-deco inspired interiors, spacious guest bedrooms and of course, great service. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience and hope you will visit us again and try our farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is very convenient to George Washington University, Georgetown, and Dupont Circle, they are all within a few minutes walk. The hotel is clean, well run, and up to date. I have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been pleased with my room and the hotels service.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the ice machines are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DesiScituateMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you DesiScituateMA, for your review of the recently reinvented Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We love our location in the heart of the colorful Georgetown neighborhood and are glad to hear you enjoyed it as well! We hope to see you once again on your next visit to Washington, D.C.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was a great hotel! It was very modern and the room was very clean and nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a small problem with our air conditioner the first night we were there, but they were quick to fix the problem. My only complaint would be the location. It's a small walk to the Metro, but there aren't a lot of restaurants/attractions nearby. Still a great hotel and we'd gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaylaHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you, CaylaHenry, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented interiors boast modern decor and spacious guest bedrooms to make your stay most delightful. Our hotel staff is pleased to help in any situation and are glad to hear you had a positive experience. We do hope to see you again so that your can try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,505 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,723 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,194 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £101 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing