We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Girls holiday”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel has been nicely updated with a chic and modern vibe. The location is superb for walking to Georgetown or walking to ride the metro to travel around the city. Trader Joes across the street was fabulous! Rooms were very clean and quiet. Service was very good to excellent. My sister left a foolish amount of cash in the safe on departure and it was easily found and returned by housekeeping. A return here would be a pleasure!

Room Tip: We were on street side and no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you, Linda L, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends spacious guest bedrooms and art-deco inspired interiors that help to make your stay a memorable one. We are glad to have your trust with our always-improving guest services and hope to see you again on your future travels.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    406
    90
    26
    29
See reviews for
335
349
61
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stay in DC a lot for business and the hotels are really expensive! My assistant found the Melrose on GetaRoom.com (also a great sight). We didn't have to guess what it would be like as you do on Priceline (which was really bad news last time). I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OMGLFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
OMGLFB, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We do our best to make the most of your stay, with our renowned guest services and deluxe amenities, without breaking your bank! We hope you come visit us again so that you can try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the Melrose for a week and had a very comfortable stay. What made the experience really stand out for me was the warmth of the staff--they were always friendly and helpful, going the extra mile to help whenever they can. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. There's a Whole Foods nearby for food and the room had a fridge so it was great to be able to buy a few drinks, fruits, and yogurt and have them around. The location is also very convenient for accessing many sites in DC. The tea and coffee in the lobby every morning was much appreciated, especially as it was so cold.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkTravelbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you, NewYorkTravelbug25, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad to hear that we could make you feel right at home at our recently reinvented hotel. We too love our convenient location in the hub of the city, near our favorite sites in DC and famed national landmarks. We hope to see you again sometime soon on your next visit to the nation's capital.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was attempting to get a room in DC on (evidently too) short notice right before a city-wide convention (damn you, ACC!). I spent literally hours calling places, and when I tried the Melrose Georgetown, LaTonya couldn't have been nicer. She talked me into booking the first night even though the next two couldn't be confirmed at that point, but she was confident enough that it would work out. It was one day at a time, but we did indeed stay all three nights (the last night at, not surprisingly, a jacked-up price, thank you Parker), and with an upgraded room.

The hotel was certainly fine - the fitness center was a little small, but nicely modern. The flavored water in the lobby always a welcome touch. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good, although the service not so nice. The desk personnel were adequately helpful in terms of recommendations. And LaTonya was, of course, a joy to deal with.The location is great - two blocks to the Metro, easy walk to Georgetown.

The only thing that was particularly problematic was the internet service - we were at the far end of the hall - which was almost unusable. Must have been the location of the router, since it was great in the lobby.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Milton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you Milton L, for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We strive to provide optimal service for our guests and we are so glad to hear we could accommodate for your stay. Our farm-to-fork dining at Jardenea promises only fresh ingredients from local purveyors. I will look into finding where the breakdown in our dining and wireless internet service happened and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Capitol.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a first rate hotel. I stay here frequently when traveling to DC.

Large, clean, tastefully-decorated rooms. Excellent breakfast. Be sure to have the different varieties of Eggs Benedict.

Near Foggy Bottom Metro station.

Great nearby restaurants.

Good for both business and pleasure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank StanRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you StanRuth, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are glad to here you enjoyed our recently reinvented hotel with glamorously chic decor that draws inspiration from the colorful surroundings of the Georgetown neighborhood. We hope you visit us again next time, when you can enjoy dinner at our farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Last year they did a big ($24 M?) facelift to modernize. My room was very nice size, good bathroom facilities and nicely decorated. But only a handful of plugs to charge devices. The front door is completely unprotected, so whenever it opens (often) cold air sweeps in. The lobby, bar and restaurant were very drafty and uncomfortably cold. The is no breakfast buffet and service is slow. They forgot a wakeup call.

This is a nice hotel with an excellent location. They need to fix it up properly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Bill60763, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel boasts a central location in the heart of Georgetown, featuring spacious guest bedrooms and art-deco inspired interiors. We are very sorry for the discomfort you experienced and appreciate the feedback so that we can better accommodate in the future.


Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Arrived around 11 pm. No one outside to assist with the luggage, although eventually the group of workers at the front desk broke up to help up to the room. Despite having a reservation for 2 beds, our room was apparently given away. They offered an "upgrade" to a suite, but one of the beds was a pullout. We attempted to order room service, which is advertised as 24 hours. When we called, the phone just rang. We called to the front desk who said the kitchen was closed. When we asked about the 24 hour services listed on the menu, they reluctantly agreed to bring some food. We attempted to order wine, but were told that room service doesn't serve alcohol, but we could go to the lobby. At the lobby bar, I was told it was closed (at 11.30?), but he reluctantly gave me two glasses to bring to the room. After about an hour wait a "chef salad" was brought that was on par with Lunchables (e.g., barely edible) and the lettuce was frozen. The ice cream did not come with the cake as per the menu. We went to put the tray in the hall and a man was sleeping in the hall. I called down to the front desk to alert them and I was told "no problem". That just about sums the attitude here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank pali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
pali1, thank you for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Nobody should experience inadequate service during their stay with us, and we apologize for the miscommunications between your room and dining services. I hope you will give Melrose Georgetown Hotel another chance with a meal on us, at our farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Best,

Jale Hashimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,487 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,688 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
344 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
231 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing