We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #36 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good option in DC”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently located between Foggy Botton metro station and Georgetown, one of the liviest neighborhoods of the city. Rooms are spacious and confortable and the service is good. I would suggest wi fi improvement once some rooms face difficult to connect.There are cafés and restaurants in walking distace, as well as supermarkts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Patricia B, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too love our prime location in the hub of the capital, merely a few miles from the Georgetown neighborhood and countless national landmarks. Our recently reinvented space extends large guest bedrooms and artfully designed interiors, making for a most comfortable stay. We hope to see you again on your next travels, Patricia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    376
    86
    26
    25
See reviews for
300
325
56
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The staffs in this hotel is very friendly and helpful. The metro is right around the corner of the hotel. So you can go to any places with the metro. The only thing I have to say is the hotel seems very beautiful and elegant but when you look at the details on the walls or tiles, it does need some touch up. Our bathroom tiles were all turning yellowish. Some of the draws and cabinet doors cannot be shut. Also, I know this is minor but they do not replenish the toiletries if there is still a small drop of shampoo in the bottle or the bar of soap is still there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTravel390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you, EnjoyTravel390, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We strive to provide optimal guest service, to help make your stay feel like home. Our convenient location in the heart of the city grants easy access to the multitude of activities and national landmarks in the nation's capital. Thank you for sharing your experience with the toiletries and we hope to improve upon this for future experiences. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Washington, D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were Impressed by the reception/bar area, the spacious modern rooms and friendly and welcoming reception staff. Complimentary wifi was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is convenient for Georgetown and downtown DC. We hope to visit Washington again and would definitely stay at The Melrose.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hackerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hackerz, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends contemporary interiors with art-deco inspired interiors and a vibrant color palette. We too enjoy our convenient location, within walking distance of countless national landmarks and exiting destinations. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the nation's capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived around midnight as our flight was delayed 8 hours. We had pre-paid for five night (not just a deposit, but the entire stay). We were very unhappy to learn they had given away our king sized bed room and only had a room with two double beds. Another couple was also trying to check in and although they had a confirmation were being told the hotel was sold out and they had no record of their reservation. Later we were told that there was new staff in training as an explanation to the check in problems. Mistakes happen and they were very generous compensating us with restaurant credit. The goof-up lead to us moving rooms after the first night so I was able to see the difference between two different rooms. Here are my observations: 1)The first room was dirty. When we walked into the first room's bathroom it had long black hair on the bathroom white tile floor. Now this could have been the cleaning person's and no big deal. However there was some short black pubic hair in the corner of the floor by the tub too which meant that whoever cleaned this room did a terrible job. I was completely grossed out. 2)The next thing was an air vent for the first room was about 5 feet by 3 feet on the ceiling above one if the beds. It cycled on and off all night, each time going through the cycle making a loud clunking sound. I slept with a pillow over my head. The second room had the same sized vent but it was in a closet so it didn't wake you up. 3)Speaking of pillows, if you don't like foam pillows you are going to be out of luck. They have very thick foam pillows that cock your head at a sure-to-give-you-a-stiff-neck-by-the-morning angle. 4)The bathroom in the first room was fine if you were a single person staying but it was too small to comfortably fit two people getting ready in the morning simultaneously. The bathroom of the the second room (and in fact the entire room) was large and spacious. 5)Many hotels have a sweeper at the bottom of the hallway doors to minimize noise. This hotel doesn't. Walking down the hall you could easily hear conversations in the rooms. And the reverse - everything happening in the hall was easily heard from inside the room. The first room we had was by the elevator so everyone leaving the floor walked by the door and made it futile to try to sleep in. The second room was at the very end of the hall so hallway noise didn't present any problem. 6)the hotel staff was extremely nice and tried to be helpful. If you stay there you should be aware you should get a map because asking the hotel staff directions wasn't very illuminating. They really didn't seem to know where things were (or at least the attractions we wanted to visit). 7)the location was great. It was about 3.5 blocks from the foggy bottom Metro stop. It was on the blue line so it allowed you to ride from the airport directly to the hotel without transferring and also from the hotel to the mall area (where the monuments and most smithsonian museums are at) without transferring so it was extremely convenient.

Overall: I would recommend this hotel and say there again. I would make sure I got the room I requested, it was clean, decently sized, and in a quiet location. And I would try to check in early enough so if there were problems they could be quickly fixed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you jmm6014, for your thorough review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. I apologize for all of the inconveniences you experienced with your stay at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our hotel staff strives to make all of our guests feel right at home, and what you experienced is unacceptable. I will look into all of the areas where there seemed to be a breakdown in your services to prevent those issues from happening a second time. We do hope you give us another chance to impress you on your next visit to Washington, D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've stayed a week a few times on business. I like this property.
Positives:
- Room size and comfort
- Not cookie-cutter
- Quality of linens
- Responsive and prompt when a few minor problem have popped up
- Good bar, albeit small. The head bar tender very nice (if the facility reads this - please tell him someone on the internet was signing his praises).
- Good gym. Small by some standards, but the equipment is in good shape, there are options, it is clean and you don't feel like you are stuck in a jail cell like some properties. Good investment.
- Like the overall design and small guest touches. The lobby area is a great place for gathering and is smartly designed to comfortably accommodate groups of people. Chilled water too.
- The staff. All well trained and make you feel at home.
- Clean.
- A few blocks from transportation.
- Refrigerator in room.
- The furniture feels high-end, but has the good utility like PLENTY of plug-ins!

Negatives:
- The bath has been redone and there has been some discoloration - perhaps mold?- in both my bathrooms
- No coffee in room (HOWEVER they provide in lobby and it is Lavazza which is better than the in-room packets).

I don't have any strong negative feelings about the facility. I've had some small issues pop up and the staff were VERY responsive to fixing them and then checked back in to make sure everything was fine. Exactly the response you want when a problem arises. Management has stopped to make sure everything is going well. Had a great breakfast. Felt one manager went above and beyond to help me print something right away. Overall, very impressed. I imagine the property has been updated recently and it was done well. Fun atmosphere.

I travel to DC often and prefer the Melrose to many other hotels I've stayed in, particularly the bigger brands.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Liz I, thank you for sharing your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. It is great to hear that Melrose Georgetown Hotel has helped shaped your positive experience visiting the nation's capital. Our recently reinvented hotel offers large social spaces and colorful, art-deco inspired decor that take inspiration from the bustling Georgetown neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Washington, D.C., when perhaps you may try a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana/Ohio/Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at the Melrose for 1 night on a business trip with my wife. Everything was top notch. Check in was simple and the nice lady behind the counter couldn't have been better. The room was fantastic, with a separate living room and bedroom. The location is great for a quick walk to Georgetown one way and the White House the other. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the nation's capitol.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdoptiveFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you AdoptiveFamily, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in our recently reinvented Melrose Georgetown Hotel, extending luxurious, spacious guest bedrooms that help guests feel right at home. Our prime location is perfect for those looking to explore all the capital has to offer. We hope to see you and your wife again on your next travels to Washington, D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was second stay at the Melrose and again, I enjoyed myself immensely. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The staff was friendly and completely agreeable. The lobby space and bar was welcoming. The location of this hotel is great, right in the heart of Georgetown, close to everything. I hope my travels take me back to DC soon so I can repeat visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingforFun46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
TravelingforFun46, we are thrilled to hear that you returned to the recently reinvented Melrose Georgetown Hotel for your stay in the Washington, DC. We too love our spacious guest bedrooms and attentive staff! Melrose Georgetown Hotel's location in the heart of DC is ideal for exploring all that the nation's capital has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next travels, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
1,409 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
1,560 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Property: Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing