We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Ranked #34 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This Hotel was impeccably maintained and absolutely spotless. The decor was modern and contemporary, but neither ugly nor gaudy. The staff was courteous and the rooms were quite neat and comfortable. The king-sized bed and its linens provided a most comfortable sleeping experience. The hotel itself is much closer to foggy bottom than it is to Georgetown. The shopping and dining of Georgetown was well within a manageable walk. In the other direction is Foggy Bottom and GW hospital. The neighborhood is a little loud because of the ambulances, but it was not too much of a concern. The Foggy Bottom Metro is about a five minute walk away. You may stroll through a tree lined neighborhood or stay on the main roads as you travel toward the metro. Either option felt safe and comfortable. If you are the kind of person who likes to stock the hotel room with treats from a grocery or convenience store, your choices are limited, so plan accordingly. Overall this hotel is in a good location if you're OK with walking. It is impeccably neat and the service is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Mark B., thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently renovated hotel extends large guest bedrooms and artfully designed interiors that make for a most memorable stay. We too love out convenient location within walking distance of the colorful Georgetown neighborhood and countless shopping, dining and entertainment. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you are in DC, when perhaps you may try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Regards,
Jale Hashimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here and we both thought the location is ideal. It is a short stroll to great dining and shopping in Georgetown, Additionally, when we were tired of walking; an inexpensive cab drive was easily obtained. This hotel has a very welcoming staff, the rooms are very clean, and the onsite dining was delicious. I am definitely booking this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDCHapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

JDCHapelHill, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We agree that our location cannot be beat, within walking distance of Georgetown and premier shopping, dining and entertainment. Our staff always strive to provide optimal customer service and we are glad to hear you enjoyed. We very much look forward to your next stay, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea.

Regards,
Jale Hashimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My boss stays in hotels 130+ nights per year. Most of those nights are spent in DC hotels. Since I have been working for him he has not been able to find a hotel that makes him feel like he is at home. A couple months ago, he decided to give the Melrose a try. Thanks to their spacious rooms, accommodating staff (especially Rooms Director, Parker Sams), and excellent coffee, my boss has found a new home away from home. In the hospitality industry, it’s the small things like excellent coffee that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg that helps win over raving fans. My boss speaks so highly about the Melrose that I’m looking for a reason to take my own stay-cation at this Georgetown gem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CafeMilanoAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your boss had such a wonderful experience at our recently reinvented, boutique hotel. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide personable, helpful guest service, and we will pass on your kind words to Parker. We do hope you will decide to take a staycation with us, and thank you again for choosing Melrose Georgetown Hotel!

Best,
Jale Hashimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Melrose/Georgetown provided us pleasant and convenient base for my University Reunion at Georgetown. Rooms were quiet, well-appointed, seemed unique and completely up-to-date. Sink area was a bit crowded with inadequate room for toiletries and towels.
We felt that it was a good value for walking or cabbing it around the parts of Washington worth strolling (Georgetown, Dupont and Washington Circles, George Washington University and Foggy Bottom). In and out Garage fee ($48./night) made it less of a value with a car. Bus service was excellent to the Smithsonian or Capital Hill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Ray S., thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad we could make for a perfect meeting place for your University Reunion at Georgetown. Our recently reinvented space extends large guest bedrooms and artfully designed interiors and we are glad you enjoyed. We do hope your reunion was a pleasant one, and we look forward to your future stays with us Ray.

Best,
Jale Hashimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I always depend on Trip Advisor for my travel destinations because the reviews are usually on point. You may have some out of character reviews but for the most part Trip Advisor has never let me down.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly valet employees and front desk staff. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of our room as well as the lobby. The beds were comfortable. I like the curtains and how much light they left out when you wanted to sleep in. Jose at the lobby bar was great! The Happy Hour the hotel offers is definitely a plus, $5.00 martini's & $5.00 apps you can't go wrong.
The location of the hotel was great. In the heart of Georgetown. There were days that we caught a cab because honestly we just needed a break from walking but you don't need a cab. The White House & The National Mall are about a 15-20 minute walk.
Our favorite places to eat while we were there were:
Breakfast-Bread and Chocolate (5 minute walk)
Lunch and Drinks-District Common
Dinner-Founding Farmers
If in DC again we would definitely stay at The Melrose Georgetown. Just FYI, Valet Parking is $48.00 a day! If there is anything I could change about The Melrose it would be that. However, our overall experience was too good to give the hotel a bad review because of high valet fees.

Room Tip: Try to find street parking if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Hicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our team here at Melrose extends personable, helpful service to make for a most memorable stay, and we are so glad that we were able to leave a lasting impression. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our 5-5-5 happy hour at Jardenea Lounge! We too love our convenient location in the heart of DC, within walking distance of premier shopping & dining. We very much look forward to your next stay with us, the next time you are in DC!

Best,
Jale Hashimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three days while visiting sites in DC and Georgetown. The room was very comfortable; the staff people all were kind and helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome without being overly solicitous. The hotel is located within walking distance to DC and Georgetown.. Next door is a nice convenience grocery, and just a few blocks away is Whole Foods. The hotel has its own restaurant , too.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was lovely, quiet, and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you, maureenbythesea, for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide optimal guest service, and we are so glad we could leave a lasting impression on you. Our prime location in the heart of DC is great for exploring all that the nation's capital has to offer. We do hope you had the chance to try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant Jardenea, and if not, we hope you will have the chance to enjoy a meal on your next stay with us the next time you are in DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Melrose is a great find. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean and quiet. The shower actually had water pressure! Conveniently located between Georgetown and a straight walk down Pennsylvania Avenue to all the sites. If you like to walk, you can get to everything, but if you prefer the Metro, Foggy Bottom is minutes away. No pool and didn't visit the fitness center. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seniye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseGeorgetown_GM, General Manager at Melrose Georgetown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Seniye, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide optimal guest service, and we are so glad we could leave a lasting impression on you! We too love our prime location in the heart of DC, within walking distance of famed landmarks and the beautiful Georgetown neighborhood. We very much look forward to your next stay with us, Seniye, and thank you again for choosing Melrose Georgetown Hotel.

Best,
Jale Hashimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,517 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Georgetown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Georgetown Hotel

Address: 2430 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Georgetown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from Georgetown and the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the Melrose offers generously sized guest rooms and suites, total wireless high speed Internet capability throughout the entire hotel. No matter what you're craving, Melrose Georgetown Hotel features one of the most unique farm-to-fork Washington, DC restaurants, Jardenea and is steps from trendy eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Georgetown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing