We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in Old Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Ranked #6 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in Old Washington DC”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this fantastic B&B that is within walking distance to almost everything to see in DC. The hosts were wonderful - sharing great stories and serving delicious, gourmet breakfasts ( the only meal needed for the day! ). The preserved Victorian home and décor was charming and our room was very comfortable - although, a comfortable sitting chair in the room would have made it excellent. Our stay in DC was way too short and we definitely will want to stay at this B&B when we return. Thanks to Don, Carl & Eric for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    53
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
114
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed last week for three nights and three wonderful breakfasts. Thank you Carl, Eric,and Don for being very gracious hosts and attending to all of our needs. We highly recommend your detailed
Bed & Breakfast as a base to see DC's monuments museums and the White House from only a mile away.
We hope to travel there again soon and will be excited to stay with you again.
Thanks again,
The Halls

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobHall02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were very happy with our stay. The B and B was well situated, with easy access to many buses, and was even within walking distance of the National Mall (approx half hour). The best part of our stay was breakfast, with yummy and original presentations! The only negative part was limited wifi access from our room which was situated on the third floor...highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1883, Owner at Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We're very grateful for the nice words. As to the Wi-Fi signal strength, as we always explain to guests, the Highland Suite is on the edge of the signal in our very large house - and that's with signal boosters. Reception is dependent on the quality of the antenna of the guest's laptop or other device. I (Don) have a home-office on the same floor and my reception is fine. If a stronger signal is needed, we advise guests they are welcome to use the writing desk conveniently located in one of the first-floor parlors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A fantastic B&B in the heart of Washington DC. The house is clean, tidy and the decor is simple and charming. The owner has taken a lot of time and care to preserve the house in its original Victorian state. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The breakfasts were superb and definitely a great start for a long day's sight-seeing. But the best part was the fascinating conversations with the well-travelled owner and his staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is, hands down, one of the best places I have ever stayed in my entire life. The carefully preserved Victorian architecture and decoration is simply beautiful, the owner and staff could not have been more welcoming, breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect. Definitely planning on coming back for a longer holiday!

Room Tip: If you are not used to city noises, ask fro a room that does not face Logan Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 12 nights. The locations was perfect, it is only a short walking distance to the convention center, to the capital bike share racks, to the bus stations. And there is a Whole Foods market close by!
Thanks to Eric, Carl for your hospitality. And not to forget your absolutely gorgeous breakfast every morning. A perfect start into a new day.
I highly recommend Chester Arthur house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights because of a basketball tournament at the Convention Center. The location was perfect for us to walk to the CC, and we were a very short walking distance from many great restaurants, shops, Whole Foods, coffee shops, and ice cream shops. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! You can come and go as you want and feel right at home! Will definitely try to stay here again. Hope to bring my family to visit sometime soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle

Property: Chester Arthur House B & B at Logan Circle
Address: 23 Logan Cir NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20005-3725
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy old-world charm with modern conveniences at our Victorian Bed and Breakfast. We are centrally located 8 blocks north of the White House at historic Logan Circle. Metro access is a 10-minute walk, or 10-minutes by bus to the Smithsonian and National Mall. Washington's Convention Center is a 10-15 minute walk. There are 4 guestrooms, each with private bath. Some rooms can accommodate extra guests. Well-behaved children welcome, and off-street parking is available. Daily maid service on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Arthur House b & b At Logan Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Chester Arthur House Bed And Breakfast At Logan Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing