We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taft Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taft Bridge Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I came to town this past week looking for apartments and needed a reasonably-priced and CLEAN place to stay. I must say that I was thoroughly impressed by pretty much everything about this place. A few points that I liked:

Breakfast: I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, so I wasn’t sure how it all worked. But, Jennifer cooked everyone breakfast right as they woke up, and it was good stuff. Like a home cooked meal. But the breakfast times are different for the weekend and weekdays, so just be aware in the morning. I forgot the first day.

Location: Kalorama district. I’m new to Washington, so I wasn’t sure about the location. Once I got here though, I could literally walk everywhere I wanted to go. Much quieter than further downtown.

Service: Jennifer was great. She gave me a tour of the place and even took the time to help me with my apartment search and give me advice. She knows all about Washington, so definitely ask her if you need help.

Bathrooms: I chose to share one, and I never had to wait. I almost thought I was the only one staying there until morning when I would see people at breakfast. Bathroom was very clean though.

I always use this site, so I thought I would pass on the knowledge of this great find.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    60
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
55
57
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This will be our little secret......I've found by far the best place to stay! I have been several times and would not consider anywhere to stay when in DC. It's easy to find, easy to get to (10 minute walk from the Red Line metro Dupont Circle). It's on a quiet street side but is only blocks from the Adams Morgans main drag and with Dupont Circle nearby there are several great restrauants and diversions to find. The owners set the standard for ensuring you have a restful enjoyable stay. It's a colonial charmer with antiques throughout. Breakfast in the morning is wonderful, I like to go just to talk to Jennifer who always makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have been staying at the Taft Bridge Inn for more than a decade and just love the place! It is a truly charming bed & breakfast that provides the kind of personal comfort that hotel chains can't even imagine. The breakfast is hardy, the house is quiet and the location within walking distance of Dupont Circle, provides you with a wide selection of restaurants, banks, and other local retailers. I go to DC for business but the Taft Bridge Inn would work for a family trip as well. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms with the shared bath are a super bargain if you want a clean room to sleep and you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinderhook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn on many occasions and I can't begin to tell you how lucky we are to have found it, thanks to our daughter who lives in the neighborhood and whom we visit frequently.
All the rooms are charming and nicely furnished. The parlor and dining room are very inviting and breakfast represents a great opportunity to chat with other guests from different parts of the world. The entire inn is impeccably CLEAN! We've never stayed in a more spotless place.
The inn is in a quiet residential area and yet within walking distance to public transportation and restaurants. Who could ask for more?
We're anxiously looking forward to our next visit.
Jacqueline

Room Tip: we prefer the rooms on the 2nd floor that are quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn many times, sometimes on business, other times for leisure. All of the rooms I've stayed in are lovely. The breakfast is truly special. If you'd like to see how it feels to live in DC, stay here. The metro is close by, as are great restaurants and shops. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Loved the Taft Bridge Inn! My 10 yr old daughter and I stayed there for 3 nights in May. It's a beautiful old home with lots of charm and character. The staff were all friendly and helpful. My daughter is gluten free so I brought our own bread which they kept in the kitchen for us and included in her breakfast each morning. The location is perfect - 1 mile walk to the zoo and about 10 minute walk to the Dupont Circle metro. Lots of fabulous restaurants within walking distance and I always felt safe walking with just the 2 of us. We'll be staying there again the next time we visit DC!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Although I could not stay with my friend in town because his flat is too small, the people at the hotel really made me feel at home in Washington. Having breakfast with other guests around the table is something I did not experience so far, and it is a very good opportunity to exchange experiences. The atmosphere is great and rooms are cosy and clean. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Adams Morgan
American Guest House
American Guest House
#7 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 36 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taft Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taft Bridge Inn

Property: Taft Bridge Inn
Address: 2007 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5051
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Taft Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taft Bridge Inn is a carefully restored, turn of the century Georgian mansion located in the heart of Washington DC. The Inn combines the charm and beauty of an earlier era with the modern conveniences of home and office at your fingertips. Located in the fashionable Kalorama District within walking distance of the Dupont Circle Metro Station and downtown Connecticut Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taft Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taft Bridge Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing