We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lack Luster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We spent a few days here recently for a family wedding. Although the wedding was nice the hotel was really lack luster. The location in general is a turn off even though it is close to the mall. The hotel is dark and the ballrooms are in a basement with no windows. Food was just so so except for room service which actually was better than the in house dining. (gritty fishy oysters, lots of bones in the fish.....)Service is hit or miss depending on who takes care of you. Our suite was dark and had a patio that faced on to ugly gravel with no view. The suite was fairly small space but had a nice bath room, however that was small too. The bellmen were great as were the room service attendants. Bartenders were terrible and it was hard to get a drink on a Saturday night. Housekeeping was definitely not up to par! We left behind 2 valuable items and realized we left them a few hours later...it was very hard to reach anyone about this and when we finally did find someone who could help us they said they had the items right there in front of them and it is not their policy to let people know if they have forgotten items (so I guess they would still be there if we didn't call) They also charged us over night delivery and the package did not arrive for 2 days. For the money you pay at this hotel there are many other places with better location, food and rooms and service. I have been to other Mandarin Orientals and loved them but this one did not have the same sensational qualities. And I am sorry to say this.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,605 - 1,611 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

I've stayed at this Mandarin twice before and thought it was spectacular. This last visit, I was less impressed. At the front desk, when I told them I was with Amex Platinum program, they didn't offer me a complimentary room upgrade. The room I got had an excellent view of the Lincoln Memorial which was lovely. The bathroom was divine, as per usual. The decor was done in beige, but it lacked the usual Mandarin specialness. It could have been a Westin. The minibar lacked white wine, which strikes me as unacceptable in a $500 a night room. The snacks were awful. Just snickers and Pringles and nuts. (W hotels have a cooler selection). The continental breakfast was really great though, particularly because they let us switch out the usual cereal for fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYtravelbird5912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We spent the weekend here. Family of 4 1 King room connecting to 2 double bed room for the kids, Tai Pan club 9th floor, water view with views of the Jefferson Memorial and the Pentagon. Beautiful hotel. Premium bedding makes for very good night's sleep. Incredible service. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Tai Pan club is fabulous with excellent food and beverage offerings. The Sou'Wester restaurant was a bit of a disappointment, but that my be because I didn't care for what I ordered, and I was expecting a buffet for "Brunch" not an a la cart menu. My husband loved his french toast and ate every bite. Can't wait to stay here again. I am now on a mission to stay at every Mandarin Oriental I can get to. Now any other hotel will pale in comparison.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel lacked all The Mandarin Oriental ambience...On arrival we saw 2 very loud women on cell phones, sitting in the lobby with bare feet on chairs..had taken their shoes off, no one said anything to them..Our suite was dark, drab, old decor, uncomfortable seating..
Everything felt like a cost cutting exercise, no luxury feel whatsoever..
We were overcharged for a limousine bill by more than $200,
We were in the U.S. for 6 weeks staying in top hotels and this was a complete disappointment...poor management in every area...We have stayed at many Mandarins around the world and could not believe this was part of the group..I wrote to the Manager but received no reply..A very expensive stay for little..We would have left but other hotels were booked out due to College Graduations..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olivia255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

If you stay here once, be warned that nothing less will do. The only issue is the trains that runs very close to the back of the hotel. Its a little out of the way from the tourist area but worth it for the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Book he Tai Pan Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emtnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Gorgeous place, great room, comfortable and clean and QUIET! I know people were on either side of us but we never heard a thing the whole 4 nights we were there. That is priceless. Porters were oh so friendly and personable. Location is in the business district so everything closes early! Potbelly sandwich shop (yum!) closes at 5:30. This is a problem when you're on the Mall or at a Museum and it closes at 4:30 or 5, there is very little time to head back to the hotel and enjoy a great meal. It just didn't happen and that, overall, was exceptionally frustrating. If we had been able to have access to any decent food places in the evenings would have given this place 5 stars. We can't afford room service for every meal. There is a CVS right there but that closes at 7pm on weeknights, 5pm on Saturdays and is closed on Sunday. No fridge in the room puts a limit on what can be purchased at CVS for later consumption.

Our last morning was a Sunday and we had hoped to just grab a bite in the restaurant. Who knew we should have made breakfast reservations? After waiting 30 minutes for a table we gave up and went back to the room, packed up and checked out. Bonus to be able to leave our bags until later in the day. We took a cab across town to Pete's Deli and had brunch there. The small coffee/pastry shop in the hotel is quaint, but service is slow, slow, slow, slow. Slow. Waited 20 minutes just to buy a banana.

Walked through the spa and checked out the pool. Just a small, two lane lap pool. Nothing my kids would ever be able to enjoy (and they are older kids too!).

Overall a very peaceful sleeping experience, but if we go to D.C. again we would stay on the White House side of the Mall where there are shops and restaurants and signs of life after 5:30pm!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CinnaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin one night for our anniversary. I went to the spa, we had dinner at City Zen and then we stayed over, despite the fact we live in downtown DC.

The hotel was lovely. They upgraded us to the Diplomatic Suite upon hearing it was our anniversary. The room was gorgeous. The staff were amazing. The executive club is a major perk.

Thumbs up, all around.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pufferino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £220 - £614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When autumn comes and the weather cools down, Washington gets down to business as it becomes more walkable and much livelier. It’s the perfect time to plan a trip with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments, and the nation’s most cherished memorials. With newly renovated guest rooms and only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Our guests enjoy short walks to the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution, and Washington Monument. Soon, guests will be able to stroll over to District Wharf—a brand new development along the waterfront featuring over 20 restaurants, an exciting concert venue called The Anthem, nightclubs with live entertainment, fun shopping, and luxury residences. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing the finest service, dining, design, and spas. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing