We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend this hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I was delighted with the professionalism, courtesy and helpfulness of the staff from the front desk to housekeeping. I had a few special requirements which I had mentioned to the reservations agent. Unlike other hotels, this one actually followed through in advance of my arrival and met all my needs. The hotel was beautiful, very clean, and well organized.
The only less than ideal condition is the arrival and departure area. It took too long for the staff to take the car to and from the valet parking lot. But this was a minor inconvenience. And, to be fair, it was a very busy time for them.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    418
    149
    85
    40
See reviews for
394
408
74
681
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I can't believe I haven't left a review for the MO DC - it is a tremendous place to stay in D.C. It is located a little distance from the other areas of D.C. in an area surrounded by government agencies and the occasional museum, an easy 10 minute walk from the mall and the Smithsonian metro station. It is in an area that can be a little empty and lonely at night - but during the day, there is a sandwich shop and a Starbucks in the immediate vicinity as well as the ubiquitous D.C. sight of a CVS store open until 10.

Mandarin Oriental really has gorgeous, luxurious rooms - ask for one with a view of the Washington Monument. Love the toiletries and the separate shower and wonderful inset bathtub - the bathrooms are some of the best parts of the hotel!

Their in-house restaurants are spendy but have good food - I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there but they are convenient and have very decent food.

The gym (and spa) on the lower level are worth visiting. The gym has complimentary (tasty!) tea and bottled water, and the spa has nice warm pools and comfortable lounge areas. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueBear92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zirconia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Everything about the hotel is 1st class, including the price. Friendly, helpful staff went overboard to make the stay memorable. Conveniently located to many walking sites and Metro. We ate outside at the Sous restaurant and the meal was exceptional, and moderately priced for such a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking title basin are quiet, spacious, and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmiller022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

In October 2012 my sister had a conference in DC so I traveled with her and my nieces to take in the sites. We had planned a three day trip, when hurricane Sandy struck. The hotel was so accommodating when we unable to get flights out and had to extend our stay on a day to day basis. Not only did they extend the group room rate, they checked in regularly with guests, provided water, a game room for both youth and adults with snacks and goodies and had Halloween treats for all the young people. The staff, especially Lynn, Nicole, Clyde and Eugene were so helpful, and created and calm and reassuring environment when it was chaotic, just outside the doors. This staff left their families and moved into the hotel to care for us during the storm. Thank you for the amazing care, service and warmth you extended to all of the worried and frazzled guests. You are all amazing individuals and we were so appreciative of how you made a challenging situation feel safe and secure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Brenda333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
328 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Good location for sights,does not come close to Mandarin Oriental standards for comfort or quality either internationally or in the US.Large "airport like" Lobby with inadequate seating and seating options.Concierges and Front Desk staff try hard but there aren't enough of them so expect to wait.Poor ingredients and uninspiring execution when it comes to food,coupled with indifferent service in bar/Tai Pan Club.Rooms clean and comfortable but mediocre in terms of fixtures,furnishings or ambience .Short Club hours and a non existent choice of beverages.Worst of all,ridiculous additional charges once you have spent $500 per night on a room(a few dollars for non-standard newspaper, wi-fi etc)

As others have said,this hotel is ok by DC standards but lacking when compared to other MOs.If you are are familiar with group's typically excellent properties,beware!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here during the first week of the cherry blossom festival through Disney Vacation Club. Overall impression is that it is a very nice hotel, but for the price per room, I was expecting a more unique experience.

The bar was set very high when we first got there. We had driven in from Ohio through a huge snow/rain storm and were probably looking rough when we rolled up in our family minivan (that's 4 adults, 3 teenagers, a toddler and a newborn!), all wearing sweats and carrying a hodgepodge of luggage, but starting with the valet and kind doorman we were treated like royalty. As my mom checked us in, we were offered tea service and hot towels... that was amazing. They had a stuffed panda companion for my 2 year old. Check in was easy and the lobby is very nice.

The rooms were sort of underwhelming... they were set up just like any old holiday inn, two beds and a TV and a desk, I don't know why but at the price point I was expecting something more Vegas-like. The bed linens were luxurious but not the nicest I've ever slept on. (perhaps I'm a little spoiled!) The bathroom is well-appointed with a nice soaking tub and shower with great water pressure and very soft water, not that sticky hotel hard water that seems to be everywhere. The best thing about the room was the extreme cleanliness. Their cleaning staff is for sure top-notch.

Two areas they could improve upon: 1.) the room amenities were very spotty. We had 2 rooms, and each had different combinations of robes, slippers, towels, etc., and neither were enough for our group. Ice and water were provided with turndown service but not consistent about how much was left for us. 2.) with their location, dining in the evening was difficult without having to drive and find somewhere to park. It would be nice to have a casual restaurant available, their restaurant seemed too upscale for our group and room service was completely unaffordable. Maybe they don't intend for this to be a "family" hotel, but we saw plenty of families and on their website they make it seem like they really cater to kids.

If you are planning to get to everything by walking, pick a downtown location instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On Sunday April 7, I was attending an event in D.C. when I became caught in the Cherry Blossom traffic jam in late afternoon. I was on a low tank of gas and no hope in sight. I took a wrong turn and wound up in the same jam. Not knowing how to navigate my way out of the city I decided to stop at the back door of the hotel (one spot left, perhaps for me). I was hoping someone could help me get to I-395. I worked my way to the lobby, observed the guests having cocktails with complimentary snacks, and became oriented to where my car was and then went to reception.

What happened after that was incredible. A kind gentleman working at reception listened to my plea for help and went far beyond what I hoped for. He went with me to the car, but on the way I remembered that there was a display of kimonos for the festival. He took me to the room with the gorgeous kimonos so I could get a firsthand glimpse of them (beautiful) ,and then we continued to the car where he wrote out directions for me to get to a gas station and then to the G.W. Parkway. All while taking a call regarding work. I could not believe how easy his directions were (yes, I had to go to VA and past Reagan Nat'l Airport, but it worked!

I believe that the Mandarin Hotel would be a wonderful place to stay if an employee would make an effort to help someone who was not a hotel guest. Just imagine how you would be treated as a guest. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is when the Nation’s Capital is most welcoming. Visitors can fill their itineraries with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, professional sports, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments and the nation’s most cherished memorials. As Washington’s only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Jefferson Memorial and the beautiful cherry tree-lined Tidal Basin. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument, and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol, and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design, and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing