We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$485
US$458
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)
US$300
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$492
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Washington Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Harrington(Washington DC)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
US$218
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$349
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
US$476
US$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JW Marriott Washington, DC(Washington DC)
US$573
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveller rating
1,302
458
169
92
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
458
169
92
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson memorialtidal basinempress loungemuze restaurantroom servicesteam roomtrain tracksturn down serviceclub levelbeautiful hotelluxury hotelcity viewnational mallpotomac riverfour seasonssmithsonian museumslobby bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,396 - 1,401 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just stayed at this beautiful hotel along the Potomac for a few nights for a conference. It is very well located, just down the street from the Smithsonian Metro station and just a little further from the L'Enfant Metro. When there is not a government shutdown, it is a great location for sight seeing. You can see the Jefferson Memorial from the hotel.

The room was very spacious, great view. The service was fantastic. They provide turndown service as well. The room service is very expensive. We spent $45 more for room service breakfast than the restaurant breakfast. Both were delicious however. The spa, water features, pool and fitness room were also great. Concierge service was very helpful, except the hotel car was never available. Price is very high if you do not get a conference rate.

Overall a five star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, the water view rooms are quiet and beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deenappio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear "Deenappio,"

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting some of the items that set us apart from other local hotels, including our location, the views from our rooms, and our proximity to several sightseeing landmarks.

We also appreciate your comments regarding areas of improvement, and have taken those as areas on how to enhance the overall guest experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company when your travels next return you to our nation's capital.

Kind regards, and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall is nice. I just spent 3 nights here and the staff was friendly although housekeeping wants to barge in your room at 7:45am every morning with 3 consecutive doorbell rings and then busts in the room. So don't forget to put the "do not disturb" sign on. There is NO movies-on-demand. So if you enjoy watching movies in bed after a long day of touring the city, or working, do NOT pick this place. The spa was great one day, then the next I was a few minutes late to my 2 session spa day and they gave my entire block of treatments away with charging me, so that sucked.
It's a good location but you must have a car or take a taxi everywhere. It's not walking distance to anything.
Overall- it was good but it wasn't great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj79Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear mj79Tx,"

It is always helpful to receive reviews from our guests, especially when they provide opportunities to provide a better guest experience.

We are especially sorry for the service concerns you have listed, and have shared them with the respective department leaders so they can address them with our colleagues.

Should your travels include DC, we do hope that you consider another stay with us in the near future.

Very kind regards and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are in Washington, DC, up to about 4x per year. Normally, we stay in the DC NW areas, at hotels, such as the Ritz-Carlton, Hay-Adams, Hilton Washington, and a few others. Often, we are in town for an event, or meeting, and then my wife heads to Capitol Hill, for meetings with Congress. Once, the SW Area was, well less than savory, but things have changed. Redevelopment is everywhere, in the area around the Mandarin Oriental. The event was in the hotel, but again, there were those meetings on Capitol Hill, that followed.

Our arrival trip indicated that much had changed in the surrounding neighborhood.

First, the property, from the arrival, is exquisite. The circular drive affords an arriving guest a beautiful view of the hotel. That is just the start.

The door-staff is very professional, and quick to get all luggage ready for delivery, after check-in. At many luxury hotels, finding the reservations desk is tough - not so at this inn. The reservations desk is right inside the door, and the staff is ready to help. Even with three largish events "in house," they were highly efficient.

Now, our stay was part of an event, but one would have thought that we were frequent, returning guests. There was no hesitation in assigning us a very nice room, though the rate (with the event) was at a discount. Some inns make one feel like an interloper, just because they are with some scheduled event, but NOT the Mandarin Oriental, DC.

Our room was spacious, well-appointed and very, very comfortable. OK, we did not have a view of the Potomac River, or the Yacht Basin, but it was a great room. We had a King Room, and there was more than adequate space. The bathroom was very good (some notes to follow), and we never felt cramped, in any way.

Though only one room, it was actually more like a "Jr. Suite."

Luggage service was excellent.

The only complaints that I can offer are:

Bathroom lighting - could be better - brighter, but we are seeing more dim lighting, due to "eco bulbs." The general room lighting was very good.

Storage drawers were a bit sparse. We could have used a few more for a five day, four night stay. The closet was very good, and only the drawers were a bit lacking.

No coffeemakers in the room, but there IS coffee downstairs, or across the circle at the Starbucks. Still, having that first cup in the room, in the early AM is nice.

The staff at the door worked very hard, to see that my wife had a cab for every meeting, off-property, even when some cabbies only wanted to take fares to airports.

The Empress Lounge is great, and right across from the reservations desk. While their bar menu is slight, their short wine list is fun, and hardly has even one of "the usual suspects." Really a nice little wine list, served by very attentive folk.

CityZen, the formal restaurant (see separate review), is great, and ranks with some of the top DC restaurants.

We often stay at luxury resorts, inns and similar properties, and are recognized by the staff, as we frequent those. Though we had never stayed at any Mandarin Oriental property before (we have dined at two in Hawai`i), I was amazed that ALL of the staff, knew our name. I am not sure how they all did that, but it made an impression. I encounter similar, at only the best, and then, only after a stay, or two. The DC Mandarin Oriental staff was on top of it, and instantly. Impressive.

Even the housekeeping staff knew our names, and greeted us constantly. Oh, the housekeeping staff was top-notch, at every turn.

While everything was not perfect (see above), it was surprisingly great!

We will be staying there in the future, and hope that the entire neighborhood redevelopment goes smoothly. Then, they will be in a perfect location, and are a great inn. They managed to make us feel like we were long-standing, returning guests, on our very first visit, and that is tough.

Room Tip: Dine at CityZen, at least one night. Spend one afternoon at the Empress Bar in the lobby.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Mr. Hunt,

We are thrilled that you opted to stay with us during your recent visit to our nation's capital. Your thorough and complimentary review is especially appreciated and does provide our colleagues with valuable feedback that their hard work and efforts are noticed and greatly appreciated.

We have also made note of your areas for improvement and have taken those into consideration as we make decisions on how to best impact the overall guest experience.

With regard to local development, you are correct that additional changes are coming to Southwest DC that will only provide additional options for our guests to enjoy, and this is something that will truly enrich the neighborhood.

We do hope you return to Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C., when your travels next include DC.

Many thanks, and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The staff at check-in were great! We arrived very early and wanted to get in our room and back out to the Smithsonians, etc. before everything closed and they let us have a nice room right away. Coffee shop is gone and I miss it. Gift shop is ok but I wish they had a better selection. The Sou Wester restaurant is nice and the staff are very attentive and made sure our meal was just prepared just as we wanted. Breakfast vegetable omelette was delicious. Dinner was delicious. Room service might have been even better than the Sou Wester, or maybe it was just the comfort of being in a nice room. The bathroom was great and the cleaning staff were very patient and accomodating to our specific requests. i wish turn-down service included a little chocolate like other luxuery hotels. Concierge was knowledgable and followed-through. Suggested Old Ebbet and Hamilton's and got us rsvp on short notice. MO is not in the center of activities but very close and with great view of Potomac. in door pool is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life_is_great_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear "life_is_great_2001,"

We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We welcome the comments from our guests, especially when they have had the opportunity to experience several facets of the hotel and enjoyed them as much as you did. We have shared your review with the colleagues so that they can see that their efforts are appreciated.

Safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

While this Mandarin Oriental is rated as a 5-star hotel, it does not live up to those standards.

A trainee was responsible for our check-in, a process that took her nearly 30 minutes. A supervisor should have been nearby. Once, we called the operator requesting some information. We were put on hold for several minutes and finally another person came on the line asking what we needed.

The food service was very disappointing. Admittedly, we were there for a conference so many guests were served at about the same time. Still, the food was often luke-warm and had obviously been prepared long before serving time.

The evening turn-down crew arrived about 5 pm, just when we were dressing for dinner, to prepare our room for sleeping. Isn't that too early?

Still, a number of staff members were very accommodating and did their best to take care of us. The hotel certainly has potential but it hasn't reached it yet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passionatetraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear "PassionateTraveler,"

Many thanks for taking the time to share comments regarding your recent stay.

We are especially sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, as the items you have listed are atypical and not the service levels we strive to offer. We have shared your comments with each respective department leaders, so that they can address the service areas that you encountered and have detailed.

We do hope that your travels return you to DC in the near future.

Kind regards, and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews