We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #14 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I've stayed at the Mandarin on many occasion for business and pleasure. Your family and guests will be impressed at your tastes. Also impressive is the entire staff from the Parking attendants who greet you by name (returning guests) thru the dining staff.

We've encounted many famous people dining among us to include Drew Carey, Morgan Freedman, and Arch Bishop Desmond Tutu.

The rooms are exquisite, even the smallest of them provides a full-size couch and lounging area.

Try an 80 minute Spa treatment. We even had room service with a complimentary DVD Movie choice.

It's true - you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, you will never stay anywhere else in D.C. Valet parking is a must. The entry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaceandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff at the Manadrin could not have been nicer or more helpful. They upgraded us to a water view. We looked out over the Jefferson Memorial. The room was quiet and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were awesome. Large bathroom with powerful shower, plus towels, robes, etc. Very expensive bar, $12 for a glass of wine! Neede to call romm service to get ice even though an ice bucket in the room. TV was on the blink but were told tvs are slowly being replaced. Very convenient location to the mall. Pot Belly Sandwich shop right outside but closes early and not open on Sunday's.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Basic a carbon copy of San Fran hotel, minimalist furniture, but an expansive bathroom and nice view of the Potomac, Very helpful concierge. A very short ride to the airport, and close to Ebbett's grill.

Room Tip: Overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Super location in DC. You can easily walk the National Mall from the Lincoln Memorial all the way to the Capital Building. The hotel is a little non-descript from the outside but once you get inside it is beautiful and in pristine condition. All the staff I interacted with were incredibly friendly and helpful. I had clean room, comfortable bed with a great view. Definitely would visit again on business or for a personal trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Jefferson Memorial and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in middle October and really enjoyed the hotel. The rooms feel like spas with spacious baths. Their is even a flat screen tv in the bath. The views are ok. Most face the parking lot. Ask for the Jefferson Memorial view

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, Jeff R.

We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and the relaxing feature of our bath tubs! Feel free to reach out to me so that I can assure the best available view when you two return from Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

So nice to receive the Mandarin Oriental style welcome, in the US. No line; warm and cheerful desk staff; quickly finished and escorted to the elevator, all of which is calming after a trip.

I forgot my razor and toothbrush, and debated whether I had time to call for them and wait for them to arrive, or if I had to go to the lobby myself, possibly look for a convenience store. It's the Mandarin Oriental, knocking on my door a bare minute after I called... Service!

Ordered grilled chicken breast (au jus) from the room service menu... Worth going back just for that!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1k_by_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review, 1k_by_June.

We are delighted to hear that our housekeeping and front office team were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Feel free to forget those bathroom items any time you stay at Mandarin Oriental! We look forward to seeing you again and serving you dinner in the comfort of your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I thought I might be over looking the Capitol or Jefferson memorial, but this is what I see from my Deluxe City View Room. I also expected in room coffee, tea, refrigerator and microwave for the amount being charged, but I only have an honor bar and ice bucket. I guess the welcome an service at the front desk set my expectations too high for the sleeping room I was assigned.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, M N.

My apologies for your dissapointment in your view. We do have all of these additional items available upon request and can have them set in your room before arrival. Please feel free to send me a message and I can be sure your next visit has these items ready for you! I can also notate your view preference so that you can see more of DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £220 - £614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When autumn comes and the weather cools down, Washington gets down to business as it becomes more walkable and much livelier. It’s the perfect time to plan a trip with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments, and the nation’s most cherished memorials. With newly renovated guest rooms and only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Our guests enjoy short walks to the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution, and Washington Monument. Soon, guests will be able to stroll over to District Wharf—a brand new development along the waterfront featuring over 20 restaurants, an exciting concert venue called The Anthem, nightclubs with live entertainment, fun shopping, and luxury residences. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing the finest service, dining, design, and spas. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing