We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Our family stayed at the Mandarin Oriental over the Thanksgiving holiday. As we booked through American Express Platinum, we were upgraded to a waterview view room, with a view of the Jefferson Memorial. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we grabbed a bite of lunch at the MoZu cafe, which has a great view of the marina. The lobster club sandwich was very good, although the soft drinks were small and expensive. I would recommend that the hotel do away with the little soda bottles.

The room was outfitted with two double beds. Two queen beds would have been better. The beds were adequate, with soft duvets. The TV was a standard TV, not the flat screen that you usually see in most five star hotels now. The bathroom was great, all marble, with a separate soaking tub and shower. Good vanity space and a nice makeup light made the bathroom top-quality.

The spa at the MO was four if not five star. Spa use is free, which is much appreciated. There is a large "vitality pool" (hot spa), an amethyst steam room, and a special themed shower. The workout facilities were great, and the lap pool was nice. My only complaint was that both the hot spa and pool were a bit too cold, and water was not available on one visit.

There are two restaurants and one bar at the hotel. The bar is outstanding. Although drinks are expensive as they are at most five star hotels these days, you are presented with a huge bowl full of olives and nuts to enjoy with your drink. Drinks were very well made to boot. Therefore, you really felt like you were getting your money's worth at the bar.

City Zen is a smaller, top-of-the-line restaurant catering to the prix fixe crowd. We had drinks and cheese at the bar when the lobby bar was booked for a party. Cafe MoZu has an awesome breakfast ($20 per person credit if you book through AMEX), but dinner was just OK. I had black cod for dinner, which tasted a little less than perfectly fresh.

We really liked the location of the Mandarin Oriental. It is just a five or ten minute walk to the museums. It is especially close to the Holocaust Museum. There also is a Starbucks across the street, which is nice.

Staff at the hotel were exceptionally nice. Service there is just flawless.

Overall, we would stay at the Mandarin Oriental again next time we are in Washington, DC.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Expensive Soft Drinks
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OurLakeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    424
    151
    87
    40
See reviews for
404
416
74
697
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights - the room was very spacious with a nice view of the Jefferson Memorial. As typifies this level of luxury spacious bathroom offerred separate shower with nice Gilbert and Soames Amenities.
There is a beautiful Spa in the Hotel although treatements are a bit pricey . Internet is offerred at a reasonable $15.00 for 24 hours while Valet parking is a steeper $38.00 per night plus tax.
The Hotels location favours those who want to walk to the sights along the Mall in DC.
While there is a starbucks near the hotel there is little else in the way of restaurants in walking distance.

All the employees were very freindly and overall a very enjoyable stay in the Nations Capital.

  • Liked — Fantastically comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Parking Price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

The Mandarin Oriental has excellent service from the minute you arrive, to when you get to your room. As an 18-year old, I have grown to expect a certain level of discrimination especially in five-star hotels. This hotel, not only treated me like a king, but learned my habits, and favored my requests. Their rates are affordable, and I highly recommend the Tai Pan Club, which provides private eloquence, and a great place to smoke cigars on the balcony (ask the attendees at the club to move the chairs outside). The rooms have always been clean and well stocked, and when I forgot deodorant it was delivered promptly.

The Spa at the Mandarin is excellent, although I feel it is obnoxiously overpriced. At $250 without tip for a deep tissue massage, and no cancellation (I made my reservation 3 months prior, turns out a meeting I was attending conflicted, could not move, had to pay $250 to get a massage I did not have.

I highly recommend the Mandarin Oriental, and if you had one choice for your stay in D.C. I strongly recommend the Mandarin Oriental. Just be careful of the Spa.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Spa Cancellation
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank coold8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Hotel was very nice but there was a fair sized black dead bug in the bathtub when we arrived. There was a separate shower stall so we didn't use the tub but even though the maid changed the towels draped over the tub she failed to see the bug during our entire 4 day stay.

Valet parking was $38 a night plus $5+ tax - totally ridiculous

  • Liked — Proximity to attractions
  • Disliked — Ridiculous Prices
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank photog321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Staying at this hotel was really a treat for me. I was on government per diem, and I could imagine that if I paid higher rates I wouldn't be happy, but it's really the best place I've ever stayed on the government dime. The pool and workout rooms are fantastic. I had a beautiful view of the Washington Monument. The bathroom was incredibly spacious with separate tub and shower.
I had a friend visit and when she left in a rainstorm the concierge gave her an umbrella even though she was not a guest. That's great service.

  • Liked — Pool and workout room
  • Disliked — Location is a bit removed from most of the city
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My cousin's wedding was at the Mandarin Oriental in mid August and he had reserved rooms at a special rate for his guests ($230 per night, which was the same rate you could have gotten on Mandarin's website for their least expensive room). I was debating whether or not to stay at the L'Enfante Plaza Hotel a few blocks away as it was half the price, but the reviews seemed awful. Furthermore, I was hesitant to book at the Mandarin as the reviews were not what one would expect for a 5-star hotel. However, for convenience's sake, I opted to go with the Mandarin and was very pleased with my decision.

The one thing I noticed immediately was how friendly the staff was, from the doormen to the bellhops to the concierge at the front desk. The one thing that I found annoying about the staff was that, for many of them, their command of the English language was elementary at best. If they were Spanish speaking, I could get by, but they were mostly new immigrants from Ethiopia who had difficulty understanding my requests the first time, so I had to repeat myself several times. However, they made up for it with their warm smiles and courteous attitude. The service from the staff was second to none, which one doesn't normally get at the larger commercial hotels.

The hotel itself was immaculate and the rooms were quite large. Bear in mind that we were most likely staying in the least desirable rooms, as that is what hotels generally warehouse for wedding or convention guests, and still, the room was fantastic. The bathroom was huge and the shower, which was glass enclosed, had ridiculously good water pressure.

I wasn't in town for sightseeing, so I can't really comment on the "location" aspect of the hotel. However, we did go for a nice leisurely stroll to the Jefferson Memorial, which is less than a ten minute walk from the hotel. I noticed that the hotel is within walking distance (15 minutes or less) to many musuems and other tourist destinations.

  • Liked — The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.
  • Disliked — The cost.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MashBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin for business for 3 days. We did not pay for it, but I know that it was very pricey. I don't know that we would go out of our way to stay here again because it was very expensive. Having said that, it was incredibly nice. We were especially impressed with the quality of customer service all the way from the bellboys to the concierge. They always made us feel very regal and special.

Our rooms were very comfortable. We had a corner room that had a nice amount of space in it. I found it strange that at this price range they had mediocre TVs. Also odd, the room did come with a coffee pot. This is something I thought most all hotels offered. Another inconvience (depends on how you look at it) was that they did not ice on the floors. You had to call down for it.

The location of the hotel is phenomenal. You are on the waterfront and also very conveniently located to a metro station which allows you to get anywhere you need to go. You can also get to the heart of DC for about 6.00 cab ride or walk 15 minutes to the mall area with the Smithsonians and Washington Monument. All very convenient from here

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsgaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is when the Nation’s Capital is most welcoming. Visitors can fill their itineraries with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, professional sports, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments and the nation’s most cherished memorials. As Washington’s only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Jefferson Memorial and the beautiful cherry tree-lined Tidal Basin. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument, and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol, and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design, and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing