We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management is really relaxed here and it shows.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach Gardens
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Management is really relaxed here and it shows.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a disappointing stay,my family and I were in DC for 5 nights. I first have to say the bellman and valet were always courteous and helpful. The Muse restaurant staff always greeted us with a warm smile and wonderful service. I hate to report bad service, but you can stay at much better places in DC. I have stayed at much finer Mandarin Oriental Hotels, this one is just getting by. We hired a car service through the hotel one night to pick us up from a restaurant and take us to the Pentagon to see the 9/11 Memorial, Iwo Jima Memorial and Lincoln Memorial. The driver showed up and started driving erratically and we started to question if we were in deed head to Iwo Jima because we could now see it, but were far away. He almost went on a one way on the highway cars honking and the long and short is he couldn't find any of these Memorials and he was impaired. My brother in law asked him to try for the Pentagon and after three attempts and us coaching him we made it and we all had to take a deep breath. I called the hotel and asked to speak to the manager, she was busy, I said I would wait on the phone. I waited a long time and I explained the situation, she did not offer to send another car to retrieve us and finish our trip. We had to just bag the night and have the impaired driver take us back and it was a stressful ride. Alexis, the manager, never called or emailed during our five night stay to apologize for the stressful night we all had. The next night we hired the CAREY car service on our own and they were professional and spot on. And we were also given one rate on their "best rate promise" and at the end of the stay a much higher rate was on our bill, once again wanted to speak to Alexis and once again she was not available. Have not heard from her. We had two suites for five nights and were also guaranteed the mall side, that did not happen. And a welcome gift was suppose to be in each room with our package, that never happened.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Holly894,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. and I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience dining at Muze as well as with our bellman and valet colleagues.

We sincerely regret the issues pertaining to the car service and please accept my personal apology for any inconvenience. Management is currently looking into the issue to ensure resolution but please note this is an isolated incident and does not reflect our commitment in providing guests with the highest quality of service.

It is my understanding our Director of Front Office Operations has been in contact with you to discuss these issues. Again, I apologize for the negative impression and we remain committed to finding a resolution in hopes of regaining your confidence.

Sincerely,
Adriaan Radder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    427
    151
    87
    40
See reviews for
415
425
74
704
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

High points
This hotel has an amazing lobby bar where you can enjoy drinks and food in great seating areas. Nice piano bar in the evenings. Fresh flowers are abundant and exquisite.
Low points
Pricey, and at these price points expect impeccable service and it is sometimes spotty.
Also hope for the return of the chocolate martini!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, MS
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is very accomodating for business and pleasure. The meeting rooms and catering service were perfect for the conference I attended. Driving straight to the hotel the first time was a bit tricky, but that's expected in downtown DC. I would recommend looking at a map and figuring it out the old fashioned way rather than having GPS talk you through it. We easily walked from the hotel to the Washington Memorial and Smithsonian. We actually also walked to Fords Theatre, the WW II Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, and the Jefferson Memorial as well as L'Enfant metro station, but we are regular exercisers and the weather was in the mid 70s. We used the gym and it was not large, but had everything in it we needed including towels, water and earphones. The valet staff was very accomodating and helpful and allowed us to park our 10' tall RV on the ramp going down to the parking garage. (it was too tall for the garage itself) We enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the Washington Monument from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lori S,

I am delighted to receive your kind praises towards Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C. which will certainly motivate our colleagues in our mission to delight and satisfy our guests.

I am also happy to hear you intend on visiting again. On behalf of our team, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Adriaan Radder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We did a "stay-cation" in our hometown of DC for a weekend and it was wonderful!
The top tier restaurant in the hotel - Cityzen is NOT to be missed - even if not staying at the hotel.
The lobby bar is fun! The hotel is beautifully appointed and the rooms are large and charming.
They also have great views.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear HillTraveller,

It is wonderful to hear you were able to enjoy a “stay-cation” and elected to spend it with us. Thank you for sharing your positive sentiments pertaining to your stay in particular, your experience at our fine-dining restaurant, CityZen.

You would also be pleased to know that we are celebrating CityZen’s 10th anniversary this year and will be offering a special menu launching soon. We look forward to providing additional details shortly.

Once again, thank you for your high recommendation of our hotel and we certainly look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,
Adriaan Radder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful hotel that treats all guests like royalty. I was given a free upgrade to a room with a view by calling the day of my check-in. They did not have to do that, but it went above and beyond, allowing my stay to be way better than expected.
My only complaint was due to the young teenage girls hanging around the hotel all day and night- waiting for a popular boy band that was rumored to be staying at the hotel. They did a good job of keeping them across the street and away from the entrance. However, many of the teenagers were in the lobby, the elevators, and running around the hotel.

Room Tip: Even though I had a room at the end of the hallway (5th floor- looking out towards Pentagon) there s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmclachlan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times and every time its has amazing. The staff is wonderful and they are so nice and helpful . The rooms are beautiful and theirs a TV in the bathroom on the club floor! its in a great location right by the mall you can walk to it . This is a great hotel and it's 1st class I wanna live their.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful. Centrally located if you want to be near the Mall. The rooms are clean and beautiful. The gym is very modern with very new equipment. The service is always perfect. When i was there the African Summit was also taking place at the hotel and even with the massive volume of VIPs entering and exiting the hotel, the staff was attentive to everyone and took care of things seamlessly.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel if you are going to DC for business or personal travel and if you want to be close to the Mall, museums, Capitol, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,253 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is when the Nation’s Capital is most welcoming. Visitors can fill their itineraries with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, professional sports, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments and the nation’s most cherished memorials. As Washington’s only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Jefferson Memorial and the beautiful cherry tree-lined Tidal Basin. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument, and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol, and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design, and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing