We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Go out of your Way”
Review of U Street

U Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Walking Food Tour Of The Historic U Street and Shaw Neighborhoods
Ranked #146 of 432 things to do in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The U Street Corridor is home to some of DC's iconic foods. Ben's Chili Bowl, home of the half-smoke, is there plus an area referred to by some as "Little Ethiopia" due to the large number of Ethiopian restaurants.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Don't Go out of your Way”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I didn't rate this highly because visitors to Washington with limited time can find more interesting places to spend their time. This corridor is probably past "up-and-coming".

Helpful?
3 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

It is really cool place with many different restaurants and places to hang out! I was a little bit disappointed because some of the places close very early...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A popular DC spot”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

To me the attractions are some of the stores, but mainly Ben's Chili Bowl. It's surely worth one visit while you're in DC.
And it sure helps that the metro station is right across the street.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
425 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Up and coming area”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The U Street corridor once suffered all the ills of an aging inner city area -- boarded up storefronts, litter, a general sad neglected look. But today's U Street is filled with cool shops, unique restaurants and wine bars, and increasingly more places to live and shop for regular stuff like groceries and home furnishings. The area offers a mix of 1800s era townhomes with lots of Victorian architectural features, early 1900s era Art Deco style apartment buildings, and several steel and glass modern dwellings with a few obscure but fascinating embassy buildings. Noted for such iconic places as Ben's Chili Bowl and the recently refurbished Howard Theater, the U is also home to night clubs and a lively night scene. But it's equally attractive during the day. I like to visit to take pictures of the great variety of architectural styles, learn about its history, visit the local farmers market, and of course, have lunch at one of the many unique eateries and poke around in the shops. My favorites: Bars and eateries: Taboq and Oya. Stores: Room and Board and Design within Reach. The area is easily accessible by Metro. There are lots of parking garages around and usually on weekends you can find street parking without too much trouble.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sailingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice area for shopping but loud in the evenings.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I'm not a big partier but I love U Street for vintage shopping--some great places for lunch, as well as salons and antique furniture.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank eerrickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Street also viewed

 

Been to U Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing