We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laughed so much my face hurts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shear Madness

Shear Madness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Laughed so much my face hurts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I saw this with my girlfriend and my two teenage daughters, we all loved it. Extremely entertaining. The audience interaction is great. Go into the theater 10 minutes or so early because the show actually has an informal beginning. Pay attention to detail because you might be able to solve the crime. The Kennedy center views are an added bonus.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank dngtig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearMadness, Public Relations Manager at Shear Madness, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
So glad you were able to join us! Come back anytime and get a new killer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sheer enjoyment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

New to town, can't get tickets to major performance...this might fill the bill!
In the Kennedy Center (penthouse). Pedestrian café available. Avail yourself of the docent led tour!!! Parking available (pricey) but accessible by subway. Play is lighthearted foolishness...has slapstick sexuality. OK for your mother-in-law and your kids but maybe not your self-righteous friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronniejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearMadness, Public Relations Manager at Shear Madness, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank so much for coming to the show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Shear Madness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Go see it at the Kennedy Center. Campy murder mystery set in Georgetown. The "who done it" changes with each performance. I actually saw this in Spring of 2001, but TA won't let me change date.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank psalmofdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearMadness, Public Relations Manager at Shear Madness, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Lot's has changed since the 2001 production, so come back and see us again and maybe get a different killer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is an ever changing show so you can go more than once. Fun for a group of friends, family outing or a couple. Anyone who like interactive who-done-it theater will find an enjoyable evening.
Funny and fast paced. Enjoy the beautiful Kennedy Center before or after!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgirl1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearMadness, Public Relations Manager at Shear Madness, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for coming to the show! Please come back anytime and see a different ending!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hilarious and rip-roaring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I found a long running play called Shear Madness while researching what to do in DC for the evening. I bought tickets in advance for the family. The Kennedy Center provides a complimentary shuttle bus from the Foggy Bottom Metro station. Look for the red bus, which comes approx. every 15 minutes.

The 1st act is hysterical with fantastic one liners, (cannot give out the details of the play) and during intermission, one of the players interacted with the audience when we were outside on the Terrace. The 2nd is directed by the audience, again, I cannot give the particulars. The play will well worth the money – highly recommended !

We met local people whom have seen the played many times. After watching the play, I can understand why one would return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShearMadness, Public Relations Manager at Shear Madness, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed the show! Please come back anytime, as you know it will be different ending every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shear Madness also viewed

 

Been to Shear Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing