We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Apartment in DC”
other travellers have booked this property
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Living Room in the Garden Suite Slate Steps to Garden Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Living Room in the Garden Suite
Slate Steps to Garden Suite
Kitchen & Dining Area
First Bedroom
Dresser in First Bedroom
Bathroom w/pedestal sink
Shower w/blue-tiled wall
Second Bedroom
The Front Garden
Rear Garden/Outdoor Dining
U.S. Capitol is 7 blocks down Pennsylvania Avenue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SMS511
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in DC”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Highly recommended. The apartment has plenty of room and everything we needed. Best of all, it was located on a quiet street that was only steps from the metro, bus lines and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking could be tricky in that area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmmurrayt...
Gray, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was an awesome place!! It was so close to a variety of great restaurants and the metro. We loved, loved, loved the shower!! The A/C and parking was the pits but overall a great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The A/C didn't work real well.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
We are sorry to only learn now that the A/C system did not meet our guest's expectations. This is a new system and may prove too complicated for some of our guests to understand, however, we are only minutes away and would have responded immediately had we been made aware of the situation. As anyone can see from all prior reviews submitted by our guests, we are very responsive to our guest's needs and wants and would have immediately made any necessary adjustments to the A/C system to ensure this guest's comfort.

Regarding the parking situation; due to the fact that this is an extremely popular location for the reasons offered by the reviewer, we have no control over the parking situation. Unlike other hospitality houses however, we do provide FREE parking passes to our guests; although most seem to rely on the Metro subway, which is less than a two minute stroll from your suite. Being so close to the U.S. Capitol campus, the historic Eastern Market and the Metro subway, as well as all the variety of restaurants and boutique shops surrounding your suite, we are located in an extremely popular part of Washington, D.C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseK29...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location to stay”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A 25 minute easy walk (even with luggage) from Union Station to the apartment. A lovely welcome was received .. Lights on, heating on. Well equipped kitchen,dishwasher, and washing machine,dryer, added to the pleasures. A visit to Union Markets a must, with many coffee shops near by. Eating places, pubs around the corner. Very close to Capitol Hill. Would highly recommend this accommodation. The "owner" Kirk, provided Washington related info, and was prompt at replying to emails.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark L
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Elegant accommodation!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a wonderfully elegant apartment. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners, Kirk and Lisa were excellent hosts and provided quite a lot of information about the surrounds of Washington as well as Eastern Markets. This is five star accommodation and a great price.
Eastern Markets is also a great location with loads of excellent restaurants and cafe's to choose from and very close to the Metro. A memorable stay for our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the high quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Couldn't improve on what was offered
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pggarton
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect D.C. accommodations for our long weekend”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

On a lovely old, tree-lined street, this newly redone garden level apt. was our choice for our 4 night/3 day trip last Nov. for our granddaughter's 13th birthday trip. It was ideal for the three of us - so handsomely furnished and appointed, with a terrific new bathroom and wonderful kitchen, plus nice living area. The bedrooms were comfortable & quiet, the beds great. Just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of several interesting restaurants - of which we tried two, as recommended by Kirk Beatley, the owner. It was a great location for seeing the sights, whether by foot or public transportation or cab. Kirk took extraordinarily good care of us, which just made our stay all the better. A very definite thumbs-up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing