We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Living Room in the Garden Suite Slate Steps to Garden Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, Garden Suite
Living Room in the Garden Suite
Slate Steps to Garden Suite
Kitchen & Dining Area
First Bedroom
Dresser in First Bedroom
Bathroom w/pedestal sink
Shower w/blue-tiled wall
Second Bedroom
The Front Garden
Rear Garden/Outdoor Dining
U.S. Capitol is 7 blocks down Pennsylvania Avenue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dired30
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location for everything DC. All meals around the corner at the eastern market! Metro almost right across the street which can connect you to nearly anywhere you'd like to go. On our last couple days we braved all the way to Arlington and took the Metro back to Reagan Intl.
Good thing, there was a 2 hour traffic problem on a Monday morning.
Apartment is very clean and perfect for 3 people, we took our 13 year old grandson, (nice kitchen for cooking if you are so inclined.) It was Great that he could go to his own room for a little privacy when he wanted.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, nice and communicative owner, cozy apartment! You can walk most anywhere (Nats' stadium especially). Tons of places to eat a block over (we all suggest Medium Rare). Over all a fantastic stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0GCH0PPE...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good location for access, locality questionable”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed as 2 couples to do the sights of Washington. Access to the Metro system and hence Washington was easy and cheap. The basement apartment has 2 bedrooms sharing a single shower room. The kitchen area was well appointed and there is a comfortable seating area with large TV. Both bedrooms are quite small with limited facilities. Access to the rear garden is through one of the bedrooms, beware the drainhole immediately outside the door, covered by a mat! The garden area is not maintained to a suitable standard.
We didn't use the free parking permit available but could see that parking in the whole area could be an issue.
Even as a group of four and in daylight, some of the surrounding area felt intimidating (homeless, panhandlers/beggars amongst others), but there's a wide range of eateries nearby and on every day except Monday you can buy fresh produce from the Eastern Markets building and on Sunday's there's a large street market outside the building as well.
We had an issue with some equipment which Kirk responded to and resolved immediately. He is also a good source of local information and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so easy to get to the Metro
Liked least: The rear garden
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Unfortunately, no matter how much one tries one cannot please everybody. As advertised, your suite provides two private bedrooms and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. Please feel free to see photos on our website. Your bedrooms are furnished w/large beds, bureau/mirror, bedside table w/lamp and I-pod alarm clock, and wall prints to liven up your room. Because we provide a 46 in. flat-screen HD television in your living room, we do not also provide televisions in your bedrooms.

The access to the rear flagstone patio and garden passes over a covered drain to prevent rainwater from entering your suite, and is covered w/a doormat so guests can wipe their shoes before re-entering your suite.

A few of our guests do not understand that Eastern Market Suites is located in the middle of the Historic Capitol Hill residential neighborhood, in the middle of Washington, D.C., six blocks from the United States Capitol & Congress, and in the midst of an extremely popular tourist area; surrounded by nearly five dozen very desirable restaurants and the Metro. Naturally, parking can occasionally be troublesome, but one only need to drive to the next block to find a space.

People who are not familiar with "city living" may find the wide variety of personalities they might encounter uncomfortable, from Members of Congress & Supreme Court Justices to poor & homeless persons. If one is not familiar or comfortable with "city life," they may not be comfortable at our suites.

We strive to accommodate the needs and desires of all of our guests, but unfortunately some guests have different expectations than others and we cannot anticipate every guest's wants or needs. We do respond as soon as possible to any issues which may arise during your stay, and will continue to do so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womblesof...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
7
people found this review helpful

The location is excellent. On your doorstep is a charming local community with shops and restaurants, metro and bus stop. Just two blocks away was the Marines Barracks where we went for a concert in their parade ground on Friday night. In the opposite direction is a great indoor food market. Going downtown, If you don't want to take the quick Metro, The Capitol is just a 15 minute walk.
The apartment itself is great with pleanty of space. It is clean, modern and well equipped.
We thought the air conditioning was great. It was very quiet and the space was always cool and fresh. We had just arrived from a week in a new five star hotel in NYC where the AC was so noisy, so this was bliss.
We also found the car parking very easy. We found a space right outside the door when we arrived at 11pm. We only used the car once after that but when we did there was another space right outside. The owner had left a permit inside for our arrival.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMS511
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in DC”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Highly recommended. The apartment has plenty of room and everything we needed. Best of all, it was located on a quiet street that was only steps from the metro, bus lines and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking could be tricky in that area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmmurrayt...
Gray, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was an awesome place!! It was so close to a variety of great restaurants and the metro. We loved, loved, loved the shower!! The A/C and parking was the pits but overall a great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The A/C didn't work real well.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
We are sorry to only learn now that the A/C system did not meet our guest's expectations. This is a new system and may prove too complicated for some of our guests to understand, however, we are only minutes away and would have responded immediately had we been made aware of the situation. As anyone can see from all prior reviews submitted by our guests, we are very responsive to our guest's needs and wants and would have immediately made any necessary adjustments to the A/C system to ensure this guest's comfort.

Regarding the parking situation; due to the fact that this is an extremely popular location for the reasons offered by the reviewer, we have no control over the parking situation. Unlike other hospitality houses however, we do provide FREE parking passes to our guests; although most seem to rely on the Metro subway, which is less than a two minute stroll from your suite. Being so close to the U.S. Capitol campus, the historic Eastern Market and the Metro subway, as well as all the variety of restaurants and boutique shops surrounding your suite, we are located in an extremely popular part of Washington, D.C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseK29...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location to stay”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A 25 minute easy walk (even with luggage) from Union Station to the apartment. A lovely welcome was received .. Lights on, heating on. Well equipped kitchen,dishwasher, and washing machine,dryer, added to the pleasures. A visit to Union Markets a must, with many coffee shops near by. Eating places, pubs around the corner. Very close to Capitol Hill. Would highly recommend this accommodation. The "owner" Kirk, provided Washington related info, and was prompt at replying to emails.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing