We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base when exploring DC”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KarenLR
Berkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great base when exploring DC”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved this apartment for its location, the fact that it was very well equipped, beds were comfortable, plenty of good quality linens and towels, etc. It is in Adam's Morgan which is a trendy area, with some excellent bars and restaurants and is close to Metro stations, bus stop immediately outside and is in walking distance of the sights of DC. The only thing that we found difficult was that, being a basement apartment, it felt a bit gloomy. This wasn't helped by the wet weather that we had when we were there! We are very likely to rent this apartment again and hope that we experience better weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, well equipped. Had absolutely everything needed
Liked least: Darkness, but weather was poor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S
Bryan, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good base for visiting DC”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, son, daughter-in-law, granddaughter, & I spent a week in 1818 Calvert, NW, Washington, DC. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The facility is reasonably priced, located in a safe area adjacent to many and a large variety of restaurants. The facility was well furnished, and we had easy access to grocery stores, pharmacies, etc. We visited the DC monuments, Smithsonian Museums, Mt. Vernon, The Capital, Arlington, etc. We used a mix of bus/subway, taxi’s, and driving and found it simple to get around, albeit you have to deal with DC/VA traffic around several. The L2 bus goes directly from just across the street to the Woodley Park Redline Metro station and returns directly – that was my 8-yr old granddaughter’s favorite method of travel. We took a taxi if our destination was not close to a Metro station because of some mobility issues in our group, and it was no problem to get a cab just outside the apartment. The facility is a basement apartment, but we knew that when we rented it, and it was not an issue. The owner was friendly and helpful for all issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin131
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After reading positive online reviews, I was disappointed in this rental. While the owner, Allen was very nice and accommodating the rental was dark and not as clean as you would expect considering the $100 cleaning fee.

You go down narrow concrete steps to a door that has been kicked in and poorly patched repaired. When I complained to Allen, he said it was a very safe neighborhood, so why did most of the buildings have bars on the windows? The three windows did not open and the light shafts(?) off the bedrooms were dark and filthy.

The kitchen had old worn Teflon frying pans without lids. No storage container or even plastic wrap or baggies. No measuring cups or spons.The condiments were most likely left by previous renters, many old and dated. The mustard had an expiration date of 2011. There were no paper plates and the only napkins were left in a drawer with take out packets. There were paper towels, but not even a box of tissues.The coffee maker was old and filthy. The toaster was full of crumbs. There were fingerprints on the IKEA cabinets.

I think they just had it fumigated as it smelled and we found bugs in various stages of dying. The rental upstairs accommodates up to 12 people so we constantly heard people, walking, kids running and floors squeaking which resulted in very little sleep.

While it is close to stores and restaurants, it took anywhere from 1/2 hour to 2 hours to get downtown by bus and we wished we had stayed closer to downtown. It was right on the bus line which ran frequently except a few hours at night and contributed to the noise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Two bedrooma and a kitchen
Liked least: Noise and lack of overall cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
I honestly do not know how to respond to this review from Robyn.
We have had many guests who stayed before her and so far 3 families who stayed after her and none of them has had such an experience.
It seems to me that she wasn't really vacationing here in DC and I feel sad about it and to be honest I don't think it was the apartment.
Please read the reviews and if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing