We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rebound”

Hamilton's Bar & Grill
Ranked #258 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Rebound”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had a great display of turning a bad experience into a memorable evening. Snotty hostess dissed us as we were early and sent us to bar to wait for remainder of party. she the seats them and tells neither the other was there. But Dan the great bartender, John the great manager and Michael our great waiter set everything right. Great food, comped a round of drinks and superlative service. Hard to do in a big place, but other than snotty hostess a great evening.
We own a service business and this was the greatest rebound ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomRinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    60
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The food was delicious. Everything I tasted was incredibly flavorful Clearly they use high quality ingredients and put a lot of care into their creations.

I liked that they had a wide selection and included unusual offerings such as octopus ceviche, alongside more common dishes such as eggplant parmesan.

The building is beautiful, with high wooden ceilings; though this contributed to the one drawback: it was so loud that it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Expensive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I ate at this restaurant twice. The meals are served hot, the staff is friendly and professional, and the price was reasonable considering that one is in DC. Will return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hcinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, OR
Level Contributor
190 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Would never go back”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The food was so so, burgers came prepared as we ordered. However, the server smelled like an ashtray, my cup of water smelled like a soda/beer can return depot, and the restroom was atrocious. We simply chose it due to close location to Capitol and high reviews.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred_n_Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Interesting lunch location. Nothing special but a good lunch
Price about average. Service was very good. First trip to DC in years - cab driver recommended this place for lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Hamilton's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing