We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rye Bar: Posh & Pricey ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rye Bar: Posh & Pricey ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Overall, the Rye Bar is a nice spot. The service, unfortunately, doesn't match the style. Bar service (for cocktails priced at almost $20 each) moved at a glacial pace. The nibbles we ordered were slower still. (Is there a pace slower than glacial?) We ordered tempura shrimp almost as soon as we sat down. It hadn't arrived by the time we finished our cocktails (almost an hour later). When we complained to the server, she explained that the restaurant's fryer is small and often overwhelmed. Sounds to me like an issue for the Capella, not its guests, right?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cedevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Greetings Cedevine,

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your most recent experience at the Rye Bar. It is extremely unfortunate that our service and execution fell short and I agree with you that this is not the reliable, timely service that we wish to create for our guests. I can assure you that we are taking these service defects seriously and with urgency in effort to improve your experience and overall satisfaction. We respect your personal time and only wish that you can give us another chance to prove our professionalism and unique offerings at the Rye Bar and Capella Washington, D.C. If you can please e-mail us at info.dc@capellahotels.com, I would like to speak with you directly and invite you back in the near future. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    29
    13
    9
    8
See reviews for
79
132
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited Rye Bar for my daughter's birthday last week and our experience was excellent. Very nice and lovely place, excellent cocktails and a impeccable service. We had a wonderful start to the birthday evening and were all agreed that our selection was the right one.

Next year, we will start from Rye Bar again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiziltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came here to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't have been happier. From the moment, we arrived until the moment we left, we were met with unparalleled service and the utmost courtesy and professionalism. The valets and doormen never failed to open the door, bring our car out promptly and give us accurate directions. Our personal concierge upgraded us in celebration of our special day and we were even given special turn down service complete with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and rose petals! At one point, we had to get a shirt pressed. Housekeeping arrived promptly and had the item pressed and hanging in our closet by the time we came back from dinner.

Aside from the stellar service, the room itself was beautiful and well equipped. I've been in bigger hotel rooms but what Cappella lacked in size, it made up for in everything else. It had an expresso maker, a fridge with complimentary soda and water, plush bathrobes and slippers, multiple channels on the television and a large beautiful bathroom with double sinks, a separate bathtub and a shower with multiple outputs. The suite overlooked the street but it was never loud. In fact, the hotel was so quiet, we felt as if we had it all to ourselves. The beds were firm, yet comfortable and they even provided us with hypo allergenic pillows due to my allergies. We did not get a chance to enjoy the heated infinity pool and rooftop bar, but would have if the weather was a little bit warmer.

Finally, the location was magnificent. Directly in the heart of Georgetown, we were able to stroll the busy streets for shopping and meals and even enjoyed walking to the harbor. Luckily, the hotel was on a small side street so it was never rowdy or loud. The canal was right next to the hotel and we did take a short walk down the dirt path. DC and the typical tourist sights were a stone's throw away and we did venture to DC for dinner one night but for the most part, we were content to stay in the immediate area.

All in all, we loved the hotel and would recommend it in a heartbeat. I've stayed at top notch hotels in the past but this hotel has by far the best service I've experienced in a long time and exceeded all expectations. It certainly was not cheap but you get what you pay for and it was well worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jyyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is a small boutique Hotel. Personalized service. Clean and Neat. It is a no frills hotel. They do offer free coffee and snacks through out the day. They did also provide us tickets for couple of museums. Parking is expensive. Valet parking is 48$

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VSS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had drinks and lunch several times on the terrace overlooking the canal and it is just very peaceful and lovely! You are in Georgetown but away from the hustle & bustle. The food and service are wonderful. We live close to Georgetown so haven't stayed but I have had family that have stayed and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fatemeh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We decided to do a one night "stay cation" as we have teenagers and having a hard time getting out of town. Loved every moment from our first step in the hotel. We were greeted by Luis, who made us feel like rock stars. Loved our room, small but everything one would need. Think suites bit bigger but perfect size for couple. Roof for guest only so enjoyed a drink on roof before dinner and went back again after dinner. Best thing about this property is everyone works together and pitches in and gets it done. I have been to other hotels where all the suits do is walk around. The suits at this hotel, work. It was busy when we were checking out at valet as were having an event, the GM then started helping, moving cars. This is the sign of a top hotel when no job is to small and the staff works together. Looking forward to next night we can sneak away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlington30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We are accustomed to staying at 5 star hotels, including the Ritz Carlton, so we were pleased to discover a new luxury boutique hotel had opened in Georgetown. Over the course of 3-4 stays (since opening in 2013), we have experienced a significant improvement in Capella's quality of service. This past visit, we stayed 5 nights. Alex, the general manager, has done a remarkable job making the Capella a true gem of a luxury hotel. From the moment Alex personally greeted us at curbside through our departure, he and his team ensured that all our needs and requests were fulfilled, with enthusiasm, spirit and efficiency.
Luis, the lead concierge, seemed to have a connection with every establishment in the Georgetown area --- whether it be restaurant reservations, driver, or other personal services, he always made it happen. Other bellman, including Ian and Ricardo, were also outstanding.
Fruit and pastries in the morning were always fresh and delicious. We appreciated having access to complimentary sodas and water throughout the day. Turn-down service always included a wonderful treat, whether it be a freshly baked cupcake or novel candy. Rooms were clean, contemporary, and well designed. Even though the rooftop bar wasn't open due to a private event, the waiter setting up enthusiastically took our order and brought drinks and snacks from the bar downstairs. And having separate secure access to the hotel was comforting. We cannot recommend Capella highly enough and hope we can return soon! Thank you for providing us with such a great experience!

Room Tip: This past stay we had a Georgetown Room. The tub was wonderful, great for relaxing. Love rooms ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docnsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaWashingtonDC, General Manager at Rosewood Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Warm Greetings docnsara,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful, improved overall experience at Capella Washington, D.C. since our grand opening in March, 2013. Thank you for being a loyal guest, and believing in our team to successfully improve and become your preferred hotel in the city. My team and I strive to achieve exceptional service with unique & memorable experiences for each and every one of our guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to learn, grow, and develop as we continue our journey to be the global leader in the service business. I am very much looking forward to seeing you and your family again when your travels next bring you to our beautiful hotel in Georgetown.

Sincerely,

Alex Obertop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Washington, D.C.

Property: Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Address: 1050 31st St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-4405 (Formerly Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Georgetown along the historic C&O Canal, Rosewood Washington, D.C. presents an intimate & luxurious 49 guest rooms & suites, meticulously designed to provide you with a soothing haven from the day's activities. Our prime location offers guests premium access to Washington, D.C.'s vibrant cultural center, rich with museums and galleries, specialty shopping and unique dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rosewood Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing