We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, reasonable prices”
Review of Red Rocks Pizza

Red Rocks Pizza
Ranked #631 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
USA
Level Contributor
717 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

One of the pioneers of the Columbia Heights redevelopment is Red Rocks. I returned there after 4 years and I found the food to be just as good. The service was attentive. The outdoor seating is very nice in good weather. I had the Calzone (delicious) and two others had pizza which they enjoyed. One last person had the egg plant appetizer as a main and also liked it. Excellent beer selection. Wine pours were a little miserly and PLEASE get proper wine glasses, there is a stem on a wine glass for a reason! Overall... high marks and recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great pizza place if you like thin style pizzas with unique toppings. No pepperoni here. Try the Soppresseta pizza. The smoked mozzarella on top makes it truly special. We enjoyed a glass of Barbera with our pizza. Not many restaurants offer a real Italian wine by the glass. Much appreciated by us foodies!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smileycuteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good pizza, but didn't blow me away”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Decent beer list, and lots of pizza options. It's definitely good pizza, but isn't anything overly special. I'd go back, but more because it's a fun environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza combined with friendly service”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a great place that I have visited many times. It's typically crowded, but the wait is worthwhile. The piz a is anong the best I've ever had.

THis review is for the location at 904 King St., in Alexandria (703 717-9873)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Homemade Pizza”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We ate on a recent Saturday evening at the Red Rocks Pizza on King St. in Old Town Alexandria. They were busy and we were told about a 30 min wait which was actually only about 20 min. We got a beer and 2 of our party were able to sit at the bar, the others stood up. When we got our table, service was fine and the pizzas were as ordered, fresh and hot. The only glitch was that they were served moments BEFORE our appetizer and salad. Of course, all was consumed, but would have been better to be able to get the salad out of the way first. The antipasto appetizer was delicious, salami, olives, bread. We had a pepperoni pizza, a Margerita pizza, and some kind of veggie pizza, all very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rocks Pizza also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Red Rocks Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing