We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn W
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great place to stay when visiting Washington DC. It is only 2 short blocks from the Metro and very close to Eastern Market with lots of restaurants and shops.
The house has three nice bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a dining room, kitchen and very small living room (which also has a futon that unfolds into a bed).
The beds are all from Ikea and are very firm. The futon in the living room was the softest of the four. Each bed has nice sheets and one comforter. That may not be a problem most of the time but we arrived a day after it snowed and was still pretty cold and would have loved another blanket to throw on top.
The thermostat is automatic and is set for 60 during the day. It took it a full day to heat up to 70. Again, in other times of the year, I can't see that this would be a problem.
Two full bathrooms--one upstairs and one down. The one upstairs has a bathtub but unfortunately the faucet isn't working correctly so the bathtub had to be filled by running the shower which took a long time. Too long for the water heater to keep up. However, the showers were great. Nice water pressure and temperature.
Kitchen has gas stove and oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, electric kettle and dishwasher. There were plenty of plates, utensils and cups for the four of us. The dishwasher is a bit loud.
This is an urban area and a bit noisier than we were used to. The front room and the bedroom with the King bed face the street and get the most noise, especially from people talking.
Wifi was spotty at times, possibly due to the inclement weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hard beds
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place! I would stay again for sure”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Good location, house very clean and charming! It was very good to enjoy my time in Washington. I coulndt ask for a better place. And Allen is very kind and helpful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annatexas...
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great house”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We chose this vacation rental when we travelled to DC for a week: parents, grandparents and three children aged 5, 8 and 10. The house is great with three good sized bedrooms. It's a good layout and also really charming. We were really glad to find the house well stocked; it is such a relief that when you arrive after a 20 hour journey from northern Europe, you don't have to go out for coffee and toilet paper first thing! It's great having wifi, too, when visiting from abroad.
The immediate neighbourhood is a little unattractive. We never had any problems at all, but we were woken in the middle of the night twice by loud arguments in the street outside. We would possibly have been a little uncomfortable arriving home very late, but we never did, so that was never an issue.
There is an excellent grocery store, Harris Teeter, literally around the corner. It has a fantastic deli, so many nights we just ended up getting dinner from there as the children were tired from a day of sightseeing. The metro is also a short walk away and all the sights are just a few metro stops away.
We are so glad we chose this way to stay in DC, rather than a plain hotel room. We would definitely recommend it to others. Communication with the owner was pleasant and the damage deposit was returned to us immediately upon leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario S
Santa Rosa, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location and a lot of character for one house.”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

House was in a very "active" neighborhood-Lots of people, cars and big city noises. Within hours of arrival, however, we found the location to be very convenient (two blocks to Metro, one block to market, five blocks to great restaurants).
The house and amenities were satisfactory; beds were comfortable, bathrooms were adequate. There was only one TV to share during "down time", but it's manageable.
The big plus for the house is its location, close to Pennsylvania Ave. SE, Metro station, bus lines.
We had one minor problem at the house, which Allen resolved quickly and in a timely manner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Proximity to transit to the Capitol/White House
Liked least: Too noisy (street noise; fire and police use the street often)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Accommodations...Good Location...”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our DC family vacation was a huge success in large part due to our enjoyable stay at this property. The accommodations fit our group well. Our group consisted of 6 adults (ages 35-65) and 1 eleven year old child. The property owner was very accommodating to our needs related to arrival and departure times. The owner was very responsive if questions arose about the property or the neighborhood. The key items for our group were close access to the grocery store and multiple Metro stations / bus stops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beyond the character of the apartment, having access to a grill and backyard area to relax after a fun day of sight seeing.
Liked least: Two story unit...the hardwood stairs were steep and kind of slippery...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSpeis
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located Vacation Rental”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed our stay here during a week long visit to DC. The location was especially convenient, just around the corner from the Metro (the best way to get around DC), on the same block as the grocery store, a few blocks away from a wide restaurant variety on 8th st., and a reasonable walking distance to Capitol Hill too. The kitchen is pretty well equipped for making your own meals, and although it isn't listed they do have a grill out in the back yard too. Alan was prompt and helpful and even allowed us to keep our luggage at the property past checkout so we could enjoy our last day in DC unencumbered before catching our late flights out. The only downside was that although the place comfortably slept 7 adults the small living room made it hard for us all to relax and chat together at the same time in the evenings. This rental was very reasonably priced and so conveniently located we definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Metro
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing