We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #52 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very good location. Very Clean. There is CVS, Subway, 7-11, Starbucks near by.
Staff allow me to 3 hours early check in and 2 hours late check out.
* For some reason, the hotel has bad phone signal. Expect that your phone may not work inside the hotel.

Room Tip: I am not sure about this
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nninoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We checked in late which is always the best test. Valet parking and check in was fast and effortless. The rooms are very nice and the bathroom has a large walk-in shower wlth lots of shelves and safety bars.

The lobby Bistro is not expensive and the servers are very helpful.

Nice place and great location, walking distance to the Mall.

Ed Hand

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the compliments about the staff. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the Courtyard Foggy Bottom team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am a platinum rewards member of Marriott. I stay in over a hundred Marriott proprieties on average in a year. This is a newer Hotel and the Staff was outstanding starting with an email I received from Devin Denoncourt, General Manager, Courtyard Washington DC Foggy Bottom/GWU.

New, clean, professional and a great location for a visit to DC. Everything about the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Foggy Bottom, for your visit to the Washington DC area. I am thrilled that it was a success as we truly appreciate each and every one of our Elite members! Also, thank you for pointing out our great services! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Clean tidy hotel in excellent position in DC near the monuments and close to the University and therefore some trendy bars and restaurants at reasonable prices.

Free Wi-Fi was speedy and available in your room and throughout the hotel.

This hotel is Marriotts mid range offering but is all you would need for a visit to DC and the staff were excellent and very friendly. Taxis if required came very quickly and its only $5.00 right into the centre of town although the White House, Treasury and open top bus tours are all within easy walking distance. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magpiesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin D, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Courtyard Foggy Bottom. The staff at the Courtyard take great pride in ensuring each, and every guest is receives the great service they expect from a Marriott Property. I am happy to hear that the location of the property accomodated your needs while visiting Washington DC. We are just a few blocks from the White House and the National Mall. I hope that when traveling to the DC area in the future you will stay at the Courtyard Foggy Bottom. Again thank you for your very valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

we were really pleased with our stay. The room was incredibly quiet, a decent size, and very clean. Valet parking was excellent.

its only 5 blocks from the white house, and not too far to eating places like founding fathers - you should try it

The hotel is in a very safe area and an easy walking distance to the Lincoln Memorial. There is also a subway & starbucks less than 50 ft away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulanddianev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin D, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Foggy Bottom. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our new custom built Courtyard. The entire team at the Courtyard Foggy Bottom takes great pride in providing each and everyone of our guests the experience they expect and deserve. Your feed back is extremely valuable, I will be sure to share with my entire team. Thank you for chossing the Courtyard Foggy Bottom while visiting Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was very pleased with my stay. My room was incredibly quiet, a decent size, and very clean. Valet parking was fast (I never waited more than 3 minutes for my car). There is a bike rental station across the street, which is nice for sightseeing. The hotel is in a very safe area and an easy walking distance to the Lincoln Memorial. The only downside to this hotel is that the metro station is 5 blocks away or so. It is an easy walk though when the weather is nice. There is also a subway & starbucks less than 50 ft away.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamer_iam_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

I am very glad that you and an amazing time with us and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived around midnight and the woman at the front desk was perfect--cheerful and helpful and quickly got us checked in. The entire three day stay, every staff member was kind and always wiling to assist in any way. The room was great. We asked for a quiet room and wound up by the ice machine--BUT, the room is so well constructed, we never heard an ice cube drop!

I kept trying to figure out how to get the bed, linens and pillows home--they were perfect.

As another reviewer wrote, the location is great. We've stayed in several areas on our DC treks and they've all been good for various reasons. This one is a great spot to get to the White House, Georgetown, the Mall area. We walked to the Capitol, Library of Congress, and Botanical Gardens---it's a 30 minute walk, but so worth it to see the sights along the way.

Room Tip: My profile has "extra pillows" in it and they were waiting!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

It was so nice to read your comments about your stay; thank you very much. We truly appreciate that you were with us for this special visit to D.C. and so thankful you took the time to share your experience. From the location, to the hotel, to the service, it sounds like you certainly experienced exactly the stay we strive to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 142 in Washington DC
1,750 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
752 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £101 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast and lunch during the day, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing