We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard by Marriott right next to GW & Convenient to the White House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This property is a newer Courtyard, and in excellent condition. The rooms are at the Courtyard by Marriott standard, and the property appears to be well cared for. It is, however, a bit off the beaten path as DC hotels go, and sort of hidden next to the GW campus. The White House and other DC attractions are nearby and easily within walking distance. The nearest DC Metro stations are Farragut North and Foggy Bottom - GW, both are a little less than 1/2 mile away.

This hotel has a lobby restaurant/bar, and there are very many dining options within a 10-15 minute walk. Many, but not all, of the local restaurants cater to the college crowd, and yet it is not difficult to locate a fine dining experience nearby if that is what you are looking for.

The hotel staff can arrange a car and driver if you need to catch a flight out of Reagan National, or need transportation to make a scheduled appointment or event. There is not a line of taxis waiting outside, as is the case with most downtown hotels, so making a prior booking is the best approach if you need to be somewhere at a specified time.

DC is notorious for expensive hotels, and this Courtyard property is not an exception to the rule. The rates can be astronomically high for a Courtyard when DC is busy - which is whenever Congress is in session, and during the various times of the year when hoards of tourists descend upon DC. Even then, the rates will be lower than higher tiered hotels in the downtown or Foggy Bottom areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the D.C. area. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is a good location. It is next to the GW's campus, near 3 different subways stops (Farragut North, Foggy Bottom and Farragut West) and it has a Starbucks and a Subway as part of the building. The rooms are smaller than your typical courtyard but the amenities are the standards and there is a fridge in the room as well. Apparently the bistro does not serve midday, so hit the starbies next door. Note: the line in the am and right after lunch are long so allow time if you have a coffee fix and it closes at 7pm. The parking is valet and costs: $36 a day. Due to the convenience to the university and many of the tourist sites( memorials by the reflecting pool, the Mall, the Washington Monument, the White House, etc.), I would stay here again.

Note: do not try to check in early, the rooms will not be ready if you arrive before 11am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimborkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and also for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We certainly read and appreciate all of the feedback we get and to have read about your stay was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel while celebrating my birthday in the area. There was nothing particularly special about this hotel. It was clean, the desk clerks were so so, and the bed wasn't that comfortable. Overall if you are looking for a warm and inviting environment or something special choose another hotel. If you just need a place to sleep and shower then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travler1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and also for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We have since corrected the mentioned areas above and we do hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Used points to stay here for a quick getaway. Great location a few blocks from the mall, the White House, and GWU. Reception was very friendly and helpful. Hotel has had the complete new Courtyard rebuild. Everything in the lobby was very modern, clean, and bright. Room was clean, up to date, and just like every other new Courtyard I've stayed in recently. Fitness center has enough to get a maintenance workout in and the pool, although small (~10m x 3m) was big enough for the kids to enjoy at the end of a day of sightseeing. No on-site parking (only valet) and for $25 was reasonable. There are numerous good restaurants within a 10 minute walk. If you're visiting GWU, it is right on the edge of the campus near several of the schools. The only two letdowns were: (1) the vehicle-pull-in / check-in area is incredibly small and almost impossible to pull into, and (2) as a Gold Elite rewards member, I would have hoped for a better room location (we were right near the elevator and did not have a view). Perhaps those aren't seen as bad things or perhaps I should have asked for a good view and to not to be near the elevator. Regardless, despite a little noise, everything was still great. I would definitely stay here again the next time we come to do some sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a "city view" room that faces South or East. Would recommend rooms away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshb2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016


Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the D.C. area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed with a large group for one night (multiple rooms) to celebrate a friends birthday, before booking the room, I called the hotel to confirm that there were sofa beds in each room to accommodate the number of people we had and the gentleman who answered the phone assured me that there were while rushing me off of the phone. When we arrived to the hotel, the valet did not acknowledge us as we pulled into the garage and then was rude when we kept driving down the ramp. The front desk was less than friendly. We entered our room which was clean and tidy only to find that there was not a sofa bed in our room. We went down to the front desk and the woman working the check in was very rude and quick to say that "none of their staff would have told me that there was a sofa bed in the room because they had all been trained and seen each room to know that there wasn't." Luckily, the king room that one of our other friends were staying in had a sofa bed, so we were able to rearrange the sleeping arrangements. The sofa bed in the king room was dirty and did not come with any sheets, blankets or pillows. After calling the front desk and asking for sheets etc, they stated that they were in the room. After searching everywhere, we called the front desk two more times and they finally brought up a blanket... still no sheets. We had breakfast in the bistro the next morning that was alright, nothing great but the service was fine. Overall, I think the rooms were clean and a nice size, however, the poor customer service really killed the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loparis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin D, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize for the confusion with the bed type's during your recent stay at the Courtyard Foggy Bottom. The hotel has 2 different bed types in the hotel. We offer rooms with a 1 King bed, as well rooms with 2 Queen Beds. The majority of our rooms with the King Beds have a pull out sofa, while none of our Queen Rooms have the pull out sofa as the space does not allow, but we are always more than happy to provide our guests with a roll away in these rooms.

Again I am extremely sorry for the confusion. If there is anything I can do to assist you in the future please do not hesistate to contact me directly at 202-296-5700.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Willis and Tayvon at the front desk were very helpful. Even hooked me up with laundry supplies. overall it is a very modern hotel with great service. The rooms are very clean. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtikul8tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016


Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the D.C. area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Foggy Bottom for a business trip to DC last week and enjoyed a wonderful stay! It's always hit or miss in a city as to whether you'll be up all night due to outside noise. Well, the Marriott was extremely quiet during all 4 nights I stayed there. The knowledgeable staff was great and very helpful in answering questions on locations of buildings, getting a car for an early ride to the airport, or finding a particular store. I stayed in a room with two queen beds and had plenty of space. The bathroom was very clean and a decent size as well. I've stayed at the Penn Quarter Marriott DC and found this one to be a bit roomier. I highly recommend staying here if you're looking to visit this part of DC.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank snarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016


Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the D.C. area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
166 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £91 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast and lunch during the day, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing