We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is placed very close to national monuments. Underground in a 5 min walk. Those doing business with the IMF or the WB will be also happy because both HQs are 5 min away.
Buffet bar is good, selection of food is nothing special can serve a purpose. Competent prices.
Staff is mostly excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank basel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am happy to hear that our excellent location and staff made your stay productive and relaxing. I do hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest in the future. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    202
    55
    7
    6
See reviews for
187
107
30
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

As expected this courtyard did not disappoint. Great location close to White House, National mall and many other attractions. Rooms a big small but for where it is it is not that bad. Good staff and typical Marriott decor and service

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Greg,

Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and productive stay. If your travels bring you to Washington DC in the future, I do hope that we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again.

Safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

When my wife and I travel, one of the first hotels we look to stay at are the Marriott hotels. We always get great service and a good, clean room to stay in. This was the case at this hotel. The people here are wonderful. They were helpful in every way possible. They gave us information on restaurants. When I asked for late check-out, Willard did not hesitate to give it to me. When I was having trouble printing my airplane boarding passes, he came over right away to help. We also got great help from Annie. She made suggestions to where we should go to eat. It wasn't just the advice they gave but the great personalities they have. They treat you like family. It is people like this that make us go to the Marriott hotels. And the room was wonderful also.

Room Tip: Stay at a Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aroos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Aroos93,

I want to thank you for your wonderful review of not only our property, but our amazing staff, specifically Willis and Annie. They truly appreciate our guests and have a passion for hospitality and ensuring a comfortable, and enjoyable stay. I want you to know that we do consider our guests as family, and that is why you are so important to us!

Thank you again for staying with us, and I do hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The amenities are somewhat spartan. Especially with regard to dining. If you arrive tired and hungry at 11:00 pm at the front desk looking for a meal you are out of luck. During normal hours the "bistro" has decent offerings, but nothing spectacular. I ate at the Plaza Hotel restaurant a couple of times, a 5 minute walk from the Courtyard. The workout area is very good. The location is great. I was at a World Bank conference about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Price is less than many of the really expensive hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Be aware of other dining choices close to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 8 February 2016
Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the D.C. area. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This property is a newer Courtyard, and in excellent condition. The rooms are at the Courtyard by Marriott standard, and the property appears to be well cared for. It is, however, a bit off the beaten path as DC hotels go, and sort of hidden next to the GW campus. The White House and other DC attractions are nearby and easily within walking distance. The nearest DC Metro stations are Farragut North and Foggy Bottom - GW, both are a little less than 1/2 mile away.

This hotel has a lobby restaurant/bar, and there are very many dining options within a 10-15 minute walk. Many, but not all, of the local restaurants cater to the college crowd, and yet it is not difficult to locate a fine dining experience nearby if that is what you are looking for.

The hotel staff can arrange a car and driver if you need to catch a flight out of Reagan National, or need transportation to make a scheduled appointment or event. There is not a line of taxis waiting outside, as is the case with most downtown hotels, so making a prior booking is the best approach if you need to be somewhere at a specified time.

DC is notorious for expensive hotels, and this Courtyard property is not an exception to the rule. The rates can be astronomically high for a Courtyard when DC is busy - which is whenever Congress is in session, and during the various times of the year when hoards of tourists descend upon DC. Even then, the rates will be lower than higher tiered hotels in the downtown or Foggy Bottom areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 8 February 2016
Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the D.C. area. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is a good location. It is next to the GW's campus, near 3 different subways stops (Farragut North, Foggy Bottom and Farragut West) and it has a Starbucks and a Subway as part of the building. The rooms are smaller than your typical courtyard but the amenities are the standards and there is a fridge in the room as well. Apparently the bistro does not serve midday, so hit the starbies next door. Note: the line in the am and right after lunch are long so allow time if you have a coffee fix and it closes at 7pm. The parking is valet and costs: $36 a day. Due to the convenience to the university and many of the tourist sites( memorials by the reflecting pool, the Mall, the Washington Monument, the White House, etc.), I would stay here again.

Note: do not try to check in early, the rooms will not be ready if you arrive before 11am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimborkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 26 March 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and also for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We certainly read and appreciate all of the feedback we get and to have read about your stay was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel while celebrating my birthday in the area. There was nothing particularly special about this hotel. It was clean, the desk clerks were so so, and the bed wasn't that comfortable. Overall if you are looking for a warm and inviting environment or something special choose another hotel. If you just need a place to sleep and shower then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travler1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 8 February 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and also for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We have since corrected the mentioned areas above and we do hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
746 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast and lunch during the day, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing