We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We didn't have a lot of time to research a hotel to stay at but chose this one based on location. This is the perfect location and allows you to walk to National Mall. Every staff member we had interaction with was extremely helpful and friendly. We ate dinner and breakfast in the bistro and the food was great. Nice room, very clean. The only negatives were we never seemed to be able to consistently get connected to the wifi and the $25 parking fee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of our property, I am so happy that you and your family were able to take advantage of our prime location! Our guests are our top priority, so it is wonderful to hear that our staff was able to make your visit that much more enjoyable.

Thank you again for staying with us! Wishing you safe and happy future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Hotel was clean and the Staff was very nice and personable. The Location can't be beat. You walk two blocks and you're at Constitution Ave. There was a Subway next door and a Starbucks on the corner. Two blocks across from us was a CVS and a block up there were several places to eat. Not much traffic on our street either. It was perfect. Taxi's were always available when you couldn't walk to the sites or didn't want to. Cabbies were even nice and informative of the City. We had our Grandkids with us for 3 nights and the Staff entertained them with animal balloons and candy. Our room was very comfortable and quiet after a long day of touring. If we needed something the staff was very quick fulfilling our request. The parking Staff were so sweet and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our property, I will be passing this along to all of our staff, as they work very hard to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all of our guests! It is great to hear that you and your family were able to take advantage of our excellent location. We do hope that if your travels bring you to the Washington DC area again, that we can have you as our guest!

Thank you again, and safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Foggy Bottom for 3 nights to explore the DC. Our stay was very very pleasant - the room was very well thought out, comfortable bed, very clean, very nice soft and smell-clean towels. Microwave available downstairs = great, fridge in the room. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Cons:
- food downstairs in the Bistro was so so... breakfast was priced above average but tasted very generic/average as well. Staff was very nice and attentive though - most likely not their fault, but the food recipe was sub-par

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SergeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you were able to relax and unwind in our fresh, clean, new guestrooms. It is great to hear that our amazing staff was able to take care of you and provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We do hope that if your travels bring you to the Washington area again, we have the pleasure of having you as our guest. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is a great location and convenient if you like to walk and close to the metro if you prefer that option. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Washington DC/Foggy Bottom. I am so happy to hear that you and your family were able to take advantage of our prime location! Our staff work very hard to ensure an enjoyable experience for all of our guests, and I will share your review with them.

We do hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location is superb, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is nice, clean and well-appointed, although the closet space is rather tight for a seven-day stay. The safes are in the bottoms of the closets, so you'll have to get down on your hands and knees to use them, and the free WiFi only gives 1.55 mbps...not much better than dial-up. For 5$ per day, I could get "3 times" that speed...which would put it up in DSL range...pretty poor for this day & age.
Other than that, it seems like a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Archmac,

Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Foggy Bottom, I am happy to hear that our new guestrooms provided a comfortable stay. I do appreciate you feedback on areas of improvement for the rooms, and I apologize for the internet speed not meeting your needs during your stay. I do hope that if you are in the area again, we have the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great gym for the size of this. Lobby/bar area needs work. Understaffed. Out of soft drinks completely and only one person serving a large crowd at the bar. The new food setup at Courtyard is a failure.

Room terribly overpriced. 350 for one night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear MidnightDiner,

I want to thank you for your review and feedback on your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our fitness center. I do apologize for your experience in our Bistro, while we are a very busy location, it is not typical that we run out of items and I will surely use your feedback as a training opportunity for our team. I do hope that if you are in the Washington DC are a in teh future, you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you again, and wishing you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here last summer on the way back from a trip to VA, and it couldn't have worked out better. The hotel is conveniently located, with a bike rental rack across the street, and walking distance to the National Mall. Nice staff, and a great setup off the lobby with many food options. It worked out so well, we are planning on doing the same stopover again, and look forward to being back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin'NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Travelin'NE

I want to thank you for your review of our property, and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our prime location and dedicated staff. We take great pride in ensuring a relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests. I will be passing along your kind words to our entire team. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Washington DC area.

Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
1,747 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
751 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 515 20th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-5010
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £99 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your business or leisure trip in the nation's capital when you choose Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, one of the most innovative Foggy Bottom hotels Washington, DC has to offer. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and a welcoming atmosphere unique among Foggy Bottom hotels near George Washington University. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your restaurant destination for a great breakfast and lunch during the day, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout this DC Foggy Bottom hotel, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than at other hotels in Foggy Bottom near Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing