We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Family Trip to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Family Trip to DC”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

For our first family trip to Washington DC, we found this conveniently located Hampton Inn to stay. It is a short walk to the White House, George Washington University, and transportation (Metro & local tours), and convenient to the Smithsonian and monuments. We were very pleased with our choice.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was continuously stocked, and there are now two waffle irons. The property is converted from another use, and they have made the most of the space. The room was clean and comfortable. We were surprised to find a pool (in lower level) - it's a bit small but a pool nonetheless.

We would definitely stay here again on a return visit to our nation's capital.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tx4stamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    392
    97
    31
    21
See reviews for
597
428
73
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very friendly & professional staff, spacious clean rooms, beautiful lobby with a delicious breakfast served by a very amicable team. The Hampton Inn White House is 1 block from a Metro Station and walking distance from White House. This is an upscale Hampton Inn without outrageous pricing. My first day there I met an assistant manager Joe (or he should be), Joe was very attentive to my needs & personally took care of my request. He greeted me by my last name every time I entered the lobby. I'm willing to go back to stay when back in DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marquita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location was picked due to its proximity to a metro station. One block away. Last most Hampton Inn's, the breakfast served was the usual in selection and quality (very good). Yes, the indoor pool is small. Very narrow. And if it's heated, it didn't feel like it. No microwaves nor fridges in the rooms. And the ice machines are only on the lower floors.

The only thing I took issue with was the room thermostat. It's one of the newer ones with a presence sensor. If if doesn't detect people in the room, it shuts off the A/C (or heat I suppose). A little annoying to come back after a long hot day to a warm room, though it didn't take too long for the room to cool off (~15 mins). But at night when sleeping, I had to occasionally get up and walk around in front of it just to get the air to run again for a while. They need to work on that. Needs to be some sort of overnight override, something like that.

Otherwise the place was clean the staff exceptionally friendly. Didn't meet a single employee that didn't have a smile on their face.

One suggestion to the hotel though - provide better map(s) of the downtown area at the front desk. That xeroxed copy of a website printout was not helpful at all. The Metro Station had a better map.

Room Tip: We slept in a room facing the street. As such we heard street noises. But I've read others hav...
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm all about saving the environment but what's the sense of providing A/C if it won't run at night without human intervention.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1972Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent last night at the new Hampton Inn White House (it opened on June 1st). Best points: beautifully decorated, everything's new and up to date, clean, great location near the Farragut West Metro station, expansive and delicious breakfast, and friendly staff. We had no problem with odors or noise. Our safe didn't work but a maintenance man came immediately and quickly fixed it. Loved that Hybrid drivers get a $5 discount on valet parking. Only downside was that we had to wait 1 hour after check-in to gain access to our room and they need a bigger sign or flag out front so it's easier to find. Would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Recycling trash cans. Valet parking discount for hybrid vehicles.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

when I first arrived to the hotel it looks like it was little but as I went and it was beautiful the lobby was decorated nice front desk us for service is amazing the next morning are a breakfast and really enjoyed it especially the waffles staff was very nice and very attentive to my needs especially the young lady named Christina she gave great directions me and my family would definitely come back and visit and stay at the Hampton inn keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedollfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Way above par- really upscale surroundings; great staff who seemed genuinely concerned that we were enjoying our stay; very comfortable rooms; and, convenient to everything. Surprisingly elegant but very relaxed and one great value. I very highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgaiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you are in the rear of this hotel, prepare for a noisy night and morning as this is the time (4:30 am to 6:30 am) when trash trucks empty the dumpsters. Management's answer was to wear earplugs. Front desk was generally manned by one person making check-in slow. Service personnell were difficult to find to service the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
849 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing