We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was our first experience staying at a Hampton Inn & Suites and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located in the business district so it was quite in the evenings but the location cannot be beat. Close to a subway station and walking distance to the White House and monuments. The rooms were clean and everything was in working order. The service here was great. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient with a wide variety of hot and cold items. The WIFI worked well. Our room was facing the front street side and we did not encountered street noise. We will definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to D.C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    383
    93
    30
    22
See reviews for
585
424
72
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Hampton Inn near the White House is just what the tourists ordered. It's a prime location to experience a lot of the downtown area. You're within walking distance of a lot of key monuments and great historic buildings. The staff was very friendly, polite, and accommodating! I would recommend to family and friends too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn twice now for business, and I love it. The staff is friendly, polite, professional, and (best of all) helpful. Its location is ideal and I have found I could walk almost everywhere I needed to go. Being able to get a quick breakfast in the morning is a great way to start the day. Both times I have stayed I have left my bag at the hotel while I completed meetings, and then returned to depart for the airport. That experience has been seamless, and having a cab waiting makes travel that much easier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Have to say that we are having a great time. I'm not one that often writes review but I just have to about this place. We are a family of 4 and staying for a few days in that DC area. We weren't looking for an over priced room with all of the amenities but we wanted to be comfortable. Clean hotel from the rooms to the common areas even pool area is spotless. I can't say enough about the staff either so glad we pick this motel out.

Helpful?
Thank wired9008
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Rooms are basic but modern and comfortable with lots of plugs and good internet. Excellent breakfast. Near lots of restaurants and within walking distance of many sights, such as the White House and Smithsonian museums. Shower and bathroom roomy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was somewhat noisy because of street traffic but I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just got back from Washington, DC and I have to say, The Hampton Inn was one of the best hotels we stayed at in a long time. Very clean, friendly staff, valet service was perfect. The beds were comfortable, room was modern and the pillows were fabulous. The price was great for the area and only a block from the Metro and a few blocks if you want to walk to the Mall and Museums. The grandson swam in the pool and the pool area had towels and was neat in appearance. We checked out the fitness area and found that to be clean also. Very impressive. Will definately stay again on our next trip!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and had no noise whatsoever. Close to the elevators and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrysunshine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the location close to the White House and 1 block from Metro. Staff very helpful, especially Rachel and Joe. Stayed on the 11th floor. Had a little noise occasionally from elevator brake but not disturbing. Will be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandylgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
726 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
818 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing