We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hampton Inn We Have Ever Stayed In....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best Hampton Inn We Have Ever Stayed In....”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in, until the moment we left, we were treated like VIPs. The white glove cleanliness, the tasteful and classy decor, the delicious and well organized breakfast, and the convenience (2 blocks from the White House), all absolutely top notch, still paled in comparison to the amazing staff (and I do mean every last person who works at this true gem). We will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveler133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    375
    92
    30
    20
See reviews for
580
420
71
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

What else could you ask for? Stayed here for 3 nights with the family for some sight-seeing. The location was great. The hotel is located in a business district so it is very quiet at night and on the weekends. I called a day ahead and spoke with Portia and Joe who made sure all of my requests were satisfied with pleasure. The entire staff couldn't have been nicer. The rooms were spacious and very clean with great amenities. We had connecting rooms on the top floor so we did not experience any noise from outside. Good free wifi, good hot breakfast with many options for all of us. Didn't love having to pay $30 per day for parking, but I guess that's what you get in the city. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PADrew_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile


Funcional, no non sense business hotel. Free wifi, a bloc away from the Whitehouse, the Hampton Inn is everything a business traveler and tourists would need: Clean, comfortable, safe, well located near restaurants and Government buildings. The staff is efficient, helpful and kind but not overwhelming. The only downside is the lack of parking space in the hotel building. There is valet parking at $30 a day located in a building right in front of the hotel which is a bid odd considering that you have to wait about 15' for yor car the be brought from the parking space. Other than this, I would recommend this hotel.


Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank omarzote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was our first experience staying at a Hampton Inn & Suites and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located in the business district so it was quite in the evenings but the location cannot be beat. Close to a subway station and walking distance to the White House and monuments. The rooms were clean and everything was in working order. The service here was great. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient with a wide variety of hot and cold items. The WIFI worked well. Our room was facing the front street side and we did not encountered street noise. We will definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to D.C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Hampton Inn near the White House is just what the tourists ordered. It's a prime location to experience a lot of the downtown area. You're within walking distance of a lot of key monuments and great historic buildings. The staff was very friendly, polite, and accommodating! I would recommend to family and friends too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn twice now for business, and I love it. The staff is friendly, polite, professional, and (best of all) helpful. Its location is ideal and I have found I could walk almost everywhere I needed to go. Being able to get a quick breakfast in the morning is a great way to start the day. Both times I have stayed I have left my bag at the hotel while I completed meetings, and then returned to depart for the airport. That experience has been seamless, and having a cab waiting makes travel that much easier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Have to say that we are having a great time. I'm not one that often writes review but I just have to about this place. We are a family of 4 and staying for a few days in that DC area. We weren't looking for an over priced room with all of the amenities but we wanted to be comfortable. Clean hotel from the rooms to the common areas even pool area is spotless. I can't say enough about the staff either so glad we pick this motel out.

Helpful?
Thank wired9008
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing