We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff was very helpful when I had questions about the area. I wished the rooms would have had a chair to relax in other than the desk chair and also a fridge to store food or drinks in. Other than that, the hotel was very satisfactory for my family's needs on vacation. It has a great location in D.C.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

After reading TripAdvisor comment from other guests about the noise issue, we booked a room anyway. The noise issue is a problem from a local late night night club but the location of the hotel (one block from the White House), the staff, (valet parking ($35), worth every penny). Use some ear plugs which they provide and this is THE place in Washington to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Theodore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A++++++++++++++
Title says it all. front desk goes above and beyond to help you and they wouldn't accept my tips! Also, 30$/day valet parking with unlimited use of your car.

A few blocks away from two different WMTA subway lines. Very, very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn DC/White House and very very impressed with the excellent location, the great service we received from the staff, and overall quality of the hotel. The fitness center was great although the pool heater was not working during our stay so I could not use the pool. The price we paid was excellent and so was the service from the hotel staff. I would highly recommend this hotel as the location is excellent, near the White House and the mall, as well as near some very nice restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herreras905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House. Portia and Joe went way out of their way to make our stay exceptional. They had suggestions, looked up anything we needed, and were friendly and efficient. We would definitely come back. And it is also in a great location and had a nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landerson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed Newyears Eve 2013. The price was very good for this area and the time of year.They were one of the few that didnt insist on a 2night minimum stay. Of course we had to pay for parking. The staff was friendly but there didnt seem to be enough. Everyone was helpful on how to get from place to place. I didnot like the key system. You had to wave the card in front of the sensor. Sure enough we were back from our night of revelry and the key doesnt work, I think I had it next to a credit card in my bag, It still was annoying. But the staff took care of it quickly.
Parking was kind of stressful because getting access to your car after it was parked was a bit dicey because the bellman had to fetch whatever you forgot. And I didnt really want to tip again for that.. If you want to get to the metro this probably isnt a good choice because the nearest is 2 miles away.
Overall though it is very convienent to all the major sites of WDC. My stay was very pleasant. Oh yeah the breakfast was really good. Hot food and you can make your own waffels. Included in the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Every experience we had at the Hampton was amazing. We told them we were coming in to get married and they had roses and a card waiting in our room. Super, super sweet. They were incredibly personable and were quick to greet us each time they saw us. (We checked in on the evening of 12/20/13 & the two at the desk were simply amazing)

They had coffee makers in the room with decent coffee. Beds were comfortable and everything was super clean.

Complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good. And they had free coffee 24/7. When we first arrived I was happy to see a coffee shop nearby but we never stepped foot in it as the free coffee was good.

When we had to reschedule our flight to leave early they even assisted in getting an earlier shuttle back to the airport.

Probably the best experience I've ever had at a hotel hands down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
628 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
982 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £92 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing