We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We are surprised with this very well located hotel in DC, near the White House, fine dining, stores for shopping, coffee.
If you like good hiking, you can visit many attractions. The atmosphere is family.
The pool was not working at the end of December 2013 for 6 nights and this was the reason for us choosing this hotel. So you better ask this before making the next booking.
But, believe it was casual. The hotel is very good.

Room Tip: If you want to have fun with the pool, ask if it's working before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanelcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We came to Washington after a week in New York and wanted a hotel very close to the White House since we would not have a car. The Hampton Inn was only minutes away so that was great. The room was clean and very nice, the staff was great (especially Portia and Joseph. If you need anything, just ask them, they were wonderful with us !!! Portia went as far as printing directions to the walmart !?! How cool is that !!!) The breakfast was good and wholesome (even though we were rushed on Sunday morning ...) The only thing we didn't like was the fact that we had to pay to leave our luggage ($5 each piece of luggage), a real downer after a great trip !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Fweedabeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Because we stayed during the week of New Year's Eve, we would recommend staying on the front side (there is a nightclub that gets a bit rowdy in the back). The hotel is within walking distance to the metro (1.5 blocks), White House(1.5 blocks), and several cafes and restaurants. The staff is wonderful, rooms are clean. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Aldsknfskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Close the to the World Bank, the White House and K Street. Perfect for either business or leisure. Complimentary breakfast and internet are excellent. Valet parking is decent and not the overcharged price as other hotels in DC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were very pleased with the Hampton Inn White House. Amazing neighborhood - walkable everywhere. Everything is brand-new, clean, and works! Friendly staff. We had a great visit. Walked to White House, Old Ebbits Tavern, WWII memorial, Ford's Theatre, Smithsonian, etc. About the only complaint is that the toasters weren't working great, the 2nd and 3rd mornings - probably due to the GFI outlets acting funny. But everything else was tremendous (and they had an engineer working on the toasters while we were still there).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff was very helpful when I had questions about the area. I wished the rooms would have had a chair to relax in other than the desk chair and also a fridge to store food or drinks in. Other than that, the hotel was very satisfactory for my family's needs on vacation. It has a great location in D.C.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After reading TripAdvisor comment from other guests about the noise issue, we booked a room anyway. The noise issue is a problem from a local late night night club but the location of the hotel (one block from the White House), the staff, (valet parking ($35), worth every penny). Use some ear plugs which they provide and this is THE place in Washington to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Theodore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,626 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £83 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing