We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive hotel in many aspects!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive hotel in many aspects!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My mom and I travelled to DC and were initially attracted to this hotel because of its location. We were so impressed. The hotel is brand new and looked it. The staff was beyond friendly- each person we encountered went out of his/her way to make sure we were comfortable. The staff was attentive, friendly, quick to respond and knowledgable. The breakfast was of standard Hampton Inn quality and made the value very worth it. The rooms were very large, quiet, comfortable and clean. The fitness room is beautiful- TVs on each treadmill, disposable headphones, wipes, weights, etc. There was also a great snack room including beer and wine. We walked to the White House (very close), as well as some further walks (about 2 miles) which were comfortable if you like walking- Verizon Center, National Mall, etc. Overall, this is an amazing, new, beautiful hotel with friendly, accomodating people.

Green Features: Wonderful- choice of washing every day or choice to reuse. Recycling bins in the hallway were wonderful.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarbearbbe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    369
    92
    29
    20
See reviews for
573
413
70
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great environment for families, kid friendly, business and just a get away I highly Recommend this Stay, I had a great time staying here for my business trip. Close to the White House and the Washington Monument. Restaurants around the area are all within walking distance

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We are surprised with this very well located hotel in DC, near the White House, fine dining, stores for shopping, coffee.
If you like good hiking, you can visit many attractions. The atmosphere is family.
The pool was not working at the end of December 2013 for 6 nights and this was the reason for us choosing this hotel. So you better ask this before making the next booking.
But, believe it was casual. The hotel is very good.

Room Tip: If you want to have fun with the pool, ask if it's working before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanelcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We came to Washington after a week in New York and wanted a hotel very close to the White House since we would not have a car. The Hampton Inn was only minutes away so that was great. The room was clean and very nice, the staff was great (especially Portia and Joseph. If you need anything, just ask them, they were wonderful with us !!! Portia went as far as printing directions to the walmart !?! How cool is that !!!) The breakfast was good and wholesome (even though we were rushed on Sunday morning ...) The only thing we didn't like was the fact that we had to pay to leave our luggage ($5 each piece of luggage), a real downer after a great trip !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Because we stayed during the week of New Year's Eve, we would recommend staying on the front side (there is a nightclub that gets a bit rowdy in the back). The hotel is within walking distance to the metro (1.5 blocks), White House(1.5 blocks), and several cafes and restaurants. The staff is wonderful, rooms are clean. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Aldsknfskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Close the to the World Bank, the White House and K Street. Perfect for either business or leisure. Complimentary breakfast and internet are excellent. Valet parking is decent and not the overcharged price as other hotels in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were very pleased with the Hampton Inn White House. Amazing neighborhood - walkable everywhere. Everything is brand-new, clean, and works! Friendly staff. We had a great visit. Walked to White House, Old Ebbits Tavern, WWII memorial, Ford's Theatre, Smithsonian, etc. About the only complaint is that the toasters weren't working great, the 2nd and 3rd mornings - probably due to the GFI outlets acting funny. But everything else was tremendous (and they had an engineer working on the toasters while we were still there).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing