We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well priced and CLEAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well priced and CLEAN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I love a clean hotel and this Hampton Inn was just that. In addition, the staff was helpful and friendly. The location was fantastic if you are in DC as a tourist. 1 mi to the Newseum, less than 2 blocks to the White House, almost a mile to the Lincoln Memorial. The free breakfast can be enjoyed. If you need stronger coffee though, there is a Starbucks right next door. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsfallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    369
    92
    29
    20
See reviews for
573
413
70
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in late December and early January. My stay was absolutely wonderful. The staff was extremely personable and went out of their way to ensure that my visit was great, especially Joe, Portia and Gabi at the front desk. On the night that my fiance proposed, my fiance asked the staff to enter our room while we were gone to fill it with roses. They happily did so. Because my stay was so long, the staff placed a microfridge in my room. Overall the staff is helpful and personable including the cleaning staff, Bellmen and women who serve/arrange the breakfast in the morning. Also, the laundry room in the basement is convenient, the hotel is in a great location, and it meets the normal standard of Hampton Inn (clean, beautiful, yummy breakfast)...The only way to improve the hotel is to enlarge the pool and offer food via room service (although nearby restaurants offer many cheap, fast, and yummy options).

Room Tip: Stayed in 705. Nice size and no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Excellent hotel for business stay in downtown DC, close to financial district, small but comfortable. Fell within GSA rates. Excellent service and amazing location. Clean and modern renovation. Walking distance to Metro. Breakfast provided.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tarynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Recently renovated building (for hotel opening?). First and lasting impression is the eagerness of the staff to welcome you and to ensure that you are all set for a pleasant and restful stay. Rooms are clean and well appointed with new furniture including large flat scren TV with plenty of cable channels. Free wifi and free breakfast (i.e. Free=included in the price) added to the pleasure of staying here. Quality of food was rather good, much better than most other hotels offering breakfast. Hotel has pantry with tons of snack, microwaveable meals as well as beer and wine selection. Starbucks is next door to hotel. Gym was well equipped with free weights, exercise station as well as bikes and treadmills. Well located and easily accessible from Fargut Metro station. Can't think of why I would stay anywhere else next time I'm in D.C.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ToTall516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Every hotel chain claims to have the best beds. Now I have found them in the Hampton Inn. This is a very good hotel, centrally located, clean and with attentive staff. The reason why I haven't given them 5 stars is that I have stayed in Washington hotels with so much more character, and only 2 or 3 Metro stops away. For business, however, the location is perfect.

Room Tip: I found the rooms at the back noisy, for example when garbage is collected
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_from_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a great hotel! We found this hotel to be the best bargain of our holiday to the USA. Fantastic location, modern, clean and comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. The staff are also lovely and friendly here. Joe shared a laugh with us on more than one location, and everyone on the desk was kind and helpful. The lobby area was great and we enjoyed bringing in the New Year with some of the other guests there. The coffee and cookies are great too. I would most defiantly recommend this hotel to families holidaying in Washington DC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

A superb hotel clean and tidy and the staff are really helpful. It's in a great location for all the attractions i.e. White House. Etc. The complimentary breakfast is fine sets you up for the day. I would strongly recommend buying a day ticket for on /off touring bus buy the all route ticket you'll see more of Washington DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing